BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 09-15-2004, 09:37 PM   #1
guinda35
CrackBerry Addict

Model: z10
Carrier: att
Default How Can I Get Best Web Browsing?

Please Login to Remove!

I am on the verge of buying a BB with T-mobile phone service, and am totally unfamiliar with them. I'm a lawyer in a small two lawyer firm who is looking for basic email and web browsing capabilities.

We need to have the best web browsing we can get, but will not need to use much if any of the information administration tasks that Microsoft Exchange offers, since we will have only two BB users with 2-4 mailboxes. Would I need to sign-up with an ASP and connect to Microsoft Exchange in order to obtain full web browsing capabilities on my BB? In other words, how can I avoid being limited to wap browsing on my BB?
Old 09-15-2004, 09:43 PM   #2
kirson
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT

You can make do without a hosted BES or Exchange Server by trying one of two solutions: (1) a third party web browser such as Webviewer by Reqwireless or (2) using the RBRO hack (described in detail in this forum). Both solutions will give you access to HTML web sites over your carriers WAP gateway.

However, you could do even better if you used a hosted BES such as Mailstreet.com or myblackberry.us -- they give you real HTML access via the BES server. No issues with the carrier truncating the WAP data stream.

If you wait a bit and get either the new 7100t or a bit longer still and get any Blackberry with the 4.0 operating system, you will have more complete HTML browsing without the need for the hosted BES solution.

Read Mark's sticky on hosted BES solutions at the top of this forum...it offers a tone of information on the topic...
Old 09-15-2004, 10:04 PM   #3
guinda35
CrackBerry Addict