BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2005, 12:07 AM   #161
cabberry
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 8100c
Posts: 4
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quick Update:
Today I had to pull the battery out of my 8700c due to some weird network glitch. When I put the battery back in all was working fine. Later in the day I was showing a co-worker the nice new screen and low and behold I noticed I had TWO browser icons. The second one was the Blackberry browser and it loads delta.com and all the other sites great (after you enable javascript etc in options)

Here is the only thing I did that might have added the browser to my desktop. DISCLAIMER:: This didn't hurt my phone and maybe added the browser, but I have no idea if it is a bad idea or could hurt your phone. Maybe someone who knows this RIM technology could tell me if this could have helped? Or did Cingular get a clue and somehow add this to all 8700s?

Options -> Advanced -> Service Book
Select Blackberry Internet Browser
Click View
Bring up Menu and do 'Show HRT'
Towards the bottom there was a Bold entry, I clicked that and Clicked Register Now
Save Change, take out battery, reboot, ? browser?
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 10:54 AM   #162
kjohn
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Model: 7290
Carrier: AIS
Posts: 30
Default

For those of us who have BES,

What is the difference between the "Blackberry Browser" and "Internet Browser"? My company has no filtering or sites blocked.
Offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 02:43 PM   #163
rel12561
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NYC
Model: 8800
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 109
Default

I didn't have either browser after moving from 7100g to the 8700. Call Cingular and follow the prompts for BB support and then speak to a tech person and they will take your cell number and send out whatever it is they send and you will have both browsers. Not sure what they do/send, but 15 seconds after he did it it was there and i said thanks and hung up.
Offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 05:45 PM   #164
jnelson2000
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chicago
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 435
Default

Both the Cingular and Internet browsers homepage are now editable via options > Browser configuration.
Offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 07:58 PM   #165
likefre
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: here
Model: 8320
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnelson2000
Both the Cingular and Internet browsers homepage are now editable via options > Browser configuration.
thanks for noticing jnelson, i guess this was done this afternoon when i received an activation msg from bis, i checked service books, no new ones. I knew there had to be a reason for that re-registration
Offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:09 AM   #166
srossen
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 7290
Posts: 1
Default

Is there anyway to force the apperance of the Internet Browser? I just swapped phone and my old one had it but this new one does not. Just has Cingular Broswers.
Offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 04:59 PM   #167
takeshi
BlackBerry Mensa
 
takeshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 7,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnelson2000
Both the Cingular and Internet browsers homepage are now editable via options > Browser configuration.
Strange. I can set the home page for my Blackberry Browser as well, but I can't change the setting that determines where it goes when I open it. It goes to bookmarks no matter what...
Offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 12:19 AM   #168
Steve
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cedar Falls, Iowa
Model: 9630
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by takeshi
Strange. I can set the home page for my Blackberry Browser as well, but I can't change the setting that determines where it goes when I open it. It goes to bookmarks no matter what...
This has been driving me nuts the past couple of days. I've got a Cingular-Blue 7290 on a BWC/BIS and always had the Blackberry Browser. Everytime I begin to use it, it brings up my bookmarks and from there I choose my first destination.

Now, I find http://www.cingular.com/bisbrowser loading up as a home page every time. All it has is the same stuff found in "help". It gets real old waiting for it to load the page of junk I don't need to read. Like a default MSN Home Page on a new PC. I use "blank" on my PC for nearly the same reason.

http://device.home doesn't work for me. Does anyone know the device URL or entry for the bookmarks: ?

Glad everyone got their BBBrowser!

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
9630 Tour - Sprint
Offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 02:15 PM   #169
jimlenz
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 8700g
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 22
Default Blackberry and Internet Browser

Is there any difference between the internet browser and the Blackberry browser? I have both including the cingular browser and cant figure out which one I should use?

JIm
Offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 12:46 PM   #170
Steve
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cedar Falls, Iowa
Model: 9630
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimlenz
Is there any difference between the internet browser and the Blackberry browser? I have both including the cingular browser and cant figure out which one I should use?

JIm
Actually, I should have said "Internet Broswer" to describe mine. I keep my mMode browser hidden.

As far as my previous post, I decided to save wap.blackberryforums.com as my homepage (after login). It's usually the first place I go, if not wap.google.com.

Steve
__________________
9630 Tour - Sprint
Offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 03:17 PM   #171
sfla99
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 38
Default

I was reading this thread and thought I would test things out too see if I would get the same issues and I am having no issues at all.

- Fresh brand new 8700
- Fresh brand new 64 Sim
- Went to aa.com, delta.com, mobile.blackberry.com with zero issues using the BB browser.

When I recieved my phone it had no browsers on it at all, after I called cingular to activate the device, 5 minutes later I then had a few new icons on the desktop, mainly the cingular icon, I asked the rep why I had only 1 browser and I was told thats the only one they use now, but.... Shortly after I hung up when my phone was set up, the BB browser appeared on my desktop.

I havent done much surfing with it, but so far all the icons are their, any site I goto seems to work fine on the BB browser, atleast the ones you mentioned do not work for you.

I do how ever want to point out that when I checked my software it says 4.1, so as was stated, maybe thats the difference?

Cheers!
Offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 03:24 PM   #172
sfla99
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 38
Default

Just tested with the Cingular browser, aa.com works favorable than the BB browser, though delta.com reports an error and can not be opened, this I am going to assune is because the page is trying to load a .jsp which is java server page.

I enabled javascipt for the browser and emulated IE and still no luck, though it did work perfect in the BB browser, so I dont know, maybe when checking airlines stick to the BB browser it seems.

Cheers!
Offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 08:41 AM   #173
Zoinks
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 95
Default

.jsp means the server is processing Java, not your Blackberry
Offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:19 AM   #174
chrisnol
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
chrisnol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Model: 8700c
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 152
Default

I understand the Cingular Browser is A WAP browser and does not do well with HTML pages/sites, although they may work occasionally. You need to use the BB Browser for non-WAP sites to increase your success rate.
__________________
8700c user
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Johnson Controls Metasys MS-NAE5510-2 Controller NAE 5510 Version 9.0
$2775.0
Johnson Controls Metasys MS-NAE5510-2 Controller NAE 5510 Version 9.0 picturemetasys Unitary Controllers 1144-0
$69.0
metasys Unitary Controllers 1144-0 pictureJohnson Controls Metasys unitary controller AS-UNT111-1 Rev K RY10316 HVAC
$30.0
Johnson Controls Metasys unitary controller AS-UNT111-1 Rev K RY10316 HVAC pictureUsed Johnson Controls Metasys AS-AHU102-0 Air Handling Unit Board
$75.0
Used Johnson Controls Metasys AS-AHU102-0 Air Handling Unit Board picturemetasys fm-0ap121-0 (used set of 8)
$80.0
metasys fm-0ap121-0 (used set of 8) picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.