BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2007, 01:31 PM   #1
Konige
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 2
Default Google trying to access my phone logs?! Only on 8800.

Please Login to Remove!

I have an 8800 (less than a week) and installed gmail today. Since there doesn't seem to be a version for the 8800, I installed the 8700 version. After the installation, I logged in and all seemed fine. But then, after a while, I went to check my blackberry and there I saw a pop-up requesting permission for gmail to access my phone logs - WHAT!
I quote:
"The application gm_8700_v4_0_L1 is attempting to access phone logs. Would you like to allow access? Yes No
Vendor Name:
Google
Application Name:
Gmail
Calling Modules:
net_rim_bbapi_phone
gm_8700_v4_0_L1
net_rim_cldc-4
gm_8700_v4_0_L1"

After I select No, I get an error:
"Uncaught exception: net.rim.device.api.system.ControlledAccessExceptio n"

I know that Google monitors surfing habits but Phone Logs? That doesn't seem right. Has anybody seen this error? Has anyone read Google's Terms and seen this stated?
Offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 01:32 PM   #2
oester
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
oester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.234
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 242
Default

I saw that too. I'm thinking it was occuring in the older version too, we just didn't know about it. I just denined access,and gmail is still happy.
Offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 08:08 PM   #3
gabe76
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8800
Posts: 1
Default

same problem here... I also selected no for accessing phone logs, and now every time it tries to access(speculation), the uncaught exception notice pops up. gmail works fine, no other problems, but very annoying, and the note will interrupt any activity (so far). the 8800 being my first BB device, so at a disadvantage for trouble shooting.

perhaps a change in the permissions for gmail?

solutions?

Last edited by gabe76; 03-04-2007 at 08:12 PM..
Offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 03:25 PM   #4
kwojtas
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8800
Posts: 2
Thumbs down Google Trying to access my phone logs.

I too am having the same error message pop up on my new 8800 blackberry. This is really annoying. Every time I try to compose an email using gmail on the blackberry, the message pop's up 1/2 way through my typing and I lose everything. I have yet to send an email via gmail through my blackberry.

Can someone please help. This is really a turn off.
Offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 03:57 PM   #5
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator
 
Stinsonddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5,518
Default

Uninstall it and reinstall it and pick yes. They don't send anything to google. That's how the BB APIs work.
__________________
Shortcuts Rule!! Download Link:[Stinsonddog's Blackberry Tips ] GET TORCHED
@ Stinsonddog
Offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 04:12 PM   #6
boedarnez
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinsonddog
Uninstall it and reinstall it and pick yes. They don't send anything to google. That's how the BB APIs work.
So, if there's no personal data sent out, why does it check the phone logs?
Offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 04:17 PM   #7
azmmza
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: BH, CA
Model: 8800
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinsonddog
Uninstall it and reinstall it and pick yes. They don't send anything to google. That's how the BB APIs work.
how do i uninstall the program?
Offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 04:46 PM   #8
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator
 
Stinsonddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boedarnez
So, if there's no personal data sent out, why does it check the phone logs?
Cause it can give you the option to dial a phone number from the application. Go into Advanced Options>Applications and find it there. Then delete it.
__________________
Shortcuts Rule!! Download Link:[Stinsonddog's Blackberry Tips ] GET TORCHED
@ Stinsonddog
Offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 07:22 PM   #9
azmmza
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: BH, CA
Model: 8800
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinsonddog
Cause it can give you the option to dial a phone number from the application. Go into Advanced Options>Applications and find it there. Then delete it.
Thanks
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

New Computer controlled coil transformer winder winding machine 0.03-0.80mm B
$450.0
New Computer controlled coil transformer winder winding machine 0.03-0.80mm   B pictureNEW Manual Hand Coil Counting Winding Winder Machine for thick wire 2.5mm
$186.2
NEW Manual Hand Coil Counting Winding Winder Machine for thick wire 2.5mm picture10pcs New Toroid Cores Common Mode Inductors Wire Wind Wound Coil 100uH 6A 13mm
$6.65
10pcs New Toroid Cores Common Mode Inductors Wire Wind Wound Coil 100uH 6A 13mm picture15KV High Voltage Generator Module Arc Ignition Inverter Step Up Boost Coil SE
$6.87
15KV High Voltage Generator Module Arc Ignition Inverter Step Up Boost Coil  SE picture3 Roll Magnet Wire AWG Gauge Enameled Copper Coil Winding 0.1m SE
$6.28
3 Roll Magnet Wire AWG Gauge Enameled Copper Coil Winding 0.1m SE picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.