BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2006, 09:22 AM   #21
h-town8
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 8700g
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 28
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Thanks to everyone who chimed in. Obviously a lot of different reasons that I hadn't considered.

I do kinda like the idea of having a Razor to slip in the back pocket on weekends, etc.

I am happy to hear though that's it not a functionality issue with the 8700, but more circumstantial as to why some are carrying 2 phones.

Thanks again.
Offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 09:55 AM   #22
stripesace
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
stripesace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Model: 8300
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 392
Default

I'm looking at adding another line to my family plan just to get the discount on a second phone. An extra 10 bucks a month aint bad, and I would probably still use both lines.
__________________
John
Offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 10:14 AM   #23
zarza
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tumon Bay, GU
Model: 9000
Carrier: docomo Pacific, Guam
Posts: 191
Default

I went from 2 phones to 3, and back to 2.

I had a T-Mobile SIM provided by work, the 8700g was my personal phone.
I then made the 8700g data-only and got a Sprint A900 for my phone service so I could easily leave the BB at home, so then I had 3, which really sucked at work. I now have converged the Sprint line onto a 7130e, and will be dropping the 8700g service. It comes out less per month, plus Sprint allows tethering at no cost, which will be great for when I am back on the road. I still have the work SIM in a Samsung E880 right now.
Offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 10:37 AM   #24
nuopus
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mesa, AZ
Model: 8100c
PIN: 2406A5FB
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h-town8
In reading some of the threads up here the last couple of days I've noticed that a few people say they carry a "secondary" phone in addition to their 8700.

I'm just curious as to why.

Is it just to separate your personal and business phone? Is it because you like having the latest toys (who doesn't!). Or, more relevantly, is it because the 8700 is in some way inadequate when used as a phone (some on the street say it's a great organizer/e-mailer but mediocre phone).

I have no desire to carry two devices, hence my desire for a smartphone, so again I'm just curious to know as I make my decision on the next big cell phone purchase.

Thanks,
Chris
I teach at a local college and need to be open so that my students can get a hold of me or I can get a hold of them. There are no phones in the classroom. Reason for BlackBerry is to have a separate number for students and staff (work reasons) as well as keep track of tons of work related email. My other mobile is for personal usage.

I dare not give my personal phone to students for obvious reasons.
Offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 10:48 AM   #25
Jared
Urban Outdoorsman
 
Jared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Brooklyn
Model: 9700
OS: 6.x
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 162
Default

I have two phone as well... MY 8700g w/ TMO for work and my Verizon Samsung a890. I'm sorry but Verizon's service is far superior to that of T-Mobile. Plus, as said before, I can leave my work at home!
__________________

7230 -> 8700 -> 9000 -> 9700
BES Admin (BES Express)
@jarbro
Offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 11:12 AM   #26
EricaJ1074
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 7105t
Posts: 981
Default

Picking up a small TracFone for minutes only as I want to continue using the BlackBerry for data only plus I can't carry the BB everywhere so I need a smaller phone for travelling. Although I may activate my 7100t for voice only on an additional line LOL I have a 7730 but I don't like the idea of talking on a flat pancake LMAO
__________________
PIN: 23CF4BE6
Yahoo: ericablackberry
GTalk: ericablackberry

Last edited by EricaJ1074; 06-09-2006 at 03:44 AM..
Offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 05:10 PM   #27
bigdaadio
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
bigdaadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Too far from reality
Model: Tour
PIN: chin pennies
Carrier: sprint
Posts: 159
Default

I carry 2 phones because the audio(voice) quality of my 8700 is garbage. Are other users finding that the 8700 has NO noise cancelling at all? If I am in a car with moderate road noise or in a slightly loud public gathering place the phone portion of the 8700 is JUNK. I have talked with a few other 8700 users who experience the same results. Would someone who has an 8700 that they are happy with be willing to give me a call so I can hear how your audio sounds?
Pin me at 203C5B5D with your number or I will send back mine whichever you prefer....
..
Thanks
Bigdaadio
Offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 09:33 PM   #28
rjhouck
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Texas
Model: 7130c
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdaadio
I carry 2 phones because the audio(voice) quality of my 8700 is garbage. Are other users finding that the 8700 has NO noise cancelling at all? If I am in a car with moderate road noise or in a slightly loud public gathering place the phone portion of the 8700 is JUNK. I have talked with a few other 8700 users who experience the same results. Would someone who has an 8700 that they are happy with be willing to give me a call so I can hear how your audio sounds?
Pin me at 203C5B5D with your number or I will send back mine whichever you prefer....
..
Thanks
Bigdaadio
bigdaadio, I completely agree with you. The BB 8700 has NO noise cancelling at all. I do a lot of driving and people always complained of the background noise. The plantronics 645 helps quite a bit but there is still noise in the background.

