BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2006, 12:05 PM   #1
Buzbe
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 7230
Posts: 9
Default o2 UK Direct TCP

Please Login to Remove!

Hello everyone!

I'm on o2 with a blackberry without a BES plan.... (thus I get the 'data connection refused' sign at the top) (I am reciving the small gprs in the top right)

However, I cannot seem to get a direct TCP connection? IM+ simple does nothing when registering (it transfers some data and then stops).. and this seems to happen in all the data applications..

I've tried every APN setting i can find (and i know that work) with no luck...

Could it be because my blackberry is setup for enterprise?


Any help would be great on this one! surely someone must know!
Offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 02:01 PM   #2
BERDucky
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 7290
Posts: 682
Default

Do you have ny data plan for your handheld? If not you're out of luck
Offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 02:57 PM   #3
Buzbe
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 7230
Posts: 9
Default

not a blackberry data plan - but yes that same simcard can access o2mobileweb and o2wap when in my other phone...
Offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 03:16 PM   #4
wibbly
CrackBerry Addict
 
wibbly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile UK
Posts: 857
Default

I fear without any kind of BB plan, you won't get the service books that tell the BB how to do anything much on line...
Offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 03:21 PM   #5
Buzbe
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 7230
Posts: 9
Default

hmmmm, I thought you could still get TCP access without a BB plan?
Offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 12:46 PM   #6
sm1th
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London, UK
Model: 8300
Carrier: O2
Posts: 97
Default

I'm with O2, have the BB plan, the works, and cannot get TCP access for 3rd party apps!
Offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:02 PM   #7
wibbly
CrackBerry Addict
 
wibbly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile UK
Posts: 857
Default

That sucks. Works fine for me on T-Mobile in the UK. Just a case of which plan I'm on and thus how much I pay.

http://www.blackberryforums.com/show...ighlight=flext

http://www.blackberryforums.com/show...ighlight=flext

Watch out for the fair use policies though. Not sure how much they are relevant to use on a BB though...
Offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:11 PM   #8
Buzbe
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 7230
Posts: 9
Default

Thats funny...

how can they block blackberry APN WAP traffic and allow other phones traffic?


Anyone have o2 and able to get any third party apps working?
Offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:21 PM   #9
wibbly
CrackBerry Addict
 
wibbly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile UK
Posts: 857
Default

BB traffic (to the BB service) goes over it's own unique APN. The general GPRS APN is different.
Offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:42 PM   #10
g1no
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
g1no's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Model: 8700g
Posts: 55
Default

im on o2 and confirm what sm1th said, i only tried google talk though, what other apps have you tried sm1th...i'll load and try
Offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 04:14 PM   #11
Buzbe
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 7230
Posts: 9
Default

I've tried all the o2 APN settings and it just doesnt seem to make any difference....

Has anyone got anything non-BB plan working on a blackberry on o2?
Offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 04:24 PM   #12
g1no
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
g1no's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Model: 8700g
Posts: 55
Default result?

http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=35077
Offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 06:02 PM   #13
sm1th
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London, UK
Model: 8300
Carrier: O2
Posts: 97
Default

Praise the lord.
Offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 06:08 PM   #14
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

buzbe - save your thumbs. With no BlackBerry Data Plan, all you will get is voice and SMS.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Battery Test Tool Ammeter Voltmeter Direct Current Voltage PowerIndicator Supply
$13.72
Battery Test Tool Ammeter Voltmeter Direct Current Voltage PowerIndicator Supply pictureBattery Test Tool Ammeter Voltmeter Direct Current Voltage PowerIndicator Supply
$13.72
Battery Test Tool Ammeter Voltmeter Direct Current Voltage PowerIndicator Supply pictureBattery Test Tool Ammeter Voltmeter Direct Current Voltage PowerIndicator Supply
$15.61
Battery Test Tool Ammeter Voltmeter Direct Current Voltage PowerIndicator Supply pictureBattery Test Tool Ammeter Voltmeter Direct Current Voltage PowerIndicator Supply
$17.63
Battery Test Tool Ammeter Voltmeter Direct Current Voltage PowerIndicator Supply picture1PCS NEW FOR CHNT 3-Phase 4 Wire Electric Meter DT862-4 220/380V20(80)A
$128.48
1PCS NEW FOR CHNT 3-Phase 4 Wire Electric Meter DT862-4 220/380V20(80)A picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.