BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2009, 08:28 PM   #141
bunjy
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.135
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 23
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iare Tosevite View Post
17 MB too. I removed some features such as VOD and useless themes such as icon and today.
I'm just curious, what are some of the features that most of you remove from your Blackberrys to increase your memory? I don't seem to have much spare memory on my BB so your feedback would help.

Also, I upgraded to 4.5.0.135 from 4.5.0.127 on my Verizon 8830. I had no problems whatsoever with the update. I also have noticed some memory leaks, but they're not as bad as with the .127 version. I have also noticed that the .135 seems more responsive and less sluggish than .127. Regardless, a big improvement over the 4.2 OS.
Offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 10:41 PM   #142
Iare Tosevite
CrackBerry Addict
 
Iare Tosevite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Between chair and monitor at WA.
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 565
Default

Mainly I just followed the memory post by john clark.

It's in general blackberry.
__________________
"There is no reason anyone would want a computer in their home."
- Ken Olson, 1977
( And we now wear them! Blackberries are computers too! )
Offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 06:31 PM   #143
bunjy
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.135
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iare Tosevite View Post
Mainly I just followed the memory post by john clark.

It's in general blackberry.
Thanx. I'll check it out.
Offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 12:34 PM   #144
rdrum
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0.0.428
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 36
Default

Okay - someone help me out here, please... I just upgraded my VZW 8830 to 4.5.0.127 and I've pulled the battery, restarted and I'm in the process of benchmarking it for memory leaks - which I think there will be since I'm seeing a lot of posts about it.

So here's where I need help - I just want a good stable OS (if there is there such a thing) and it seems I've found one in 4.5.0.127, but now I'm seeing posts about 4.5.0.135 (Sprint) and that it is a bit more responsive. Should I go ahead and install this one?

If I want to install the 4.5.0.135 from Sprint, which is a lot smaller a file than the 4.5.0.127 file, what steps should I follow? Do I need to uninstall the 4.5.0.127 from my PC and then install the 4.5.0.135 OS?

Sorry gang, I'm not as savvy as a lot of you guys on here and I just want to make sure that I don't jack up this phone.

Any one have advice on moving from 127 to 135?

Last edited by rdrum; 03-03-2009 at 02:33 PM..
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 02:53 AM   #145
Kris Wilson
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Kris Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.160
PIN: 317E9CBF
Carrier: VeriZon
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrum View Post
Okay - someone help me out here, please... I just upgraded my VZW 8830 to 4.5.0.127 and I've pulled the battery, restarted and I'm in the process of benchmarking it for memory leaks - which I think there will be since I'm seeing a lot of posts about it.

So here's where I need help - I just want a good stable OS (if there is there such a thing) and it seems I've found one in 4.5.0.127, but now I'm seeing posts about 4.5.0.135 (Sprint) and that it is a bit more responsive. Should I go ahead and install this one?

If I want to install the 4.5.0.135 from Sprint, which is a lot smaller a file than the 4.5.0.127 file, what steps should I follow? Do I need to uninstall the 4.5.0.127 from my PC and then install the 4.5.0.135 OS?

Sorry gang, I'm not as savvy as a lot of you guys on here and I just want to make sure that I don't jack up this phone.

Any one have advice on moving from 127 to 135?
before you try to load .135 you will want to uninstall .127 from your PC. what vers. DM are you running? I have 4.7 and after 2+ hours I've still not been able to load .135. One step I tried with DM4.7 was to not be connect to the internet during the install but that did not help. Rdrum make sure you remember to delete the vendor.xml file.
__________________
(8830)
Kris Wilson, PMP
http://www.linkedin.com/in/kwilson1cincinnati
http://www.twitter.com/kwilson8cinci
MOSS2007 SharePoint Consultant
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 06:00 AM   #146
rdrum
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0.0.428
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 36
Default 127 to 135

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Wilson View Post
before you try to load .135 you will want to uninstall .127 from your PC. what vers. DM are you running? I have 4.7 and after 2+ hours I've still not been able to load .135. One step I tried with DM4.7 was to not be connect to the internet during the install but that did not help. Rdrum make sure you remember to delete the vendor.xml file.
Thanks!

Okay, so I'll uninstall the 127 before moving forward. I do have DM 4.7. I'll save the upgrade for a time when I've got plenty of time to wait around and see what happens. Worst case, I'll stop the procedure, uninstall 135, re-install 127 and then reload that OS.

Have you noticed any memory leaks with 135?
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 08:11 AM   #147
rdrum
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0.0.428
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 36
Default Success!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Wilson View Post
before you try to load .135 you will want to uninstall .127 from your PC. what vers. DM are you running? I have 4.7 and after 2+ hours I've still not been able to load .135. One step I tried with DM4.7 was to not be connect to the internet during the install but that did not help. Rdrum make sure you remember to delete the vendor.xml file.
Kris,

I'm very impatient when it comes to technology (spoiled, really) and I installed .135 first thing when I got to my office this morning.

So far, so good. I did a battery pull and will be be checking throughout the day for memory leaks.

Thanks!


