Closed Thread

Old 04-21-2008, 12:15 PM   #1
banannarb

Model: n/a
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Default Blackberry best?

Please Login to Remove!

As I mentioned in my intro thread I'm very interested in the blackberry for business purposes, my new job requires that I travel around a bit and so it would be nice to have a good phone for all intents and purposes. I'm curious if anyone can explain to me briefly what the clear advantage of a blackberry would be over, say, a treo or an iphone. So far the bb's have impressed me the most, but I'm no cellphone expert.

things I'm most interested in:

-which has better web browsing/email capabilities?

-what about voicemail? I know some phones enable you to receive voicemails via SMS or check from your phone without calling in to the inbox

-conferencing? A few co-workers of mine have treos because they claim they can teleconference (3-way calls) a lot easier, but I don't know that any of them have actually compared this feature against a bb

Thanks for the help!
Old 04-21-2008, 01:28 PM   #2
takeshi
BlackBerry Mensa

Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t

You should take a look at the devices you're considering. I'd separate out web browsing and email as separate items though for your comparisons.

Personally, I've preferred the BB over other platforms for its reliability. All the bells and whistles in the world are great but they won't do you much good if all your time is spent on troubleshooting, IMO.

That said, Safari on the iPhone is really nice.

Last edited by takeshi; 04-21-2008 at 01:30 PM..
Old 04-21-2008, 02:48 PM   #3
BBHorrigan
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 8900
Carrier: AT&T