My friend has a Razr and i cannot tell he is driving in a car when I call him. I may have to buy a Razr and carry two phones but i hate the idea.
__________________
Apple IPhone
Jawbone
Nokia BH-900
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 03:15 AM   #29
bacco007
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: Telstra
Posts: 13
Default

I have 3 phones

Primary - Motorola v3 (on Telstra GSM)
Secondary - 7730, hopefully 8700c tomorrow (on Vodafone GSM)
Tertiary - Motorola a840 (on Telstra CDMA)

Reasons? - I went to Blackberry earlier this year, but the voice costs on my Telstra 2in1 (CDMA & GSM) plan is cheaper then on vodafone
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 11:01 AM   #30
Winston S.
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8900
OS: 5.0.0.509
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 272
Default

I actually carry my 8700g and a separate PDA because I don't find the PIM and third party apps for the BB to be sufficient.
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 11:04 AM   #31
Donna
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Donna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Maryland
Model: 9650
PIN: t / Quart
Carrier: VZ
Posts: 203
Default

I currently carry 3 BlackBerrys:

7130e and 7105t for work
7520 for personal
__________________
Donna
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 11:12 AM   #32
longshot
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Model: Tour
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 109
Default

I carry a T-Mobile 8700 and a Verizon RAZR for voice. Reason Blackberrys suck for voice
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 11:13 AM   #33
ndub33
Stuck In The '70's Mod
 
ndub33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The 'burbs east of Seattle.
Model: 9810
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 7,600
Default

I have my 7290 and an old Nokia 3660 that I keep stored to use as backups, but my 7100t is my primary device.
__________________
1st Step in Troubleshooting: Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan?
2nd Step in Troubleshooting: Pull the Battery.
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:02 PM   #34
Tennvol
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NoVA
Model: 8320
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 204
Default

TMobile 8700g and a Verizon cell phone. Smaller cell phone is better when I go mountain biking. I dont mind if I can't get emails but I always need to be able to make a phone call.
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:36 PM   #35
Bennett5000
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Bennett5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Texas
Model: 8900
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 118
Default

Does everyone use a separate phone number? So you have 2 or 3 different phone numbers?
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:45 PM   #36
wlriv
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 8700
Posts: 5
Default

i carry two cells - one for each company i am involved with.

8700 is a tmo, and for my clothing business
a900 is a sprint, and is for the consumer reporting business
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:53 PM   #37
mobilecontrol
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida
Model: 8700g
Posts: 100
Default

My queston is, if you have more than one cell phone...why the hell do you have different service providers? I have 3 phones, all T-Mobile...I don't need to have T-Mobile, Sprint, Verzion, etc. That makes no sense to me, especially when you can just purchase any unlocked phones you want online if you need different shapes and sizes or features for different purposes.
__________________
RIM BlackBerry

T-Mobile:

- 8100 (rockin' the demo!), 8700g, 7100t, 6230
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:54 PM   #38
Donna
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Donna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Maryland
Model: 9650
PIN: t / Quart
Carrier: VZ
Posts: 203
Default

I carry a BlackBerry for each vendor we support - Verizon, T-Mobile, NEXTEL. Makes it easier for troubleshooting and user training.
__________________
Donna
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 01:27 PM   #39
Winston S.
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8900
OS: 5.0.0.509
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilecontrol
My queston is, if you have more than one cell phone...why the hell do you have different service providers? I have 3 phones, all T-Mobile...I don't need to have T-Mobile, Sprint, Verzion, etc. That makes no sense to me, especially when you can just purchase any unlocked phones you want online if you need different shapes and sizes or features for different purposes.
One reason could be for coverage. If you were to wander into an area with no T-mobile coverage none of your phones would work whereas someone with two different service providers could have at least one working phone.
Offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 02:51 PM   #40
wlriv
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 8700
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilecontrol
My queston is, if you have more than one cell phone...why the hell do you have different service providers? I have 3 phones, all T-Mobile...I don't need to have T-Mobile, Sprint, Verzion, etc. That makes no sense to me, especially when you can just purchase any unlocked phones you want online if you need different shapes and sizes or features for different purposes.
ive had sprint for the last couple of years.

needed a BB (had a treo 650 that was too buggy), fell in love with the 8700 (sprint doesnt offer it), and the rest, as they say - is history
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

10pcs Blackberry Trackball Breakout Board Four spindles 2.5V~5.25V
$50.99
10pcs Blackberry Trackball Breakout Board Four spindles 2.5V~5.25V picture38 Faux Blackberries With Stems, Decor, Realistic Food Display, Prop
$17.99
38 Faux Blackberries With Stems, Decor, Realistic Food Display, Prop  pictureCamaro Women's Titanium Overall 5mm Wetsuits, Black/Berry, Large/42
$219.0
Camaro Women's Titanium Overall 5mm Wetsuits, Black/Berry, Large/42 pictureFaber-Castell 3-in-1 Grip Trio Sharpener, Blackberry (FBR770307)
$12.83
Faber-Castell 3-in-1 Grip Trio Sharpener, Blackberry (FBR770307) pictureFake food - Berries over 25 Raspberries Blackberries - display prop decoration
$18.0
Fake food - Berries over 25 Raspberries Blackberries - display prop decoration picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.