BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2007, 04:16 AM   #1
shaf
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 14
Thumbs up T-mobile 8700g new version 4.2.1.91 WAS out but...

Please Login to Remove!

Edit: 09/01/07 TMobile has pulled this update. No estimate of a new update.

Good news 8700g new version finally released. You all can now download from T-mobile website

TMobile Blackberry Upgrade


1. Install Desktop Manager 4.2 SP2 to the PC.
2. Download and install the OS to the PC (BB not plugged in during this)
3. Delete vendor.xml located in c:\prorgram files\common files\research in motion\apploader
4. Plug in BB and run Desktop Manager. You should be prompted to upgrade.

Note to TMo Users: Normally it would not be necessary to perform step 3 since this is a TMo release. However, it appears TMo released this OS with the wrong vendor.xml file. All users, please perform step #3 and this OS will load normally on all 8700's.

Last edited by John Clark; 09-01-2007 at 12:08 PM..
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 06:18 AM   #2
shona67
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Henrietta, NY
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaf View Post
Good news 8700g new version finally released. You all can now download from T-mobile website
Thanks!
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 10:00 AM   #3
bjallen2880
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
bjallen2880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: None
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 160
Default

Has anyone loaded it yet? Just wondering if it includes MyFaves. Even though other revisions from other carriers do not include it, perhaps T-Mobile spiced up their version with MyFaves.

EDIT: Nope, it does NOT include the MyFaves software. I just downloaded it an looked over the ALX files.

Last edited by bjallen2880; 08-08-2007 at 10:20 AM..
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 02:32 PM   #4
thatsadpanda
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
thatsadpanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 8320
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 24
Default

It allows beaming media over bluetooth! Still no aim. And the insight theme is gone : (
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 03:12 PM   #5
ajstan99
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Model: 9810
OS: 7.0.0.439
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 133
Default

With 4.2, I am unable to download my favorite theme (Wave Icon) from the mobile site.

At least I was able to get the following themes by changing the vendorID to
"100" in the blackberry.alx file, then running the AppLoader in desktop manager:

BBDimension, Icon, Today (default themes)
AT&T
Bell
O2 Icon
Orange
Sprint
Verizon
Vodafone Today
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 03:24 PM   #6
shona67
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Henrietta, NY
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 312
Default Need Your Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajstan99 View Post
With 4.2, I am unable to download my favorite theme (Wave Icon) from the mobile site.

At least I was able to get the following themes by changing the vendorID to
"100" in the blackberry.alx file, then running the AppLoader in desktop manager:

BBDimension, Icon, Today (default themes)
AT&T
Bell
O2 Icon
Orange
Sprint
Verizon
Vodafone Today
If I want to add Vendor Locked Theme so do I need to install new OS 4.2 and Desktop Manager Program first, right? Noone has answered my question in another thread.
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 03:57 PM   #7
Jo5329
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Model: Tour
PIN: No Thanks
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 20
Question T-Mobile 4.2 Upgrade

Do I go through T-Zones on my Blackberry to get it, or download from website to my DT manager?

Thanks! Don't want to mess this up - hoping it will fix the outage problems I have.
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 04:09 PM   #8
ezrunner
EPIC MOD
 
ezrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Model: ZED10
OS: DOS 3.1
PIN: INK STICK
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 12,214
Default

there is a newer version of 4.2 available i believe it is stickied at top of 8700 forum
__________________
ZED 10
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 04:11 PM   #9
BallHawk3
CrackBerry Addict
 
BallHawk3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.714
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 828
Default

finally! Downloading right now.
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 04:37 PM   #10
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Interesting...I am not getting the window to upgrade when I launch application loader. Looked at the FAQ and don't see mention of this sort of thing. Pulled battery on 8700 and that didn't help. I'm now uninstalling the OS software and DM software from PC and will reboot, install again, and try again. Maybe ZoneAlarm is somehow the problem this time around, so I'll look in those directions. But I'm not getting any error messages or that sort of thing.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 04:44 PM   #11
jeremyckitching
BlackBerry B Boy
 
jeremyckitching's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.415
PIN: 215BE1F8
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.A.
Posts: 4,243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiharkness View Post
Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Interesting...I am not getting the window to upgrade when I launch application loader. Looked at the FAQ and don't see mention of this sort of thing. Pulled battery on 8700 and that didn't help. I'm now uninstalling the OS software and DM software from PC and will reboot, install again, and try again. Maybe ZoneAlarm is somehow the problem this time around, so I'll look in those directions. But I'm not getting any error messages or that sort of thing.
That happened to my 8700g as well. What I did was just double click on the Application Loader module in the Desktop Manager, and then manually kicked off the process. Worked just fine.
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 04:47 PM   #12
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

How did you manually kick it off? I get the usual window for subtracting or adding applications. I don't see anything relating to 4.2, unless it's right in front of me and I'm just a bonehead today.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 04:50 PM   #13
BallHawk3
CrackBerry Addict
 
BallHawk3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.714
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyckitching View Post
That happened to my 8700g as well. What I did was just double click on the Application Loader module in the Desktop Manager, and then manually kicked off the process. Worked just fine.
I'm actually getting the same thing!

