BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2007, 11:41 PM   #41
shrp
New Member
 
shrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Big D (Dallas, TX)
Model: 8700g
Carrier: The T-Mob
Posts: 8
Default I Agree . . .

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by blinksilver View Post
So is it me of the new browser seem to format much better then the first 4.2 release? I mean much much better, website seem much more true to there original configuration. So much so that I don't feel the need to install opera 4, I am using slighty different setting then I have in the past, but don't think that they are effecting anything.

Also does this release seem to be more of a ram hog, but less of a battery killler. It just seems like everything is a tiny bit better, maybe its in my head.

I think this OS is hogging my RAM. Now I wish I had an external card to add media . . . I guess I'll be upgrading soon . . .
__________________
New Berry right around the corner!, As soon as my wife says OK! - SHRP
Offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 09:02 AM   #42
jeremyckitching
BlackBerry B Boy
 
jeremyckitching's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.415
PIN: 215BE1F8
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.A.
Posts: 4,243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrp View Post
I think this OS is hogging my RAM. Now I wish I had an external card to add media . . . I guess I'll be upgrading soon . . .
The 4.2 OS does take up more memory than the 4.1 OS, but I am still at 42MB free with mine. This OS actually seems to manage memory the best for me, at least as far as the 4.2 OS's are concerned for the 8700g.
Offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 09:35 AM   #43
pyro451
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
pyro451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Model: 9810
OS: 7.0.0.261
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 176
Default Volume?

Can anyone who installed .101 please comment on the ringer volume? Is it back to levels of Bharti 4.1?

Thanks!!
__________________
I'd rather hunt with Cheney than ride with Kennedy [especially now]
Offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:34 PM   #44
blinksilver
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8700g
Carrier: T-Moblie
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyro451 View Post
Can anyone who installed .101 please comment on the ringer volume? Is it back to levels of Bharti 4.1?

Thanks!!
No it has not, sorry. It is on par with all the other 4.2 releases, but honestly beyond noticing that the ringer was quiter the very first time I installed 4.2 I have not really been aware of the difference. Maybe its just me
Offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 02:07 PM   #45
DanXP
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: tmo
Posts: 13
Default difference between .101 and .91

can anyone tell me if there is any difference between this version and the tmo version (4.2.1.91) recently announced?
Offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 01:19 AM   #46
Figment
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego
Model: 8700C
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 160
Default

Nevermind

Last edited by Figment; 08-17-2007 at 02:56 AM.. Reason: Figured it out
Offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 09:58 PM   #47
kristophe
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 7130g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: digicel
Posts: 33
Default

does this new os support "other" carriers? am with digicel & cable and wireless in the caribbean, would it work with any of those?
Offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 09:56 PM   #48
BigBoostDSM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN
Model: 8703e
PIN: N/A
Carrier: US Cellular
Posts: 6
Default

Hey, I just got my BB 8703e today. I'm trying to update the OS to the most current one, but when I try to do so it won't work.

I followed the instructions in the first post.

I downloaded the most recent OS, installed it on my computer, deleted the .xml file, but when I open the desktop manager I don't get a prompt or anything to install the OS.

What am I doing wrong?
Offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 10:55 PM   #49
BigBoostDSM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN
Model: 8703e
PIN: N/A
Carrier: US Cellular
Posts: 6
Default

Just to add, I also have the BB desktop manager version 4.2 sp2
Offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 09:08 AM   #50
Spencer_CDS
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Spencer_CDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: 4051′21″N, 7413′44″W
Model: 8800
PIN: 23F25F08
Carrier: AT&T Mobility
Posts: 447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBoostDSM View Post
Just to add, I also have the BB desktop manager version 4.2 sp2
This is for the 8700 series, not the 8703 series.
__________________
Just when everyday seemed to greet me with a smile, sunspots have faded, and now I'm doing time.

4.2.1.108 / 2.3.0.85
Offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 11:36 AM   #51
TopNotch
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8700g
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 16
Default

I tryed to download this and then when I went to Media Manager to upload songs and pictures it said my blackberry device does not have 4.2. But i downloaded it and deleted that extra vendor file but when I clicked back on BB Desktop Manager it didnt promp for a upgrade or anything.

Here is a screenshot: http://img117.imageshack.us/img117/5755/errorbz8.png

Last edited by TopNotch; 08-19-2007 at 12:00 PM..
Offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 12:18 PM   #52
jeremyckitching
BlackBerry B Boy
 
jeremyckitching's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.415
PIN: 215BE1F8
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.A.
Posts: 4,243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopNotch View Post
I tryed to download this and then when I went to Media Manager to upload songs and pictures it said my blackberry device does not have 4.2. But i downloaded it and deleted that extra vendor file but when I clicked back on BB Desktop Manager it didnt promp for a upgrade or anything.

