BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2005, 11:01 AM   #21
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Until you actually TRY TO GET IT UNLOCKED. Then, they can't do it.
I have tried so many times... I know someone knows someone who works at Cingular and says he knows they will do it. But just try it.
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 11:06 AM   #22
zero1
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
zero1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: chicago
Model: 8100
Posts: 94
Default

i guess you have a point, i was thinking, wouldnt the world be better if all phones were sold unlocked! wed be one very happy group of techies
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:54 PM   #23
nopesos
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 8700c
Posts: 12
Default 8700c Unlocked

I called the International Department and indicated I needed to travel overseas and would like to use a prepaid SIM card. I happened to get a very nice person and she asked if I paid full price and I indicated yes; I paid $399. I faxed her a letter stating my reason and a copy of the receipt. 2 days later I received an email indicating I would receive an unlock code in 5 days. Today I got an email with the unlock code and instructions and it worked. I will experiment with my T-mobile SIM and let you know how it goes. I have always used the T-Mobile Blackberry Service for Internet based email and it is superior to the Cingular Service (I am not referring to BES). I just switched to Cingular because I wanted the EDGE and the new 8700c. Will post a followup.
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:57 PM   #24
mqlq76
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 8700C
Posts: 41
Default

Do you have the number for the International Department?
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 04:50 PM   #25
projectorkid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 23
Default

i bought my 8700c while in the States last week. At the same time, I am a Cingular customer. The sales rep told me I copuld easily get it unlocked at www.gsmlocker.com I have paid the fee, and they responded yesterdy telling me they need 24-48hrs. Waiting to hee back.......
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 05:00 PM   #26
zero1
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
zero1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: chicago
Model: 8100
Posts: 94
Default

seems to me that paying 129 is just not a good deal to unlock it. Cingular should provide options.
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 05:00 PM   #27
projectorkid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 23
Default

i bought my 8700c while in the States last week. At the same time, I am a Cingular customer. The sales rep told me I copuld easily get it unlocked at www.gsmlocker.com I have paid the fee, and they responded yesterdy telling me they need 24-48hrs. Waiting to hear back.......
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 07:22 PM   #28
projectorkid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 23
Default

your right, however i just received the code and it WORKS! I unlocked it and did an "Enterprise Activation" works pertfect....
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 07:48 PM   #29
richard371
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Francisco
Model: Bold
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 941
Default

So that gsmlocker company was able to provide you the code? I wonder where they were able to get it?

Have you tried to use it with tmobile web email. How do you configure it to work with tmobile?
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 07:57 PM   #30
richard371
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Francisco
Model: Bold
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 941
Default

Im worried if I pay 130 and the device has to be replaced ill have to pay it again etc.
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 08:25 PM   #31
dolo
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Verizon, Cingular
Posts: 181
Default

great point richard....great point, anyone explore this question with any of the UL'ers?

Regards,
dolo
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 08:32 PM   #32
richard371
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Francisco
Model: Bold
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 941
Default

Unlockers will not give you another code if you loose or replace your BB. They usualy have to pay to get these codes so it's a 1 shot deal. This I do know. Besides people would cliam they lost or replaced there bb to try to get a free code etc.
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 08:39 PM   #33
dolo
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Verizon, Cingular
Posts: 181
Default

makes sense.

Thanks Richard.
Offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 09:44 PM   #34
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

