BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2007, 04:17 PM   #41
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Please Login to Remove!

You deleted the vendor.xml?
Offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 04:27 PM   #42
DallasFlier
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
DallasFlier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.666
PIN: OT NOIR
Carrier: AT&T/Cingular/AT&T
Posts: 1,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
You deleted the vendor.xml?
Oops, and I knew that too! Thanks John, for the VERY quick response - its installing now.
__________________
Top 50 Year Win%: Nebraska-.785 tOSU-.768 Penn St-.740
Oklahoma-.740 Texas-.733 Alabama-.729 Michigan-.724 USC-.723
Dominance! The HUSKER Tradition!
Offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 07:26 PM   #43
Chainring
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Chainring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Model: 8900
OS: 5.0.0.461
PIN: 20ED0AAB
Carrier: T-Mobile US
Posts: 24
Default

I'm on T-Mobile US, using an 8800 and upgrading to this release (Vodafone 101). Do I use the edited BlackBerry.alx and LBS.alx from T-Mobile or Vodafone?
Offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 03:11 AM   #44
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Use the .alx that matches your OS version number under the correct BB model number (pay little attention to the carrier name.)
Offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 11:11 PM   #45
AuroraProject
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 61
Default

Just curious, what exactly does the Vendor.xml file do?
Offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:21 PM   #46
Je55
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 16
Default

Im on T-Mobile,

I think there is a conflict with this software and the T-Mobile network because my audio drops out regularly to where people cant hear me after a long conversation for about 10-20 seconds.

This was never the case on the older OS I was using,

Anyone else experiencing this?
Offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 02:43 PM   #47
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AuroraProject View Post
Just curious, what exactly does the Vendor.xml file do?
The vendor.xml file simply tells Desktop Manager to only load that carrier's OS to that carrier's model BB. Nothing is lost by removing it.
Offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 03:09 PM   #48
Chainring
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Chainring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Model: 8900
OS: 5.0.0.461
PIN: 20ED0AAB
Carrier: T-Mobile US
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Je55 View Post
Im on T-Mobile,

I think there is a conflict with this software and the T-Mobile network because my audio drops out regularly to where people cant hear me after a long conversation for about 10-20 seconds.

This was never the case on the older OS I was using,

Anyone else experiencing this?
Not a bit. My reception and call quality are great.
Offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 03:10 PM   #49
jl2snooks
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 20
Default

I recently upgraded to the BB 8800 from ATT and was told about this forum from the sales agent. If I upgrade the OS as described above do I download all three downloads and install or do I download and install indvidually? Thanks for your help.

Last edited by jl2snooks; 07-20-2007 at 03:12 PM..
Offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 11:22 AM   #50
hf1khal
CrackBerry Addict
 
hf1khal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ashburn, VA
Model: 8900
Carrier: At&T
Posts: 906
Default

well after a few days with this OS and a couple of re-installs (screen balnks here and there for a second and SMS takes time to go, web is slower and getting errors) now I think I am going to try the AT&T release and see what happens with that one.
__________________
BB 8800c / 8100c / 8700c / iphone3G
Offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 11:29 AM   #51
fonejunkie
Just me
 
fonejunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: iFone
OS: iOS4
PIN: Not on my iPhone5
Carrier: iPhone5 on AT&T Mobility
Posts: 2,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hf1khal View Post
well after a few days with this OS and a couple of re-installs (screen balnks here and there for a second and SMS takes time to go, web is slower and getting errors) now I think I am going to try the AT&T release and see what happens with that one.
Did the AT&T OS fix the problems you were having?
Offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 11:31 AM   #52
hf1khal
CrackBerry Addict
 
hf1khal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ashburn, VA
Model: 8900
Carrier: At&T
Posts: 906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fonejunkie View Post
Did the AT&T OS fix the problems you were having?
Have not had the time to do it yet plus I wanted to give it a couple more days. I will be doing that tonight once things settle ont he work front.
__________________
BB 8800c / 8100c / 8700c / iphone3G
Offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 12:47 PM   #53
chrisb3
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
chrisb3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.151
PIN: 3048984C
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 247
Default

Hey John,

Is this:

BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.2.1.103 (Multilanguage)

Package Version: 4.2.1.103
Consisting of:

* Applications: 4.2.1.68
* Software Platform: 2.3.0.54
* File name: 8800M_PBr4.2.1_rel103_PL2.3.0.54_A4.2.1.68_Voda_UK .exe
* File size: 69.29MB

newer or older than the Vodafone GER one?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 02:38 PM   #54
BrooklynzFinest
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Brooklyn NY
Model: 8320
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisb3 View Post
Hey John,

Is this:

BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.2.1.103 (Multilanguage)

Package Version: 4.2.1.103
Consisting of:

* Applications: 4.2.1.68
* Software Platform: 2.3.0.54
* File name: 8800M_PBr4.2.1_rel103_PL2.3.0.54_A4.2.1.68_Voda_UK .exe
* File size: 69.29MB

newer or older than the Vodafone GER one?