When I double click on application loader, all it wants to do is remove the daylight savings time patch cause its "un-recognized." Maybe I should try that first.

Ok i just removed that. Still nothing! Getting no action needed. So I went in and removed all older 8700 software. Now when I run application loader, nothing for software, just my installed applications. What the heck?

Maybe I should remove the games.

Last edited by BallHawk3; 08-08-2007 at 05:25 PM..
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 05:35 PM   #14
VickyPaz
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
VickyPaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New England, USA
Model: 9000
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BallHawk3 View Post
I'm actually getting the same thing!

When I double click on application loader, all it wants to do is remove the daylight savings time patch cause its "un-recognized." Maybe I should try that first.

Ok i just removed that. Still nothing! Getting no action needed. So I went in and removed all older 8700 software. Now when I run application loader, nothing for software, just my installed applications. What the heck?

Maybe I should remove the games.
FYI - this happened to me too. I was running the .96 version but I had time so I figured I'd try loading TM's official .91 version but I kept installing/un-installing it as no matter how many times I tried, nothing new showed up in my application loader. I assumed this was because I was already running a higher version so perhaps needed to downgrade to .346 first and then retry - but then I figured I'd just upgrade to the .101 OS on the top of this forum and that one worked fine. I'm not sure what the problem is but if you figure it out, let us know as I'd be curious as to the solution
__________________



'I am stuck on Blackberry and my Blackberry's stuck on me'

Last edited by VickyPaz; 08-08-2007 at 05:39 PM..
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 05:39 PM   #15
BallHawk3
CrackBerry Addict
 
BallHawk3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.714
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VickyPaz View Post
FYI - this happened to me to. I was running the .96 version but I had time so I figured I'd try loading TM's official .91 version but I kept installing/un-installing it as no matter how many times I tried, nothing new showed up in my application loader. I assumed this was because I was already running a higher version so perhaps need to downgrade to .346 but then I'm thinking that's probably not it. Assuming some of you are running the .346 and still can't upgrade. Anyway, I just ended up upgrading to the .101 version stuck on the top of this forum and worked like a charm. Let me know if you figure the problem out tho as I'd be interested
I only run the actually vendors update. So i was running t-mo's 4.1.346. Basically the one before this.

I keep removing programs. I just removed all my games and i'm waiting it to restart and i'm going to try again. I even deleted all OTHER software for other blackberries and only have this new one installed. It's weird how nothing shows up in application loader except for my 3rd party apps.
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 05:42 PM   #16
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

UPDATE: I deleted the OS and DM from PC, rebooted PC and reinstalled OS and DM as I said I was going to do. That did it. I got the upgrade window when I connected the BB. Still curious how to manually launch from app loader, though--it sure would have been easier.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 05:44 PM   #17
BallHawk3
CrackBerry Addict
 
BallHawk3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.714
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiharkness View Post
Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

UPDATE: I deleted the OS and DM from PC, rebooted PC and reinstalled OS and DM as I said I was going to do. That did it. I got the upgrade window when I connected the BB. Still curious how to manually launch from app loader, though--it sure would have been easier.
I've re-installed and updated both. But didn't completely remove and re-install. Maybe i'll try that.
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 05:45 PM   #18
VickyPaz
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
VickyPaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New England, USA
Model: 9000
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiharkness View Post
Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

UPDATE: I deleted the OS and DM from PC, rebooted PC and reinstalled OS and DM as I said I was going to do. That did it. I got the upgrade window when I connected the BB. Still curious how to manually launch from app loader, though--it sure would have been easier.
Well that's good. Once you've played around with for a bit, can you let us know what the difference is between .346 and .91?
__________________



'I am stuck on Blackberry and my Blackberry's stuck on me'
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 05:46 PM   #19
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BallHawk3
Quote:
Originally Posted by aiharkness View Post
Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

UPDATE: I deleted the OS and DM from PC, rebooted PC and reinstalled OS and DM as I said I was going to do. That did it. I got the upgrade window when I connected the BB. Still curious how to manually launch from app loader, though--it sure would have been easier.
I've re-installed and updated both. But didn't completely remove and re-install. Maybe i'll try that.
Yes, just reinstalling DM and the OS didn't work for me, either.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 05:47 PM   #20
BallHawk3
CrackBerry Addict
 
BallHawk3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.714
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiharkness View Post
Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)



Yes, just reinstalling DM and the OS didn't work for me, either.
ok i will try that. This is just frustrating!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A
$119.0
VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A   pictureAPPLE 820-0522-A Lite VRAM 128K.TESTED.SKU206876
$33.33
APPLE 820-0522-A Lite VRAM 128K.TESTED.SKU206876 pictureVINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A
$64.0
VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A pictureAPPLE 630-0895-B VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE
$164.99
APPLE 630-0895-B  VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE pictureAPPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD >
$299.99
APPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD > picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.