BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2007, 09:24 PM   #21
Jack T. Chance
CrackBerry Addict
 
Jack T. Chance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East Coast, USA
Model: Priv
OS: 5.1.1
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 502
Exclamation

Please Login to Remove!

AT&T has just updated their website's drop-down listing. It no longer lists a version for the "8700g". It now lists 2 versions, one for "8700c(TM)" and "8700c(AT&T)". Which is the version I'm supposed to pick to ensure full compatibility with my T-Mo 8700g? Or does it matter one way or the other?

EDIT: Nevermind, I figured it out. In case anyone else is wondering, the "(TM)"
version gives you version 4.1 of the OS, while the "(AT&T)" version gives you version 4.2. So, that's that. I know which one to d/l and try.
__________________
Jack T. Chance's BlackBerry 8700 & 8900 Wallpapers

Don't steal other people's avatars! Make your own! >=(

Last edited by Jack T. Chance; 06-15-2007 at 09:37 PM..
Offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 09:35 PM   #22
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Just use whichever one has the 4.2.1.96 version available for download. It looks like it's now the 8700c (AT&T) version now. I'm not sure why they're doing that.
Offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 10:12 AM   #23
ghoticov
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 40
Default Instructions?

Could someone please post detailed instructions on how to install this software? (or point me to a thread showing how to do it). For instance, would I need to delete the vendor file like with the other versions? or since I am on Cingular, do I not have to do that?

This is the first time I have ever install new software on my 8700c, I don't even have Desktop Manager installed because my IT guys at work have always done it.

I do know I am on BES so hopefully that is not an issue.

Thanks!
Offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 10:33 AM   #24
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

There are literally hundreds of threads where I have posted instructions on installing a new OS. Also, the instructions are posted in the first post. I recommend always deleting the vendor.xml file that way there is no problem installing the OS.

If you are on BES then you will need to do another Enterprise Activation after upgrading the software. Simply contact your BES admins and ask for an activation password. If you are connected to your email system and the Desktop Manager has been installed correctly then the Enterprise Activation will start automatically when the upgrade is finished. If it's not setup correctly then you'll need a password set by your BES admins.
Offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 10:42 AM   #25
ghoticov
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
There are literally hundreds of threads where I have posted instructions on installing a new OS. Also, the instructions are posted in the first post. I recommend always deleting the vendor.xml file that way there is no problem installing the OS.

If you are on BES then you will need to do another Enterprise Activation after upgrading the software. Simply contact your BES admins and ask for an activation password. If you are connected to your email system and the Desktop Manager has been installed correctly then the Enterprise Activation will start automatically when the upgrade is finished. If it's not setup correctly then you'll need a password set by your BES admins.
Thanks John.

Are you saying that I will FOR SURE need a password for Enterprise Activation or are you saying that it may be set up (if set up correctly) where I don't need a password? Reason being, if I do it today, my IT guys are not working.
Offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 11:03 AM   #26
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Can you connect to your corporate mail from home? If so, install Desktop Manager for use with BES and the email system your company uses. Then connect as you would to get your email i.e. VPN, LAN, etc. When you open Desktop Manager it should link up with your email profile. At the bottom of Desktop Manager it should say "Connected" (meaning the BB is connected) and "Online" (meaning you are online with your email profile.)

If this is your first time I don't recommend doing it over the weekend if you can't get a hold of your IT guys. That could leave you all weekend with no email.
Offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 03:52 PM   #27
OVERKILL
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
OVERKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1.0.391
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 205
Default

Running it now, only took my BB 10 minutes to reboot the first time.
__________________
950->5810->6280->7280->7290->8700->8310->9000->9800->9780->9900
BES Admin
Network Engineer
Blackberry user since 2001.
Offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 04:26 PM   #28
flash24
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
flash24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1
PIN: 3319688F
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,178
Default

Booting times seems faster with this OS
__________________
http://twitter.com/billydasco

Proud to Serve USAF
Offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 07:37 PM   #29
krest
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2 uk
Posts: 3
Default

if i install this on my blackberry (8700g) does this mean it i will be able to you any sim card on it because right now its locked on to 02 uk

Last edited by John Clark; 06-16-2007 at 07:41 PM..
Offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 07:42 PM   #30
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

No, this does not remove the sim card lock on the device.
Offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 07:42 PM   #31
krest
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2 uk
Posts: 3
Default how to make my blackberry able to use all sim cards

if i install this on my blackberry (8700g) does this mean it i will be able to you any sim card on it because right now its locked on to 02 uk

Last edited by John Clark; 06-16-2007 at 07:48 PM..
Offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 07:48 PM   #32
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

krest,
There is no need to quote the first post. We all know what you are talking about. It clutters up the thread and if the link change then they won't change in your quote.