Here is a screenshot: http://img117.imageshack.us/img117/5755/errorbz8.png
Your device doesn't have v4.2 yet. After downloading and installing this update, then deleting the Vendor.xml, it should prompt you to upgrade once you open the Desktop Manager. If it doesn't, try going to the Application Loader module and going through those steps.
Offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 12:22 PM   #53
TopNotch
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8700g
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyckitching View Post
Your device doesn't have v4.2 yet. After downloading and installing this update, then deleting the Vendor.xml, it should prompt you to upgrade once you open the Desktop Manager. If it doesn't, try going to the Application Loader module and going through those steps.
Nothing shows up when I go to application loader it just says add.

ScreenShot: http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/4...icationrn1.png
Offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 01:56 PM   #54
Semtex007
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 8700g
Carrier: O2
Posts: 1
Default

I am having a similar issue with an 8700g on O2 in UK. I have downloaded the file, removed the vendor.xml file, installed the upgrade and reconnected the device. I am using 4.2.2.12 Desktop Manager but I get no prompt to upgrade the device. I am currently running 4.1.0.377 as supplied by O2.

I tried to add the package via the Application Loader, by using the Add option and pointing it at c:\program files\common files\research in motion\shared\loaderfiles\8700-v4.2.1.101_P2.3.0.81 folder and using the BlackBerry.alx file. I was advised by the application that 'No additional applications designed for your device were found'

Does this mean I cannot upgrade the device and it is locked to O2?

Any help is appreciated.

I am all sorted now. It works a treat on the UK based O2 handset, so far so good.

Last edited by Semtex007; 08-19-2007 at 04:26 PM.. Reason: Found a resolution
Offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 04:55 PM   #55
BigBoostDSM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN
Model: 8703e
PIN: N/A
Carrier: US Cellular
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spencer_CDS View Post
This is for the 8700 series, not the 8703 series.
Well that'd do it

My bb desktop says I can't use the media manager without an OS version 4.2, so I have no idea how to get new ringtones onto it.

Thanks for the help.
Offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 08:07 AM   #56
bigmikey07
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Digicel
Posts: 2
Default Upgrade does work with Digicel...

Quote:
Originally Posted by kristophe View Post
does this new os support "other" carriers? am with digicel & cable and wireless in the caribbean, would it work with any of those?

I did have the issue with the hourglass that wouldn't disappear (it happened when I tried to visit a website). Taking the battery out fixed the issue.
Offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 08:16 AM   #57
jeremyckitching
BlackBerry B Boy
 
jeremyckitching's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.415
PIN: 215BE1F8
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.A.
Posts: 4,243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopNotch View Post
Nothing shows up when I go to application loader it just says add.

ScreenShot: http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/4...icationrn1.png
After downloading the software, did you run the installation?
Offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 08:19 AM   #58
pokey
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 402
Default Ringer volume

Has this new version of the OS corrected the low volume issue that is present with the first 4.2 OS that was released? I had 4.1 on my 8700r and when I downloaded 4.2 the ringer volume was affected alot.
Offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 02:38 AM   #59
tenkely
New Member
 
tenkely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tempe
Model: 8700g
OS: 4.2.1
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 6
Default .91 vs .101

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanXP View Post
can anyone tell me if there is any difference between this version and the tmo version (4.2.1.91) recently announced?
I installed .91 and noticed it was slow, and would leave new message notifications and calls up on my today screen after I had checked them. I was pulling the battery more than I would like to as well. I hunted down .101 and problem solved. It is quicker and more stable than .91. I would say there is a difference between the two for sure.
Offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 10:52 AM   #60
fb88
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Model: 8700v
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 25
Default

---

Last edited by fb88; 08-27-2007 at 02:59 AM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Vintage OEM ‘IBM 1337765 Easystrike Lift-Off Tape Cassette Made in USA in 1984
$6.25
Vintage OEM ‘IBM 1337765 Easystrike Lift-Off Tape Cassette Made in USA in 1984 pictureIBM 1337761 Genuine OEM Easystrike Correctable Ribbon Cassette - New Old Stock
$12.95
IBM 1337761 Genuine OEM Easystrike Correctable Ribbon Cassette - New Old Stock picture IBM OEM Parts Lot 
$200.0
 IBM OEM Parts Lot  pictureVintage IBM OEM Parts Lot (3)
$9.99
Vintage IBM OEM Parts Lot (3) pictureLot Of 5 IBM Easystrike Superior Write Correctable Ribbon #1380999 Lexmark OEM
$49.95
Lot Of 5 IBM Easystrike Superior Write Correctable Ribbon #1380999 Lexmark OEM picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.