BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2006, 11:16 PM   #41
yirong
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 19
Default

Please Login to Remove!

it will not work. I have my upgraded to 31010, but it's for 7130e. The 7250e reads at 31012. I tested the new 7250e tethering feature, and it's as fast as the 7130e.
Offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 11:21 PM   #42
a4ken
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 7250
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yirong
it will not work. I have my upgraded to 31010, but it's for 7130e. The 7250e reads at 31012. I tested the new 7250e tethering feature, and it's as fast as the 7130e.
so just how fast is evdo 7250 tethered laptop gonna be ? i'm using dial up on the road and it kills me...
Offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 12:00 AM   #43
milkman1031
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
milkman1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 7250
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shanerrs
I have the newest PRL EVDO for bell 31010, is there any way to load this to the 7250?

thats what im trying to figure out how to do.. there is no way that i have found it sucks and my bell word still hassent gotten in the update stuff
__________________
Da Milkman

PIN :300F49DB
Offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 12:25 AM   #44
yirong
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4ken
so just how fast is evdo 7250 tethered laptop gonna be ? i'm using dial up on the road and it kills me...
It shows 300-500k. much better than the dial up or the 555 aircard.
Offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 07:04 AM   #45
omkhar
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9800
OS: 6.x
PIN: 0xDEADBEEF
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 412
Default Does 4.1 Bell SW == MMS ?

I know other manufactures have included MMS in thier 4.1 upgrades - anyword as to if Bell will be doing so on the 7250? The 7130 apparently has NO MMS features enabled.
Offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 10:45 AM   #46
CanuckMakem
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
CanuckMakem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Model: 8100
PIN: 205DDA2C
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_tm
TELUS is going to have the software upgrade as well... maybe sooner than Bell

1) Handheld code will need to be updated to 4.1 as usuall
2) A special process will be required to have the evdo...

Wait a bit... the process is coming...
I know.... where is it???
__________________
Blackberry Pearl 8100 (RED) - Rogers Wireless
Offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 05:27 PM   #47
omkhar
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9800
OS: 6.x
PIN: 0xDEADBEEF
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 412
Default

Do any of the folks working at Bellworld stores have any more info regarding this? I believe this coming Monday will mark two weeks since the original "intended" launch date. Seeing as they said (initially) that they were waiting two weeks, will we be happy campers on Monday?
Offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 01:59 AM   #48
yirong
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 19
Default

I will say another week or 2. I will post it as soon I see it in my store.
Offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 05:27 PM   #49
omkhar
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9800
OS: 6.x
PIN: 0xDEADBEEF
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 412
Default

Just got a voicemail from the Bell store I went to regarding the PRL update two weeks ago. The guy says that the update has been released to SELECT Bellworld stores and to call Bell to find out which stores had this capability. They (Newmarket - Upper Canada mall) did not. On hold with DATA-123 trying to find out who is able to do this.
Offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 09:59 PM   #50
Jase88
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo: Home of RIM
Model: PlayB
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 1,008
Default

This sucks...I'd rather be able to do a PRL update myself....Bell really needs to automate this process like other carriers, such as Verizon. Everytime I visit a Bell store, I can count on losing at least an hour of my life....
Offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 01:00 AM   #51
a4ken
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 7250
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omkhar
Just got a voicemail from the Bell store I went to regarding the PRL update two weeks ago. The guy says that the update has been released to SELECT Bellworld stores and to call Bell to find out which stores had this capability. They (Newmarket - Upper Canada mall) did not. On hold with DATA-123 trying to find out who is able to do this.
so did we find out which select stores have it ?
Offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 02:15 AM   #52
tflux
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 7250
Posts: 4
Default

I just picked up a 7250 in Edmonton last week and it still has 4.0 and the old PRL.

Anyone find a Bell store in Edmonton that has the upgrade to 4.1 / new PRL?
Offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 02:41 PM   #53
omkhar
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9800
OS: 6.x
PIN: 0xDEADBEEF
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 412
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7250/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/109 UP.Browser/5.0.3.3 UP.Link/5.1.2.1 UP.Link/1.1)

I got the vmail just as I landed at Pearson. By the time I came to customs I still hadn't gotten through and had to hang up (customs officers just didn't understand how important these things are!). I was too busy to try back afterwards - will try again today and post my results.
Offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 04:00 PM   #54
omkhar
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9800
OS: 6.x
PIN: 0xDEADBEEF
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 412
Default Latest Update - nothing new :-(

After over an HOUR! on hold for DATA-123 I received no new info.
The rep confirmed only select Bellworld stores would be able to perform the upgrade as it required special equipment*. He mentioned he did not have a list of these stores, but www.bell.ca/wirelessemail and www.businessonthego.ca should have updates as soon as these things are made available. He was unaware if there were any "flag ship" stores which recieved these kind of new products ahead of other stores. He expected that there would be an annoucement within 1-2 weeks. He believe the reason for the delay may have been due to training requirements in the call centre.