I was just on gsmunlocker's site. They clearly state they will unlock only AT&T and T-Mobile. But Cingular is the only 8700 vendor in the US. So, if they are unlocking 8700c BlackBerrys, doesn't that contradict with the statement that they only unlock AT&T Wireless and T-Mobile. I would gladly (well, not gladly) pay them the $129 but I don't want to get ripped off.
Offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 12:00 AM   #35
celcius
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
celcius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Model: 8700c
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nopesos
I called the International Department and indicated I needed to travel overseas and would like to use a prepaid SIM card. I happened to get a very nice person and she asked if I paid full price and I indicated yes; I paid $399. I faxed her a letter stating my reason and a copy of the receipt. 2 days later I received an email indicating I would receive an unlock code in 5 days. Today I got an email with the unlock code and instructions and it worked. I will experiment with my T-mobile SIM and let you know how it goes. I have always used the T-Mobile Blackberry Service for Internet based email and it is superior to the Cingular Service (I am not referring to BES). I just switched to Cingular because I wanted the EDGE and the new 8700c. Will post a followup.
This is interesting because I had a similar experience with my previous phone, a Motorola V551, which I wanted to get unlocked. I had paid full price for the phone and I had to fax them a copy of the receipt proving it. A few days later I was emailed an unlock code. I believe that paying full retail had something to do with me being able to get an unlock code.
Offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 01:16 AM   #36
takeshi
BlackBerry Mensa
 
takeshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 7,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by projectorkid
your right, however i just received the code and it WORKS! I unlocked it and did an "Enterprise Activation" works pertfect....
So did you indicate that it was locked to AT&T? As NJ states, they only offer AT&T and T-Mobile as options for the network choice.

Last edited by takeshi; 12-03-2005 at 01:24 AM..
Offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 06:30 AM   #37
projectorkid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJBlackBerry
I was just on gsmunlocker's site. They clearly state they will unlock only AT&T and T-Mobile. But Cingular is the only 8700 vendor in the US. So, if they are unlocking 8700c BlackBerrys, doesn't that contradict with the statement that they only unlock AT&T Wireless and T-Mobile. I would gladly (well, not gladly) pay them the $129 but I don't want to get ripped off.
Yes, it worked perfect. You must give them the PIN + IMEI number. If anyone else does do this, let's cross-check the unlock codes provided, they might even be the same. I will gladly post the message GSMLOCKER sent me
Offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 09:26 AM   #38
anthonymoody
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8700
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 255
Default

projectorkid,
just to confirm, you specifically told them it was locked to cingular? i'm considering doing this too since I'm a TMo sub...
TM
Offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 09:36 AM   #39
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

I sent a message to GSMLocker specifically asking it they can unlock a Cingular-locked 8700c, since their web site says AT&T and T-Mobile only. I'll see what they say.
Offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 09:36 AM   #40
likefre
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: here
Model: 8320
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by projectorkid
Yes, it worked perfect. You must give them the PIN + IMEI number. If anyone else does do this, let's cross-check the unlock codes provided, they might even be the same. I will gladly post the message GSMLOCKER sent me
just out of curiosity, other than being able to use it in different gsm carriers, what other features/advantages you have for having and unlocked unit..Do you get some other apps or features not available for customers with locked 8700?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

2019 US Allen-Bradley MicroLogix 1400 Memory Module 1766-MM1 New FDA
$97.28
2019 US Allen-Bradley MicroLogix 1400 Memory Module 1766-MM1 New FDA pictureMega2560 + WiFi R3 ATmega2560+ESP8266 32Mb Memory USB-TTL CH340G Compatible 6R2
$14.67
Mega2560 + WiFi R3 ATmega2560+ESP8266 32Mb Memory USB-TTL CH340G Compatible  6R2 pictureUsed Siemens 6ES7 953-8LF11-0AA0 Memory Card 64KB 6ES7953-8LF11-0AA0 Tested OK
$37.8
Used Siemens 6ES7 953-8LF11-0AA0 Memory Card 64KB 6ES7953-8LF11-0AA0 Tested OK pictureNew in box Panasonic AFPX-MRTC memory cassette AFPXMRTC One year warranty
$70.81
New in box Panasonic AFPX-MRTC memory cassette AFPXMRTC One year warranty picturePrecision New DS3231 RTC Module Memory Module for Arduino Raspberry Pi Black 5P8
$1.68
Precision New DS3231 RTC Module Memory Module for Arduino Raspberry Pi Black 5P8 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.