BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2007, 02:27 PM   #1
HunterRose1971
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 7100t
Posts: 1
Default GPS reception???

Please Login to Remove!

Hi:

I have recently been looking at buying a garmin handheld gps unit for hiking, camping and 4x4ing (don't worry, I stay on premarked trails). Then it occured to me that I was also getting ready to purchase my first blackberry, and I wondered if I might kill two birds with one stone.

I understand from perusing the forums that I will either need a BB model with an internal GPS or purchase a separate bluetooth GPS unit to go with my BB. And it appears that with the internal units, I need to make sure that my service provider supports it.

My question is this:

With either the internal or external gps systems, do I need a cell signal to have the gps function work. I live in Colorado and there is no cell signal where I go hiking/camping/4x4ing. I know that the Garmin handheld units will just locate a satelite and start dl'ing information, but do the internal/external gps receivers on BB do the same? Or will I only be able to get gps information if I am in an area that has a cell signal?

I hope this makes sense, thanks for your time folks:

Hunter
Offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 02:43 PM   #2
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator
 
Stinsonddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5,518
Default

Yes you need the cell to work, to load the maps as you go. Problem is that there is no good program to do what you want on the BB yet. Spot comes closest, but you will need cell to pull the maps. That is the only one that I have seen that has geo maps. See my tips site for a full review.
__________________
Shortcuts Rule!! Download Link:[Stinsonddog's Blackberry Tips ] GET TORCHED
@ Stinsonddog
Offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 10:18 PM   #3
funkym
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Model: 8320
Carrier: HK CSL
Posts: 505
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinsonddog
Yes you need the cell to work, to load the maps as you go. Problem is that there is no good program to do what you want on the BB yet. Spot comes closest, but you will need cell to pull the maps. That is the only one that I have seen that has geo maps. See my tips site for a full review.
Stinsonddog, if you have a Pearl, you might be able to get maps without cell coverage Take a look to the thread I have just created: GPS Tool supporting the Map Image and Waypoint files
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

A Lot Of 3 Apple Charging Adapters Oem . U.S
$12.0
A Lot Of 3 Apple Charging Adapters Oem .  U.S  pictureOEM Apple Mac G5 A1047 System Genuine Back Rear Cooler Fan
$20.0
OEM Apple Mac G5 A1047 System Genuine Back Rear Cooler Fan pictureGenuine Sealed OEM Post-It Gold Apple Pop-Up Note Dispenser for 3 x 3-Inch Notes
$195.59
Genuine Sealed OEM Post-It Gold Apple Pop-Up Note Dispenser for 3 x 3-Inch Notes pictureApple iPhone 11 PRO X XR XS MAX 8/7/6S Lightning USB Data Cable cord iOS 13.3.1
$1.98
Apple iPhone 11 PRO X XR XS MAX 8/7/6S Lightning USB Data Cable cord iOS 13.3.1 picture6 Foot 2M OEM Apple iPhone XS XR X 8/7/6S Long USB Charger Data Cable cord White
$6.5
6 Foot 2M OEM Apple iPhone XS XR X 8/7/6S Long USB Charger Data Cable cord White picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.