BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2007, 06:28 AM   #41
shona67
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Henrietta, NY
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 312
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiharkness View Post
Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

The default theme is horrid. Mostly black and white, little icons crowded together, just the time, EDGE and battery at the top. Pulled battery but no change. I'm gone for a while to figure this out.
Suggest you to restore your back up file.
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 07:14 AM   #42
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shona67
Quote:
Originally Posted by aiharkness View Post
The default theme is horrid. Mostly black and white, little icons crowded together, just the time, EDGE and battery at the top. Pulled battery but no change. I'm gone for a while to figure this out.


Suggest you to restore your back up file.

No. As I later posted, changing the theme was all that was needed.

And update on the slowness: Maybe I'm just adapting, but I'm not noticing now. I really noticed when editing profiles, where the BB would lag severely when I would scroll fast through the tone list. But in the typical things I do it isn't noticeably different now.

My main irritation now is before, with the zen or today theme, I had the front convenience key set to bring up the simple, vertical application list window. I could do that and then use shortcut key from anywhere, no matter what app I had going at the time. I'm not happy with the app list now being provided, a regular page of icons. As I said, I've disabled dialing from the home screen in order to use app shortcuts, but I have to go to the home screen to do it if I'm somewhere else like message folder.

That's my experience. Maybe something I'm missing there on my theme issues, so YMMV.
__________________
- Ira

Last edited by aiharkness; 08-09-2007 at 07:30 AM..
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 07:31 AM   #43
shona67
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Henrietta, NY
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 312
Default Spell Checker

I was told that OS 4.2 contains Spell checker? I don't see any of it.
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:04 AM   #44
shona67
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Henrietta, NY
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 312
Exclamation Opera Mini *Need Your Help*

Anybody has a problem with Opera Mini? I would not be able to open it up. When I clicked Opera Mini icon, it still ran to load as speaking now. Any idea?
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:30 AM   #45
yessirman05
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 4
Default

Does this software allow me to send like a ringtone I have saved on my computer to my Blackberry?
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:31 AM   #46
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

shona, don't know, never saw nention of spell check. SFAIK, the opera mini issue is known problem with this version.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:32 AM   #47
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

No, OS 4.2 on the 8700 does not have spell checker. I believe that is only avail on the 88xx and 83xx models just now.
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:34 AM   #48
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Yessirman, you should be able now to move the ringtone via Media Manager to your device memory.
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:39 AM   #49
LunkHead
BlackBerry God
 
LunkHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cardboard box
Model: 850
OS: 0.0.00001
PIN: kie swear
Carrier: USPS Priority
Posts: 11,203
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry 8700: BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiharkness
My main irritation now is before, with the zen or today theme, I had the front convenience key set to bring up the simple, vertical application list window. I could do that and then use shortcut key from anywhere, no matter what app I had going at the time. I'm not happy with the app list now being provided, a regular page of icons. As I said, I've disabled dialing from the home screen in order to use app shortcuts, but I have to go to the home screen to do it if I'm somewhere else like message folder.
That's the main reason I went back to older OS.. The secondary Pop up menu is far easier to navigate than the whole page menu used in 4.2..

Last edited by LunkHead; 08-09-2007 at 08:43 AM..
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:41 AM   #50
yessirman05
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
Yessirman, you should be able now to move the ringtone via Media Manager to your device memory.

Thanks man, I just got the phone yesterday and I'm at work right now. I will definitely download this update when I get home so I can start doing my own ringtones.
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:56 AM   #51
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Wirelessly posted (BB 8860: BlackBerry8100/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Update to the .101 version and opera will work just fine.
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:59 AM   #52
shona67
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Henrietta, NY
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 312
Default .101 version

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
Wirelessly posted (BB 8860: BlackBerry8100/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Update to the .101 version and opera will work just fine.
Do you have a link for that?
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:01 AM   #53
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...2-1-101-a.html
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:02 AM   #54
VickyPaz
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
VickyPaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New England, USA
Model: 9000
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
I would update the DM to the latest released by RIM.
I downloaded this new DM from RIM and everytime I tried to run the file it said there was an error. I ended up deleting it from my computer because it was so big.