I already answered your question. This will not unlock your phone for use with other sim cards.
Offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:58 PM   #33
jeproks
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MD
Model: BOLD
OS: 4.6.0.XXX
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 48
Default

I just tried this version and my 8700c still does the on/off on the speaker which sounds like clicking when I put my ear close to it. Anybody gets the same thing on theirs? TIA
Offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 11:34 PM   #34
IceCreaMan
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
IceCreaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Model: 8700c
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 34
Default

very nice!!! ill wait til i come back from vacation to load the new os... to be honest i skipped this thread because i thought it was the previous 4.2 release... go figure
__________________
8700c modded with an 8700v case
Offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 02:24 AM   #35
Jack T. Chance
CrackBerry Addict
 
Jack T. Chance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East Coast, USA
Model: Priv
OS: 5.1.1
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 502
Default

Well everyone, I tried 4.2... for about an hour or 2. I hated it. I need to get to bed, so I'll be brief right now. I'll fill in the rest of the story in a day or 2. But long story short, it actually IMPAIRED some of the functions I use. And I had a HORRIBLE night/early morning because of it. Just getting my rolled back to 4.1.0.346 was far more of a hassle than it should've been. But I'll tell that story later. For now, I'll just say that 4.2 gets a big, fat HELL NO from me!
__________________
Jack T. Chance's BlackBerry 8700 & 8900 Wallpapers

Don't steal other people's avatars! Make your own! >=(
Offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:00 AM   #36
dkf747
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: DC area
Model: 8520
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 527
Default

YMMV, but I love 4.2 over 4.1.
__________________
--
Scott!
T-Mobile 8520
Offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:21 AM   #37
Nugeesky
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8700C
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by will6007 View Post
Software For BlackBerry 8700c(AT&T)

BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.2.1.155 (Multilanguage)

Package Version: 4.2.1.155
Consisting of:
Applications: 4.2.1.96
Software Platform: 2.3.0.79
File name: 8700M_PBr4.2.1_rel155_PL2.3.0.79_A4.2.1.96_AT&T.ex e
File size: 61.77MB
Note: The Software Platform and Applications version numbers can be found under Options-About screen on the handheld.


Downloadxxx65306;https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...E4F82F9F00E7D4

Instructions for installing:

1. Make sure you have the latest version of Desktop Manager installed. It's 4.2 SP2.
2. Download the above file to the PC then install it to the PC by running the file you downloaded. (Choose the 8700c AT&T version)
3. Locate the vendor.xml file and delete it. It's located in c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader
4. Plug in BB and Open Desktop Manager. You should be prompted to upgrade.

The process takes about 45 minutes to an hour depending on how much data you have to backup and restore during the process. Once it's done loading the new OS it will reboot (it may do this twice during the entire process.) You will see a white screen with an hourglass for up to 20 minutes at a time while the DM says "waiting for initialization."

If you end up with a white screen with small icons and the number 507, simply connect to DM again and run application loader again and it should load the OS to the device.

(Previous 4.2.1.94 OS thread: Click Here)


Edited Blackberry.alx below for adding all vendor themes. Simply replace your Blackberry.alx file with the one attached and run Application Loader again to install the themes.
How do you install the backberry.zip, got errors while try to uploading.
Offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:42 AM   #38
ahidalgo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 31
Default Still losing audio

I have tried every 4.2 release and on them all I have a random problem of losing audio without dropping the connection. I have tried multiple 8700g (t-mobile) and even a new sim card.

I would love to use 4.2 but the phone has to be reliable!

Al

Last edited by ahidalgo; 06-19-2007 at 09:49 AM..
Offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 11:52 AM   #39
bjallen2880
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
bjallen2880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: None
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahidalgo View Post
I have tried every 4.2 release and on them all I have a random problem of losing audio without dropping the connection. I have tried multiple 8700g (t-mobile) and even a new sim card.

I would love to use 4.2 but the phone has to be reliable!

Al
This is why T-Mobile hasn't released 4.2 for their 8700. Perhaps there is some sort of incompatibility between the cell tower and a configuration in the 4.2 software?

This happened before when the 7100t first came out. AT&T and T-Mobile had a problem with a particular software revision and a particular type of technology used in their towers which caused the device to reboot on it's own.
Offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:47 PM   #40
jetspeedz
CrackBerry Addict
 
jetspeedz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: 9900
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 603
Default

is this version laggy like the previous 4.2's specifically like the 8800?? That is why im still sticking with 8700 and 4.1 right now till a non laggy version is available or 9xxx comes comes
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Lot of 10 LSI-Seagate 2TB 7.2K SAS 3.5" SED Server Hard Drive 6Gb/s ST32000445SS
$49.99
Lot of 10 LSI-Seagate 2TB 7.2K SAS 3.5AAPE-22SCXA Teapots & Coffee Servers Air Pot Beverage Dispenser, 2.2 Liters, In
$70.99
AAPE-22SCXA Teapots & Coffee Servers Air Pot Beverage Dispenser, 2.2 Liters, In pictureOf Course Holographic Glitter Server Book for Waitress and Waiter Zipper Pocket
$17.68
Of Course Holographic Glitter Server Book for Waitress and Waiter Zipper Pocket pictureVisix Server Axis TV Channel Player 2.80 Ghz 2 Gb Ddr3 250 Gb Intel Pentium G695
$59.99
Visix Server Axis TV Channel Player 2.80 Ghz 2 Gb Ddr3 250 Gb Intel Pentium G695 picture50 new Restaurant Guest Check Book Holder Money Server Apron Waitress Checkbook
$45.0
50 new Restaurant Guest Check Book Holder Money Server Apron Waitress Checkbook picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.