Thanks

Older - Vodafone is App 4.2.1.101
Offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 07:57 AM   #55
hf1khal
CrackBerry Addict
 
hf1khal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ashburn, VA
Model: 8900
Carrier: At&T
Posts: 906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fonejunkie View Post
Did the AT&T OS fix the problems you were having?
So far the at&t version has been holding good. But telenav stoped working and I had to download the newer version. Still having a bit of an issue when it comes to media net and browser connection as it is taking a long time (side by side on another BB, theother wored and mine came back no connection).
__________________
BB 8800c / 8100c / 8700c / iphone3G
Offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 11:26 AM   #56
JEEPers
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.225
PIN: 22C60153
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 144
Default

I had the same problem with slower load speeds. I kinda just attribute it to the large number of iPhone ppl using up the EDGE bandwidth. AT&T programmed their towers to give priority to iPhone users who loading web content etc ...
Offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:15 AM   #57
RicoTheBold
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Je55 View Post
Im on T-Mobile,

I think there is a conflict with this software and the T-Mobile network because my audio drops out regularly to where people cant hear me after a long conversation for about 10-20 seconds.

This was never the case on the older OS I was using,

Anyone else experiencing this?
I am experiencing this exact problem. It's super obnoxious. A google search (that took me to pinstack) leads me to believe that it is a software issue with some of these versions, but depending on what region you're in (I'm in Denver), you might not run into it. I'm going to load the old T-mobile OS back on when I get home from work, hopefully it will go away.

Last edited by RicoTheBold; 07-26-2007 at 10:18 AM..
Offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:51 AM   #58
pframirez
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 7
Default OTA update

are you able to upgrade OTA?
Offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 11:18 AM   #59
parisot
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
parisot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: Doesn’t matter
Carrier: Centennial
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pframirez View Post
are you able to upgrade OTA?
no, you must download the file onto your computer and install it with the desktop manager.
Offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 02:17 PM   #60
DallasFlier
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
DallasFlier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.666
PIN: OT NOIR
Carrier: AT&T/Cingular/AT&T
Posts: 1,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEEPers View Post
I had the same problem with slower load speeds. I kinda just attribute it to the large number of iPhone ppl using up the EDGE bandwidth. AT&T programmed their towers to give priority to iPhone users who loading web content etc ...
Color me skeptical on that. Is that just a rumor you heard, or can you point to some solid evidence and statements to that effect somewhere? I'm generally doubting that's true, but **if** it is, and the Apple fanboys with iPhones are really being given preference over long-term AT&T-->Cingular-->AT&T customers, then I'd sure like to know it to raise holy hell with them. FWIW, I haven't seen any noticable differences in speed before/after the iPhone release date.
__________________
Top 50 Year Win%: Nebraska-.785 tOSU-.768 Penn St-.740
Oklahoma-.740 Texas-.733 Alabama-.729 Michigan-.724 USC-.723
Dominance! The HUSKER Tradition!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Three-Phase Digital Thyristor Trigger Plate/Board TSCR-B
$89.99
Three-Phase Digital Thyristor Trigger Plate/Board TSCR-B pictureEurotherm 7100A 16A Thyristor Power Controller 230V en 60947-4-3
$134.94
Eurotherm 7100A 16A Thyristor Power Controller 230V en 60947-4-3 picture5Pcs BT134-600E BT134-600 Triacs Thyristor 600V 4A TO-126 ih
$1.17
5Pcs BT134-600E BT134-600 Triacs Thyristor 600V 4A TO-126 ih picture50Pcs BT134-600E BT134-600 Triacs Thyristor 600V 4A TO-126 cr
$5.05
50Pcs BT134-600E BT134-600 Triacs Thyristor 600V 4A TO-126 cr pictureNew IXYS MCC431-22io2 MCC Dual THYRISTOR MODULE w/ Bus Bolts SCR 800A, 2200 PIV
$75.0
New IXYS MCC431-22io2  MCC Dual THYRISTOR MODULE w/ Bus Bolts SCR 800A, 2200 PIV picture






Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.