So... hurry up and wait

* Take this with a grain of salt, he also mentioned that I could try downloading the 4.1 OS for the 7130 eand try applying that to the 7250. I quickly explain why that wouldn't work, and he admitted that Blackberrys weren't his forte.
Offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 08:32 AM   #55
craeside
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 7250
Posts: 7
Default

I Just talked to bell this morning and apprantly the hold up is some red tape signing stuff with RIM as to how to accomplish the upgrades.I also asked if there was any hint as to when the upgrade might be ready the rep said know idea but as we all know its intended release was 27 March. Speculation on this might be that they are going to distribute the upgrade to exisitng 7250's through a network push as well as being prepared for instore upgrades should the network push not go as well as planned. I Was also told the upgrades should be FREE. Don't quote me on any of this as we all know how reliable some info is from on the phone reps but this guy seemed to have his ear to the ground so to speak. This information was as of this morning. So still we wait for EVDO and the abilitly to use our BB's as modems for laptops.
Offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 01:40 PM   #56
craeside
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 7250
Posts: 7
Default

Ok so here goes this little tidbit of info.
I donwloaded telstra 4.1 and installed it on my Bell BB. Let it do its reboot thing etc.
BB works mail phone etc and well I have now gotten further than before with using it as a modem. It will now at least connect and my laptop gets an IP address everything. except no data transfer through web browswer etc. i can ping the gateway but I think it might be the BB itself as I appear to get nothing from the outside world. This is the closest I have come yet don't know if anyone else has gone that far or further with a 7250 from bell without bells new software maybe I should also brick mine and get a new one
Offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 01:42 PM   #57
KonTiki
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
KonTiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.524
PIN: 007
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,762
Default

I dont know with Bell but with Verizon, the 4.1 OS and I have tried both the Telstra and the Sprint, do not support tethering.
__________________
BB Tour 9650


Running OS 6.0.0.524
Offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 01:43 PM   #58
mdthomas8
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Model: 7250
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by craeside
Ok so here goes this little tidbit of info.
I donwloaded telstra 4.1 and installed it on my Bell BB. Let it do its reboot thing etc.
BB works mail phone etc and well I have now gotten further than before with using it as a modem. It will now at least connect and my laptop gets an IP address everything. except no data transfer through web browswer etc. i can ping the gateway but I think it might be the BB itself as I appear to get nothing from the outside world. This is the closest I have come yet don't know if anyone else has gone that far or further with a 7250 from bell without bells new software maybe I should also brick mine and get a new one
I got to the same place... I get an IP address in the 10.x.x.x space, and can't ping anything. Although it does assign DNS servers via DHCP - they aren't responding, and my gateway is my own IP address...
Offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 02:04 PM   #59
omkhar
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9800
OS: 6.x
PIN: 0xDEADBEEF
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 412
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7250/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/109 UP.Browser/5.0.3.3 UP.Link/5.1.2.1 UP.Link/1.1)

Tethering will only be supported using the 4.1 sw plus new prl plus the voyageur sw from www.businessonthego.ca
Offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 02:42 PM   #60
A4X4
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
A4X4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8330
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 58
Default

You do not need the Voyageur software to do tethering. Just make sure you are running 4.1 software is the main thing. I am using it on a Telus network on both a 7250 and a 7130.

thanks,
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Ultrasonic Punching Machine Drilling Hole for Crystal/Glass/Agate/Jade/Emerald u
$520.0
Ultrasonic Punching Machine Drilling Hole for Crystal/Glass/Agate/Jade/Emerald u pictureCLEARBAGS CLERSA2 CRYSTAL CLEAR BAG 4 25X5 5STATIONERY25PC
$6.76
CLEARBAGS CLERSA2  CRYSTAL CLEAR BAG 4 25X5 5STATIONERY25PC picture12 Rolls Crystal Clear Packing Tape Refill Shipping Packaging Tape 2 Mil Perfect
$19.89
12 Rolls Crystal Clear Packing Tape Refill Shipping Packaging Tape 2 Mil Perfect pictureIvolador Crystal Glass Double Test Tube Vase in Triangle Wooden Stand for...
$35.5
Ivolador Crystal Glass Double Test Tube Vase in Triangle Wooden Stand for...  picture10mm Ultraviolet Quartz Fluorescent Cuvettes Cell Cuvette 3.5 mL 1PC
$21.0
10mm Ultraviolet Quartz Fluorescent Cuvettes Cell Cuvette 3.5 mL 1PC picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.