Randy Drum, PMP
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:31 PM   #148
Kris Wilson
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Kris Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.160
PIN: 317E9CBF
Carrier: VeriZon
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrum View Post
Kris,

I'm very impatient when it comes to technology (spoiled, really) and I installed .135 first thing when I got to my office this morning.

So far, so good. I did a battery pull and will be be checking throughout the day for memory leaks.

Thanks!


Randy Drum, PMP
Hey that is great. I'm removing DM 4.7 now and will load 4.6 and try to get .135 loaded today. (after trying for 3 hours yesterday) Glad you got it loaded.
__________________
(8830)
Kris Wilson, PMP
http://www.linkedin.com/in/kwilson1cincinnati
http://www.twitter.com/kwilson8cinci
MOSS2007 SharePoint Consultant
Offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 07:46 AM   #149
rdrum
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0.0.428
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Wilson View Post
Hey that is great. I'm removing DM 4.7 now and will load 4.6 and try to get .135 loaded today. (after trying for 3 hours yesterday) Glad you got it loaded.
Kris,

It's strange that DM 4.7 isn't working for you . The steps I followed to upgrade the OS to .135 didn't have me interface with DM at all. Rather, I just ran "loader.exe" from the \Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader directory. I did not use the "Update Software" option in DM's App Loader. Is that what you're trying to do? (you probably know more about what you're doing than I do, and my comments/questions are just based off of my own experience)

The upgrade process, considering I don't have much of anything to backup inthe way of third=-party apps, etc., only took me about 35 minutes (and that's just a guess because I wasn't really paying close attention to the time so much as the end results).

Good luck!



Randy Drum, PMP
Offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 11:08 AM   #150
Statman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Statman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boulder
Model: 8830
OS: 4.6.1.30
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrum View Post
Kris,

It's strange that DM 4.7 isn't working for you . The steps I followed to upgrade the OS to .135 didn't have me interface with DM at all. Rather, I just ran "loader.exe" from the \Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader directory. I did not use the "Update Software" option in DM's App Loader. Is that what you're trying to do? (you probably know more about what you're doing than I do, and my comments/questions are just based off of my own experience)

The upgrade process, considering I don't have much of anything to backup inthe way of third=-party apps, etc., only took me about 35 minutes (and that's just a guess because I wasn't really paying close attention to the time so much as the end results).

Good luck!



Randy Drum, PMP
I agree completely....don't touch DM at all....use the loader after you have removed the vendor specific file. The entire process took me 23 minutes. All of my preferences, addresses, calendars, third party apps, etc. were preserved
__________________
Statman
8830WE VZW
4.6.1.305 hybrid
Mac Pro 2X2.8 Quad SL
Offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 01:52 PM   #151
Kris Wilson
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Kris Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.160
PIN: 317E9CBF
Carrier: VeriZon
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrum View Post
Kris,

It's strange that DM 4.7 isn't working for you . The steps I followed to upgrade the OS to .135 didn't have me interface with DM at all. Rather, I just ran "loader.exe" from the \Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader directory. I did not use the "Update Software" option in DM's App Loader. Is that what you're trying to do? (you probably know more about what you're doing than I do, and my comments/questions are just based off of my own experience)

The upgrade process, considering I don't have much of anything to backup inthe way of third=-party apps, etc., only took me about 35 minutes (and that's just a guess because I wasn't really paying close attention to the time so much as the end results).

Good luck!



Randy Drum, PMP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Statman View Post
I agree completely....don't touch DM at all....use the loader after you have removed the vendor specific file. The entire process took me 23 minutes. All of my preferences, addresses, calendars, third party apps, etc. were preserved
So my first time trying to upgrade to .135 I used loader.exe after I removed the vendor.xml file. it saw the OS upgrade but it was .127, I had not uninstalled .127 before I installed .135. So I closed loader.exe, removed .135 and .127 rebooted, re-installed .135 and removed vendor.xml and launched loader.exe, and the only items listed were my 3rd party apps it did not see any OS. I tried the same steps with DM4.6 with no Joy.
__________________
(8830)
Kris Wilson, PMP
http://www.linkedin.com/in/kwilson1cincinnati
http://www.twitter.com/kwilson8cinci
MOSS2007 SharePoint Consultant

Last edited by Kris Wilson; 03-05-2009 at 01:54 PM..
Offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 06:25 PM   #152
Statman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Statman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boulder
Model: 8830
OS: 4.6.1.30
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 97
Default

Well Kris, Im not sure how to help you. I am running windows XP Pro thorough Parallels on a Mac. I know very little about Windows and am sure I would give up computers if I had to use Windows very often. Unfortunately updating the BB requires Windows. I have previously installed .127. For .135, I simply downloaded the software from the link (stickied). Removed the vendor file as instructed and clicked on the loader.exe...it did the rest. Back-up install and the rest. I never removed my .127 info. to my knowledge.
__________________
Statman
8830WE VZW
4.6.1.305 hybrid
Mac Pro 2X2.8 Quad SL
Offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 08:57 PM   #153
Statman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Statman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boulder
Model: 8830
OS: 4.6.1.30
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 97
Default

