BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2008, 04:24 PM   #101
stonefc
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 12
Default

Please Login to Remove!

got it. thank you.
Offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 10:09 PM   #102
73JER
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5
Default

I have downloaded and installed version 4.5 to my desktop. It will not prompt my device to upgrade to the new software. Any ideas on how to fix this?
Offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 11:03 PM   #103
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Your profile says you have an 8830. This software is for the 8800 only.
Offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 11:02 AM   #104
nobody7290
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,376
Default

I updated a 8800 today with this file.
8800M_PBr4[1].5.0_rel81_PL2.7.0.68_A4.5.0.55.exe

The 8800 is Vodafone branded.

After sucessful update, the 8800 told me: "SIM card not supported:2"

I called vodafone, they told me, the 8800 will be exchanged - no way to fix this error.

The Software is identical to the download I can get from Vodafone - I afterwards compared the two archive files.

Does anyone know what went wrong during the upgrade procedure ?
Offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 11:18 AM   #105
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

I've seen some sim card issues with OS 4.5. I would try a new sim card in the device before I replaced the device.
Offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 02:02 PM   #106
nobody7290
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,376
Default

Thanks for your reply,
We did try another card and also tried the card the device did not like in another (not Blackberry) phone.

no change. Blackberry wont accept it.

before doing the upgrade, I removed the SIM - i dont think this makes a difference, but all other upgrades I did the SIM was inside.
Offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 02:04 PM   #107
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

So the old sim card worked in another phone?

If so, then yeah, must be the device. Not real common, though.
Offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 06:10 PM   #108
spikebetrayer
New Member
 
spikebetrayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: alltel
Posts: 4
Default Can i install beta on my cdma 8830

can i install this beta on my alltel 8830 cdma carrier?
Offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 06:24 PM   #109
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

No, this OS is for the 8800. It won't work on an 8830.
Offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 06:57 PM   #110
cut3b0yz
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: XL
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
And what is that problem?

Check that the normal Buetooth settings are enabled first. Options > Bluetooth.
the problem is the bluetooth is not working, i can't activate my bluetooth
Offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 07:28 PM   #111
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Wirelessly posted (BB 11020)

You can't activate bluetooth until you pair a device.
Offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 05:42 AM   #112
vegos
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Athens, Greece
Model: 900
OS: Latest :)
PIN: 20E9D927
Carrier: Vodafone GR
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
Wirelessly posted (BB 11020)

You can't activate bluetooth until you pair a device.
There is an issue with some 8800 and Bluetooth. You CAN'T enable bluetooth.
I have the same problem, can't wait for next version.
__________________
:: www.slr.gr :: www.myslr.eu ::
Offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 10:05 AM   #113
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

First I've heard of this issue.
Offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 11:09 AM   #114
BlackberryEMS
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9000
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 28
Default

My bluetooth is working fine with this release...both a BT earpiece/headset and a BT car kit.
C
__________________
Chris Callsen
Austin, Texas
Offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 01:50 PM   #115
vegos
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Athens, Greece
Model: 900
OS: Latest :)
PIN: 20E9D927
Carrier: Vodafone GR
Posts: 9
Default

The strange thing is that a few people have it, all with 8800 from different providers.
I have the same problems, and searching the forums, I've found a couple of people with the same bt behavior (you can't enable bt, it stays on "Enabling" forever...).
__________________
:: www.slr.gr :: www.myslr.eu ::
Offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 10:38 PM   #116
justajason
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
justajason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 224
Default

My bluetooth disconnects sometimes. Its strange. Ill sit the device down, and the headset next to it. And ill get the disconnect blinks from the headset.
Offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 12:18 PM   #117
MrSanc8
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
MrSanc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, FL.
Model: 8330
PIN: Head
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 81
Question for CDMA?

Does this 4.5 OS upgrade also for CDMA phones or just GSM?
And if it is can I use Desktop Manager 4.6 to install it?
Offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 12:22 PM   #118
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

This particular version is for the 8800 only. OS's are device specific. So, you need to find an OS for your specific device model.
Offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 04:07 PM   #119
koalaman45
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 3
Default

its not working for my 8800 what do i do it keeps popping up saying JVM Error 513
Offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 01:16 PM   #120
robertcs
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 6
Default

Hey there I m new in the forum and just buy my bb 8800 5 days ago and I want to upgrade de OS on my phone ( have the 4.2 version)can you explain my step by step how to do it pls
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Used Yaskawa robot control cabinet CPU control board JANCD-NCP01-1 Tested
$1579.0
Used Yaskawa robot control cabinet CPU control board JANCD-NCP01-1 Tested pictureADEPT TECHNOLOGY 10332-44710 CPU MODULE 040
$324.99
ADEPT TECHNOLOGY 10332-44710 CPU MODULE 040 pictureCubit 6500 CPU Card (AIM-65 Compatible) - 6502 Processor with RAM, ROM, Timers
$80.0
Cubit 6500 CPU Card (AIM-65 Compatible) - 6502 Processor with RAM, ROM, Timers picturePLC Direct Logic 205 Koyo - DL250-1 CPU
$100.0
PLC Direct Logic 205 Koyo - DL250-1 CPU pictureIDEC FC1A-C1A1E MICRO-1 I/O Module, 100-240 VAC. Programmable CPU Controller
$39.99
IDEC FC1A-C1A1E MICRO-1 I/O Module, 100-240 VAC. Programmable CPU Controller picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.