Anyone else had this problem?
__________________



'I am stuck on Blackberry and my Blackberry's stuck on me'
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:03 AM   #55
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

try getting DM 4.2, Ser Pack 1 without the roxio media package.
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:06 AM   #56
VickyPaz
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
VickyPaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New England, USA
Model: 9000
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
try getting DM 4.2, Ser Pack 1 without the roxio media package.
OK, thanks. Yeah I loaded the DM 4.2 Ser Pack 2 so I'll try the SP1 without media as you suggested.
__________________



'I am stuck on Blackberry and my Blackberry's stuck on me'

Last edited by VickyPaz; 08-09-2007 at 10:26 AM..
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:25 AM   #57
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LunkHead
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry 8700: BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiharkness
My main irritation now is before, with the zen or today theme, I had the front convenience key set to bring up the simple, vertical application list window. I could do that and then use shortcut key from anywhere, no matter what app I had going at the time. I'm not happy with the app list now being provided, a regular page of icons. As I said, I've disabled dialing from the home screen in order to use app shortcuts, but I have to go to the home screen to do it if I'm somewhere else like message folder.
That's the main reason I went back to older OS.. The secondary Pop up menu is far easier to navigate than the whole page menu used in 4.2..
Yeah...I tried setting the convenience key to something else, initially Yahoo! Go....Dohh!!! I kept forgetting, would launch that behemoth accidently, and then have to wait 15 seconds or whatever for it to load. So, convenience key is back to app list, and I'll give this a chance to grow on me. I'm a weanie and too lazy to do the newer OS's.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:37 AM   #58
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

...I should add that the cloud does have a silver lining. If dial from home screen is enabled, then when on the home screen or app list screen and you start typing, the phone opens, and if you are typing a phone number the BB behaves more or less as it always did; but if you are typing a name, your contacts containing those caharacters appear. Thus, no need to launch address book. Maybe this was there with 4.1, I don't know. But it's cool.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:38 AM   #59
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shona67 View Post
Anybody has a problem with Opera Mini? I would not be able to open it up. When I clicked Opera Mini icon, it still ran to load as speaking now. Any idea?
All these issues with the older 4.2.1 OS's have been discussed in previous threads. Unfortunatly, TMobile released an outdated version of 4.2 that has bugs. You can find more info in this thread that used to be a sticky when it was the most current OS version. If it were me I would stick with TMo's 4.1 OS or upgrade the latest 4.2.1.01 that is in the current sticky.
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:50 PM   #60
BallHawk3
CrackBerry Addict
 
BallHawk3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.714
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 828
Default

Well its on my phone and I definately like the 4.2 interface vs the 4.1.

When I first installed it, it was really slow, now its much better. Can't say its just as fast 4.1 still. It's improved alot but some menus are really slow (like editing profile like someone else mentioned).

I'm pretty happy with it and I don't mind that all my "other" themes are gone, I actually prefere the new ones.

One thing about the Dimension Zen theme that I wish I can do. On the main screen (or home) with the 5 icons stacked vertically on the left side (and the application button on the bottom) I wish you can re-arrange those icons instead of it being the order than you have the icons in the full screen. Bummers.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

8Pcs potentiometer knob switch cap inside 6mm outside 15mm* high 17mm LE EP
$0.99
8Pcs potentiometer knob switch cap inside 6mm outside 15mm* high 17mm LE EP picture500K Ohm Single Turn Rotary Carbon Film Potentiometer Variable RV24YN20S-B504
$2.87
500K Ohm Single Turn Rotary Carbon Film Potentiometer Variable RV24YN20S-B504 picture32.5x13mm Volume Control Black Plastic Knob for 6mm Potentiometer ZL ZL EP
$0.99
32.5x13mm Volume Control Black Plastic Knob for 6mm Potentiometer ZL ZL EP picture200 Ohm 2.05cmx2.62cmx4.78cm Metal Wire Wound Potentiometer WXD3-12-2W
$2.76
200 Ohm 2.05cmx2.62cmx4.78cm Metal Wire Wound Potentiometer WXD3-12-2W pictureDevil Hoodie Costume For Pets
$8.5
Devil Hoodie Costume For Pets picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.