Here is what I did:
1. Download 4.5.0.135 OS to your PC
2. Install/run OS to PC
3. Delete vendor.xml file. It's located in c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader
4. Click loader.exe (in the same folder as the vendor file) and that will start the process. It will go through a number of steps from backing up your BB to installing OS to installing third party, to installing preferences. The BB will re-start multiple times during this process. Just be patient and let it do its thing.
5. Do not unplug BB during the process. It will take around 30-60 minutes to complete upgrade (took me 23 minutes).
__________________
Statman
8830WE VZW
4.6.1.305 hybrid
Mac Pro 2X2.8 Quad SL
Offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 01:26 PM   #154
Kris Wilson
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Kris Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.160
PIN: 317E9CBF
Carrier: VeriZon
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Statman View Post
Here is what I did:
1. Download 4.5.0.135 OS to your PC
2. Install/run OS to PC
3. Delete vendor.xml file. It's located in c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader
4. Click loader.exe (in the same folder as the vendor file) and that will start the process. It will go through a number of steps from backing up your BB to installing OS to installing third party, to installing preferences. The BB will re-start multiple times during this process. Just be patient and let it do its thing.
5. Do not unplug BB during the process. It will take around 30-60 minutes to complete upgrade (took me 23 minutes).
Thanks Statman..been there tried that. for now I'll stick with .127...
__________________
(8830)
Kris Wilson, PMP
http://www.linkedin.com/in/kwilson1cincinnati
http://www.twitter.com/kwilson8cinci
MOSS2007 SharePoint Consultant
Offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 11:22 AM   #155
VDDuong
New Member
 
VDDuong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: NO
Posts: 8
Default Thanks Zavar!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavar View Post
Note: The Software Platform and Applications version numbers can be found under Options-About screen on the handheld.

Instructions for installing on ANY carrier's 8830:

1. Download the above OS file to the PC then install it to the PC by running (double clicking) the file you downloaded.
2. Go to c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader and delete the file named "vendor.xml."
3. Plug in BB and double click on "Loader.exe." It's located in the same place as the above vendor.xml file.
...
If, for some reason, you end up with a white screen with small icons and the number 507, simply connect to the PC again and run Loader.exe again and it should load the OS to the device.
[/url]
Thanks zavar. Now, I'll test with .127...
Offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 11:43 AM   #156
indoneta
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: xl
Posts: 3
Default good balckberry

try to download latest software for blackberry
Offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 01:26 PM   #157
mark92103
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon wireless
Posts: 1
Default

I'm a newbie to this whole Blackberry thing, but I think I'm addicted already. I did the upgrade to 4.5 on my verizon 8830, and I may never use a pc for email again. So easy to read, now that emails are in html. Thanks for all the tips!
Offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 11:04 PM   #158
kschmeltzer
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 1
Default

Help!! I've repeated the process three times. Twice it went through very fast and did not change from version 4.2 to 4.5. The third time it took a bit longer because it backed up my data, but still no upgrade to 4.5. My Blackberry didn't restart - what am I doing wrong?! I have Verizon and I deleted the vendor, went through the whole process...not sure why its not upgrading.

Any ideas?!?!

Thanks!
Offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 11:07 PM   #159
TECK
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 13
Default

Hi all,

I upgraded my 8830 to 4.5.0.177/4.5.0.127 (Multilanguage) few days ago. The upgrade went smooth, I removed also the battery, just to be safe have all data resent. However, the main thing I noticed is that my battery consumption is disastrous, compared with previous 4.2 software. Before, I used to have my BB charged for 2 days easy (plenty of emails used). Right now, after 8 hrs the battery is completely drained.

Does anyone else have the same problem? Are there any fixes for my issue?

Thanks a lot for your help.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
why queued - My blog

Last edited by TECK; 04-14-2009 at 11:09 PM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

40K RF Ultrasonic Cavitation Radio Frequency Fat Burner Sliming Machine 3IN1 NEW
$151.05
40K RF Ultrasonic Cavitation Radio Frequency Fat Burner Sliming Machine 3IN1 NEW pictureCold&Hot RF Radio Frequency Skin Rejuvenation Snow Ice Skin Care Beauty Machine
$545.0
Cold&Hot RF Radio Frequency Skin Rejuvenation Snow Ice Skin Care Beauty Machine pictureDemabrasion 8In1 40K Cavitation Vacuum RF Radio Frequency BIO Slimming Machine
$1409.0
Demabrasion 8In1 40K Cavitation Vacuum RF Radio Frequency BIO Slimming Machine picture5in1 Ultrasonic Cavitation Radio Frequency Slimming Machine Vacuum Body Shaping
$285.0
5in1 Ultrasonic Cavitation Radio Frequency Slimming Machine Vacuum Body Shaping pictureUltrasonic Cavitation RF Radio Frequency Vacuum Cellulite Slimming Machine CE
$598.0
Ultrasonic Cavitation RF Radio Frequency Vacuum Cellulite Slimming Machine CE picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.