Closed Thread

Old 03-16-2007, 09:30 PM   #1
alwayzurboy
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8300
Carrier: cingular
Default explain to me how BES works please

Please Login to Remove!

i dont know if im in the rite forum but BES is something i need to familiarize myself really quick because its something we need to bring in house to shave the outsourced BES cost. Does the service go thru the RIM network or does the phone go over gprs like the windows mobile devices and pulll and syncs with the email server.? thanks for the help in advance.
Old 03-16-2007, 10:46 PM   #2
trevor1189
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 8130
Carrier: Verizon Wireless

While I am not the best person to answer your question, as I am new to BB myself and don't use BES, I will tell you what I know.

BES stands for Blackberry Enterprise Server, it allows Blackberry(s) to sync with a corporate server running exchange, lotus notes, groupwise, etc. If you are on BES you still need to be on a cellular network as that is how the BB communicates with the BES. With a BB there is no syncing or pulling. Email is automatically sent to the device instantly (Think of this like SMS, it just shows up--I love it). To run a BES at your location you must have a server to run one of the said programs and then you install BES onto that sever. A BES license must be purchased from RIM. That is about all I know, I wish I could be of more help.

Oh, by the way the difference between BES and BIS:

BIS=Blackberry Internet Service, allows BB to download up to 10 pop email accounts some accounts take up to 15 minutes to download messages, most instant

BES=Blackberry Enterprise Server, allows the BB to sync calendar and PIM over the network, all email is pushed instantly to the device. (I am sure there are a bunch more cool features, I just don't know about them.) I wish I had BES.

Last edited by trevor1189; 03-16-2007 at 10:49 PM..
Old 03-17-2007, 06:57 AM   #3
tobyw
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 8100