BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2005, 11:33 AM   #41
cwosigns
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
cwosigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Model: 9300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 311
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Yeah...figure it out for the rest of us. I don't want to call until I can explain to the tech support person exactly how to do his/her job. My biggest pet peeve when it comes to customer service is when the rep can't find his ass with both hands and a flashlight, and he feeds me some ridiculous line of bull and hopes I'll buy it. What I appreciate is a rep saying, "I don't know. Let me find someone who does."
__________________
Chris Owens
NAD V, NIC Advanced
ASL-English Interpreter
Columbus, Ohio
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:03 PM   #42
acoss
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Model: 8700c
Posts: 58
Default

i JUst spoke to cingulars data support which contacted rim and the said tha bb browser is only available to customers part of BES...AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:18 PM   #43
Zoinks
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 95
Default

Is this something new with the 8700 or has it always been the case?
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:22 PM   #44
cwosigns
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
cwosigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Model: 9300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 311
Default

I dunno. I'm on hold waiting for a Crackberry Support Specialist. If they tell me that only BES customers can get it, I'll tell them that I know that's not the case because my friend barJOHN has the BB browser and he doesn't have BES. What good is EDGE and a kick-ass display if you can only use a WAP browser? If the outcome is not satisfactory, I might go back to my Nokia 6682. Nice browser and I can get email (not push but oh well).
__________________
Chris Owens
NAD V, NIC Advanced
ASL-English Interpreter
Columbus, Ohio
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:24 PM   #45
acoss
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Model: 8700c
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwosigns
I dunno. I'm on hold waiting for a Crackberry Support Specialist. If they tell me that only BES customers can get it, I'll tell them that I know that's not the case because my friend barJOHN has the BB browser and he doesn't have BES. What good is EDGE and a kick-ass display if you can only use a WAP browser? If the outcome is not satisfactory, I might go back to my Nokia 6682. Nice browser and I can get email (not push but oh well).
Good Luck!...let us know if you can acomplish it
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:25 PM   #46
acoss
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Model: 8700c
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoinks
Is this something new with the 8700 or has it always been the case?
personally it has always been the case...7290..no bb browser
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:37 PM   #47
cwosigns
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
cwosigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Model: 9300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 311
Default

Yes, but it was ADVERTISED briefly friday on Cingular's site as having a full html internet browser. You can look at it on barJOHN's review (get the link in his signature). It makes no mention of requiring BES. And it doesn't explain why he has the BB browser on BIS while I don't.
__________________
Chris Owens
NAD V, NIC Advanced
ASL-English Interpreter
Columbus, Ohio
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:03 PM   #48
cwosigns
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
cwosigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Model: 9300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 311
Default

Rick in BB support (Cingular) said that public MDS needs to be provisioned, but Cingular can't do that right now (they're working on it--yeah right). I'm on hold now to talk to Rick's supervisor because I shelled out $450 and signed up for a $45/month plan that will let me access full-html sites and now they're telling me, "Well that's not exactly right. That's only for SOME customers."

Wasn't there a law regarding truth in advertising?

https://business.cingular.com/cingul...Id=cat17840084
__________________
Chris Owens
NAD V, NIC Advanced
ASL-English Interpreter
Columbus, Ohio

Last edited by cwosigns; 11-28-2005 at 02:08 PM.. Reason: content error
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:08 PM   #49
acoss
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Model: 8700c
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwosigns
Rick in BB support (Cingular) said that public MDS needs to be provisioned, but Cingular can't do that right now (they're working on it--yeah right). I'm on hold now to talk to Rick's supervisor because I shelled out $450 and signed up for a $45/month plan that will let me access full-html sites and now they're telling me, "Well that's not exactly right. That's only for SOME customers."

Wasn't there a law regarding truth in advertising? <a href="https://business.cingular.com/cingular/generic/phone_details.jsp?skuId=sku70580382&parentCatId=ca t17840066&productId=prod79070260&categoryId=cat178 40084">8700c</a>
keep us posted...
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:10 PM   #50
cwosigns
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
cwosigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Model: 9300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 311
Default

Could the person who has the BB browser with BIS only contact me please? I have a Cingular rep who is willing to compare our accounts to see why yours has it and mine doesn't. PIN me please.
__________________
Chris Owens
NAD V, NIC Advanced
ASL-English Interpreter
Columbus, Ohio
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:13 PM   #51
acoss
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Model: 8700c
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwosigns
Could the person who has the BB browser with BIS only contact me please? I have a Cingular rep who is willing to compare our accounts to see why yours has it and mine doesn't. PIN me please.
They asked me the same thing...but i don't know anyone that has bis and bb browser other than barjohn

Last edited by acoss; 11-28-2005 at 02:22 PM..
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:24 PM   #52
KonTiki
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
KonTiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.524
PIN: 007
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwosigns
Could the person who has the BB browser with BIS only contact me please? I have a Cingular rep who is willing to compare our accounts to see why yours has it and mine doesn't. PIN me please.
And if they got it by mistake will they take it away, its not me btw because I am verizon but no one will come forward to get themselves at risk of loosing it.
__________________
BB Tour 9650


Running OS 6.0.0.524
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:39 PM   #53
cwosigns
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
cwosigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Model: 9300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 311
Default

I pointed the BB Tech Support guy to this thread (he's reading so don't diss him). He is willing to look at my account (BIS w/o BB browser) and barjohn's account (BIS w/ BB browser) and see what the difference is.

