BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2006, 09:27 PM   #21
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator
 
Stinsonddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5,518
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by amassere
ah crap!!!back to the older version!!! I hate it!!! Correct me if im wrong, but with the new today theme, the main meau will be accessed from the middle button! correct?
Just use home screen shortcuts and you can still set two convenience keys.
__________________
Shortcuts Rule!! Download Link:[Stinsonddog's Blackberry Tips ] GET TORCHED
@ Stinsonddog
Offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 11:51 PM   #22
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amassere
ah crap!!!back to the older version!!! I hate it!!! Correct me if im wrong, but with the new today theme, the main meau will be accessed from the middle button! correct?
you will be able to scroll down to the very bottom and click on Menu. you will also have the option to set it to BlackBerry Applications List (which is listed as 'Default' although BlackBerry Browser is what was selected as my default).
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 11:56 PM   #23
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator
 
Stinsonddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5,518
Default

New OS also appears to allow you to turn Data off in network selection. Anyone else find any new features.
__________________
Shortcuts Rule!! Download Link:[Stinsonddog's Blackberry Tips ] GET TORCHED
@ Stinsonddog
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:10 AM   #24
Postalrecon
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Postalrecon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida
Model: N80
Posts: 327
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Another difference I've noticed is that before I used to hit alt+enter to lock the bb, now if you hit alt enter it allows you to change your language preference right there
__________________
My Blog

http://xninjax.vox.com/
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 09:53 AM   #25
arche3
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
arche3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NYC
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.113
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 105
Default browser???

can anyone confirm that the BB browser is indeed faster under BES in this OS version as opposed to the Bharti?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 09:56 AM   #26
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator
 
Stinsonddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arche3
can anyone confirm that the BB browser is indeed faster under BES in this OS version as opposed to the Bharti?

Thanks
I doubt that you can say it is. Too many variables. I have not noticed a WOW difference.
__________________
Shortcuts Rule!! Download Link:[Stinsonddog's Blackberry Tips ] GET TORCHED
@ Stinsonddog
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 10:15 AM   #27
Koperry
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Koperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX.
Model: 8700c
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 26
Default Features

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinsonddog
New OS also appears to allow you to turn Data off in network selection. Anyone else find any new features.
I've noticed when saving pictures from a link you have the option to save it as home screen when saving. I don't recall that before when saving.
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 01:52 PM   #28
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

Copying this thread to the 8700 forum.
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:47 PM   #29
Lex Luthor
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Lex Luthor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 9800
Carrier: xxx9824;xxx9824;xxx9824;xxx9824;xxx9824;
Posts: 1,620
Default

I'm waiting for the upgrade to finish. Looking forward to seeing if the Telstra vsn is better than the Bharti vsn.
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:17 PM   #30
Lex Luthor
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Lex Luthor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 9800
Carrier: xxx9824;xxx9824;xxx9824;xxx9824;xxx9824;
Posts: 1,620
Default

Upgrade finished successfully. I can't judge it yet as it's been too soon but so far all I can say is I like the Vodafone theme much better and the unit does seem a bit faster than Bharti. After a few days I'll know if I like the Telstra vsn better or not. Jibi thanks again on behalf of everyone for posting the alx file and link to download the Telstra OS.
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:28 PM   #31
cooperpwc
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
cooperpwc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: 8700R
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 1,001
Default

This is very tempting. But losing the option to turn the application names off in Zen is a real shame. I definitely use that option.
So can I assume that it defaults to showing the number of unread messages on the home screen? I hope so...
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:45 PM   #32
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

that it does.
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 06:04 PM   #33
TmoTech
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
TmoTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8700g
Posts: 64
Default

i went to dl thru the link at the top, and it says .371 on the web page, but the dl window that pops up says .309. whats up with that?
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 08:10 PM   #34
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator
 
Stinsonddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TmoTech
i went to dl thru the link at the top, and it says .371 on the web page, but the dl window that pops up says .309. whats up with that?
It's all in the first post:


Package Version: 4.1.0.371
Consisting of:
Applications: 4.1.0.309
Software Platform: 2.0.0.133
__________________
Shortcuts Rule!! Download Link:[Stinsonddog's Blackberry Tips ] GET TORCHED
@ Stinsonddog
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 08:19 PM   #35
Pizzle
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Pizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Florida
Model: 8310
PIN: T + PINT = QUART
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 2,385
Default

Jibi...you da man.

I'm frustrated that the names of the apps on the Zen home screen are non-hide-able, but I'm too much of a nerd not to get the latest and greatest OS on here.

Thanks for the detailed instructions on the process. Just upgraded with zero issues.

Oh, and to add to the "what's new" part, the little bolt on the battery when it's charging is red now, instead of blue. I realize this revelation is really lame, but I'm just trying to fit in. ;)
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 08:27 PM   #36
earpon
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
earpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Model: 8900
OS: v1.231
PIN: 24B4E64D
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 191
Default

I noticed that the Zen theme in this version is slower, there's a delay when you scroll thru the shortcuts on the side than the .284 that I used to have with the T-Mobile package.
__________________
Proud owner of a BB 8900.
YM: evwarpon, AIM: Tremor223
Txxx8729;xxx8729;xxx8729;Mobile ... Stick Together.
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 09:15 PM   #37
TmoTech
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
TmoTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8700g
Posts: 64
Default

gracias..
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 09:47 PM   #38
TmoTech
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
TmoTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8700g
Posts: 64
Default

I got an error that says: The application "browser" cannot be loaded, because it requires the following applications that are not available: net.rim.blackberry.xml any help would be greatly appreciated!
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 09:52 PM   #39
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator
 
Stinsonddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TmoTech
I got an error that says: The application "browser" cannot be loaded, because it requires the following applications that are not available: net.rim.blackberry.xml any help would be greatly appreciated!

Did you get that during the install or after when you started to use the browser?
__________________
Shortcuts Rule!! Download Link:[Stinsonddog's Blackberry Tips ] GET TORCHED
@ Stinsonddog
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 09:53 PM   #40
TmoTech
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
TmoTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8700g
Posts: 64
Default

i got that during app loader, when i hit next to get to the finish button..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Used FANUC A20B-3300-0255 CPU board tested It In Good Condition
$825.76
Used FANUC A20B-3300-0255 CPU board tested It In Good Condition pictureNew Schneider Modicon CPU 140-CPU-434-12A 140CPU43412A PLC 1 year warranty
$3543.0
New Schneider Modicon CPU 140-CPU-434-12A 140CPU43412A PLC 1 year warranty picture1PC USED FANUC Analog Input Module IC695CPU310 Tested It In Good Condition
$1214.62
1PC USED FANUC Analog Input Module IC695CPU310 Tested It In Good Condition pictureUSED Fanuc 1PC IC695CPU310-FS plc Tested In Good Condition
$1338.56
USED Fanuc 1PC IC695CPU310-FS plc Tested In Good Condition picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.