BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2006, 01:46 PM   #461
BBJunkie
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Here
Model: Curve
PIN: No thankyou
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 205
Default BIS 2.o?

Please Login to Remove!

Ok, I have to ask a very crazy question. What does the new feature offer than the other does not offer? Is there a good place to view this information?
__________________
Love your BlackBerry.......Take it out of the closet and put it to work TODAY.
Offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 07:05 PM   #462
mikegold
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Jersey
Model: 9630
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 137
Default

Changed my plan from the $44.95/month to the new BIS Unl for $29.95

I have also been using citynet/myblackberry for BES service and have had no problems with using verichat, the blackberry browser, Opera, etc.

Now that I have had Cingular switch me over I can't get online on the blackberry/internet browser, opera or verichat. I entered the TCP info as indicated in Mark's FAQ which got BBWeather working but still no luck on the others.

Any clues?
Offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 04:20 PM   #463
mikegold
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Jersey
Model: 9630
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 137
Default

Is there anyone out there who has switched to the new BIS plan and is still able to use Verichat?

I can't get Verichat or Opera Mini to work since switching.
Offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 06:06 PM   #464
atuarre
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lake Charles, LA and College Station, TX
Model: 9550
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 347
Default Re

I was just talking to Cingular -

Umm - the lesser price for 2.0 is if you are not running are using a full BES

You still have to pay the full price if you are using a BES.

BIS 2.0 is reduced in cost only if you are using just the internet and limited mail.

So even if I upgraded, I will be paying the same price.
Offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 06:44 PM   #465
hf1khal
CrackBerry Addict
 
hf1khal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ashburn, VA
Model: 8900
Carrier: At&T
Posts: 906
Default

I was on the $45 (with voice) plan and runing on BIS 1.8 and no BES. I changed my plan to the $29.99 and stayed on BIS 1.8 and so far I am not changing over to 2.0. With the personal plan I now can use Opera Mini while before I could not. So, the only diference between the 2 regardless if one is using 1.8 or 2.0 is BES acccess only on the personal while the $45 is for BES access along with the BIS access.
__________________
BB 8800c / 8100c / 8700c / iphone3G
Offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 08:27 PM   #466
JohnJohn
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
JohnJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Castle Rock, Colorado
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegold
Is there anyone out there who has switched to the new BIS plan and is still able to use Verichat?

I can't get Verichat or Opera Mini to work since switching.

I just got my bill. $29.99 using 2.0 BIS and still using Verichat without issue.
__________________
JohnJohn
PocketUp Editor

8300 BB - iPhone - HTC8925 - DS
Offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 08:30 PM   #467
mikegold
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Jersey
Model: 9630
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnJohn
I just got my bill. $29.99 using 2.0 BIS and still using Verichat without issue.
What version of Verichat are you using? Which TCP settings?
Offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 08:34 PM   #468
JohnJohn
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
JohnJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Castle Rock, Colorado
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegold
What version of Verichat are you using? Which TCP settings?
Version: 2.68b
wap.cingular
wap.cingulargprs.com
********* not sure of the password: cingular1 ???
__________________
JohnJohn
PocketUp Editor

8300 BB - iPhone - HTC8925 - DS
Offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 08:38 PM   #469
mikegold
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Jersey
Model: 9630
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnJohn
Version: 2.68b
wap.cingular
wap.cingulargprs.com
********* not sure of the password: cingular1 ???
I'm using the same settings and same version of Verichat yet I keep getting a "failed to transmit" error.

I wonder if it has anything to do with the fact that I had been using a hosted BES before?

Cingular says nothing is wrong on their end yet I can't get this working.
Offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 10:15 PM   #470
endodoc
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NYC
Model: 8700c
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegold
I'm using the same settings and same version of Verichat yet I keep getting a "failed to transmit" error.

I wonder if it has anything to do with the fact that I had been using a hosted BES before?

Cingular says nothing is wrong on their end yet I can't get this working.
I had the same issue. I had to call Cing data support and they had a associate a account with bla bla bla bla bla.. I have no idea what they said or did, but they were abel to fix it. I just restarted and it was ok.
Offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 09:29 AM   #471
mikegold
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Jersey
Model: 9630
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by endodoc
I had the same issue. I had to call Cing data support and they had a associate a account with bla bla bla bla bla.. I have no idea what they said or did, but they were abel to fix it. I just restarted and it was ok.
I've called Cingular support twice and both times was told that they show no problems and that I would have to call the software vendors to find out why it wasn't working!

I explained that the apps were working before the plan change but they have no clue.

I'm going to try a complete handset wipe.

Edit: That did the trick...all is well.

Last edited by mikegold; 07-18-2006 at 11:37 AM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

ADS1118 16-bit Analog to Digital Converter Application for Computer
$6.69
ADS1118 16-bit Analog to Digital Converter Application for Computer  picture1pc 16-bit analog-to-digital converter Application for Computer
$7.3
1pc 16-bit analog-to-digital converter Application for Computer  pictureADS1118 16-bit Analog to Digital Converter Application for Computer
$8.6
ADS1118 16-bit Analog to Digital Converter Application for Computer picture1pc 16-bit analog-to-digital converter Application for Computer
$8.73
1pc 16-bit analog-to-digital converter Application for Computer pictureLoad Cell Amplifier HX711 Computer Component
$18.6
Load Cell Amplifier HX711  Computer Component picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.