I have to say that it may have been my best customer service experience yet. They really listened to my concerns, didn't brush me off, and are trying to figure out what's going on. Rick's supervisor gave me his desk phone number so I could get in touch with him.

Barjohn if you're willing to do a conference call or something with me and the Tech guys that would be great. Or even if I could get your cell number and they could just compare our accounts.

Thanks. PIN me if u can.
__________________
Chris Owens
NAD V, NIC Advanced
ASL-English Interpreter
Columbus, Ohio
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:49 PM   #54
fatbboy
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
fatbboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 63
Post

In a different thread, BarJohn indicates he has additional data service:

>>In speaking to a RIM technical support person, he indicated that the issue lies with Cingular in that they require an additional data setting (and charge) for tehering. I think my account has that.<<

Could this be the difference?
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:22 PM   #55
acoss
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Model: 8700c
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwosigns
I pointed the BB Tech Support guy to this thread (he's reading so don't diss him). He is willing to look at my account (BIS w/o BB browser) and barjohn's account (BIS w/ BB browser) and see what the difference is.

I have to say that it may have been my best customer service experience yet. They really listened to my concerns, didn't brush me off, and are trying to figure out what's going on. Rick's supervisor gave me his desk phone number so I could get in touch with him.

Barjohn if you're willing to do a conference call or something with me and the Tech guys that would be great. Or even if I could get your cell number and they could just compare our accounts.

Thanks. PIN me if u can.
Thanks for being persistent with this issue..the cingular browser is worthless.
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:56 PM   #56
barjohn
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
barjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Riverside, CA
Model: 8700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1,068
Default

Sorry, guys, I left for work and didn't see these posts until now. Unfortunately, I can't communicate much right now but could be reached this evening via PM and I will supply my cell phone number or PIN. My account is a government account that was formerly on AT&T. I had a full data package on it because I was first using the account with the Siemens SX-56. Later I added the BlackBerry 7100t to the account and recently I changed devices to a 7290 and it came with an Orange SIM but I may still be a Blue account. My old Blue SIM would no longer work.

maybe it is only Blue accounts that have access which might explain why I can also tether and use it as a MODEM. However, since AT&T accounts are now part of Cingular you would think they could or would offer the same service.
__________________
John

For more information see barJohn Reviews It
Active PIN 203A5535

Last edited by barjohn; 11-28-2005 at 04:00 PM..
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 04:12 PM   #57
pollster
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Baton Rouge
Model: 8700
Posts: 25
Angry Not SIM Card Issue

I took the sim card from my treo 650 and am using it with BB 8700 / It ( 650)is the exact same sim card that comes with BB 8700. My 8700 list the Cingular Browser only - there is no choice available in the Options -advanced - browser - default browser-configuration- it only says Cingular - when I click on Cingular it highlights Cingular with no other choice available!PERIOD!

[SIZE=7]I downloaded BB Spell and my 8700 would not let me connect to spell web site to access spell checker-- so I had to open TCP page and add wap cingular addresses as this BB 8700 would not let me go to another web site to to access or sync data!!

Please :why would Cingular have this restriction- anyone please????
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 04:47 PM   #58
gadgetman
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 266
Default

If I can't get BB Browser, I'm definitely returning my 8700. However, I believe that Cingular will make sure that we do get the BB Browser. They can't be THAT stupid. They gain nothing by denying it to us. Cingular, hear this. You will be seeing a huge number of returned 8700s if you don't fix this quick!!!
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 04:58 PM   #59
Seattle18
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Seattle18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seattle
Model: Curve
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 1,610
Default

Wirelessly posted (CrackBerry 8700: BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102 UP.Link/6.3.0.0.0)

Sorry to post here, but that is my problem. How do I start a new thread in here by using my 8700 on the wap site?
__________________
My heart belongs to Liv...
Offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:00 PM   #60
Seattle18
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Seattle18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seattle
Model: Curve
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 1,610
Default

Wirelessly posted (CrackBerry 8700: BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102 UP.Link/6.3.0.0.0)

Also, how can I set the 8700 to NOT auto open an email when I get an email message and I take it out of the clip?
__________________
My heart belongs to Liv...
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

15-Mile Battery Operated Low Impedance Fence Charger
$123.43
15-Mile Battery Operated Low Impedance Fence Charger pictureFluke 18 Automotive Digital Multimeter Works CAT III 600v High Impedance w Leads
$89.99
Fluke 18 Automotive Digital Multimeter Works CAT III 600v High Impedance w Leads pictureHP 4194A Impedance/Gain-Phase Analyzer *Very Good Condition*
$2499.99
HP 4194A Impedance/Gain-Phase Analyzer *Very Good Condition* pictureTextronix TCA-1MEG BW 500MHz High Impedance Buffer Amplifier 1MOHM 10PF
$699.99
Textronix TCA-1MEG BW 500MHz  High Impedance Buffer Amplifier 1MOHM 10PF pictureGeneral Radio Genrad 1656 Impedance Bridge
$199.95
General Radio Genrad 1656 Impedance Bridge picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.