BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2007, 08:23 AM   #1
layand
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8300
Carrier: att
Posts: 14
Default From Treo to Blackberry...a quick question

Please Login to Remove!

I finally let go of my beloved Treo after being a Palm user for about 10 years. I just received my 8703e and wanted to know if there is a way to import all of my existing info from my Palm/Palm Desktop into my Blackberry/Blackberry desktop. Or do I have to enter everything by hand?

Thanks!
Offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 08:31 AM   #2
finch
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Model: N/A
Carrier: N/A
Posts: 3,309
Default

Install the Palm conduit for Outlook, sync your Palm to Outlook then sync you BlackBerry to Outlook.
Offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 08:47 AM   #3
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Ditto, that is exactly how I migrated my wife's Palm data over to her BB.
Offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 09:22 AM   #4
layand
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8300
Carrier: att
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks for the quick reply....I'll give it a try!
Offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 12:49 AM   #5
expalmuser
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8703e
Carrier: MTS (Bell)
Posts: 7
Default My Solution

Not sure if you solved your problem.

So here's my 1.5 cents

When I first loaded the bb sw on my pc, it quite happily moved everything over, without going to outlook (which isn't available on my pc.)

Stan
Offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:33 AM   #6
level9
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 43
Default

I believe the desk manager now has an import treo data function on it. I synced my data first, so I didn't try it, but I believe it is there for you to give it a try.
Offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 10:00 PM   #7
BoogieNYC
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NYC
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 16
Default Palm Desktop data to BB -- Sync or Import?

I'm also a long-time Palm user; like layand, I've been using Palms even before they were known as Palm (anyone remember the first Pilot?). In advance of my impending purchase of a VZW 8703e (if not a Cingular 8800), I figured I would start using Outlook 2003. I got everything transferred over from Palm Desktop, but I'm less-than-thrilled with Outlook as a PC-based PIM. No password-protected notes/memos, a lousy, clunky calendar interface, and the thing is bloated beyond words. Soooo...the question is, will the BB Desktop allow me to continue to use Palm Desktop regularly and sync over, or is BB Desktop only able to import data into Outlook for regular Outlook <> BB syncs?

IOW, is using BB Desktop with Palm Desktop a one-time thing or can I continue using Palm Desktop on the PC side (plus Outlook e-mail)?

TIA...

-B-
Offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 09:15 AM   #8
takeshi
BlackBerry Mensa
 
takeshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 7,741
Default

You can check under Intellisync/Sync. If you dig around in the options you'll find the supported apps. I'm not sure about constantly relying on the device migration wizard to keep things in sync. It sounds like a bad idea and more trouble than it's worth as the wizard is inteded to be a one-time deal...

Last edited by takeshi; 03-05-2007 at 09:17 AM..
Offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 05:21 PM   #9
layand
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8300
Carrier: att
Posts: 14
Default From Treo to Blackberry...

Okay, so the intellisync did not work, and after 3 days, I finally got my Treo to sync with Outlook 2003, only to have only my tasks and memos, make the cut. My addresses and calender will not sync. I keep getting a 'cannot write file, blah, blah' message. Any suggestions?

Layand
Offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 05:50 PM   #10
ezrunner
EPIC MOD
 
ezrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Model: ZED10
OS: DOS 3.1
PIN: INK STICK
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 12,214
Default

Wish i could help but i have never been a fan of TREOS always have customers coming back with this and that wrong. CONGRATS on getting the BB enjoy
__________________
ZED 10
Offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 05:53 PM   #11
flash24
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
flash24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1
PIN: 3319688F
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,178
Default

Welcome to BBF!
__________________
http://twitter.com/billydasco

Proud to Serve USAF
Offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 03:40 AM   #12
BoogieNYC
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NYC
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 16
Default Migration, Etc.

Thanks Takeshi, once I installed the BB Desktop/Device Manager 'ware the question was answered, and I agree -- while it's possible it could function as an ongoing converter, there's really no point in chancing it. There's other solutions if I really needed to use Palm Desktop with a BB but it's not an overwhelming requirement.

Everything of mine, for the most part, transferred over from Palm Desktop so I'll stick with Outlook and the standard BB sync.

Thanks for the help.

-B-
Offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 08:37 AM   #13
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoogieNYC
I'm also a long-time Palm user; like layand, I've been using Palms even before they were known as Palm (anyone remember the first Pilot?). In advance of my impending purchase of a VZW 8703e (if not a Cingular 8800), I figured I would start using Outlook 2003. I got everything transferred over from Palm Desktop, but I'm less-than-thrilled with Outlook as a PC-based PIM. No password-protected notes/memos, a lousy, clunky calendar interface, and the thing is bloated beyond words. Soooo...the question is, will the BB Desktop allow me to continue to use Palm Desktop regularly and sync over, or is BB Desktop only able to import data into Outlook for regular Outlook <> BB syncs?

IOW, is using BB Desktop with Palm Desktop a one-time thing or can I continue using Palm Desktop on the PC side (plus Outlook e-mail)?

TIA...

-B-
Don't think you can synch to the Palm Desktop as that is not a supported app. Download Desktop Manager 4.2. That is the latest version. As some has said, it has an import from Treo function. Don't know if that is from the device or the Palm Desktop.
Offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 08:40 AM   #14
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by layand
Okay, so the intellisync did not work, and after 3 days, I finally got my Treo to sync with Outlook 2003, only to have only my tasks and memos, make the cut. My addresses and calender will not sync. I keep getting a 'cannot write file, blah, blah' message. Any suggestions?

Layand
I assume you got everything set up to synch all the various parts? I remember I had similar problems many years ago when I set up my Treo to synch with Outlook. It took some checking and probing but finally got it to work. Can't remember the problem though.

But once you get it all done, you will appreciate the stability and ease of synching the BB.
Offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 02:58 AM   #15
BoogieNYC
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NYC
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubdub
Don't think you can synch to the Palm Desktop as that is not a supported app. Download Desktop Manager 4.2. That is the latest version. As some has said, it has an import from Treo function. Don't know if that is from the device or the Palm Desktop.
The 'ware imports all the info from the active version of Palm Desktop on the PC on which it's installed, dumps everything into Outlook, and then synchs.

That was a question of mine also prior to doing it, but everything went very smoothly and the data made it to the BB without any issues whatsoever.

-B-
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

10X Current to Voltage Converter Signal Conversion Module 4-20mA to 0-3.3V/5/10V
$21.33
10X Current to Voltage Converter Signal Conversion Module 4-20mA to 0-3.3V/5/10V picturePWM To Voltage Converter Module 0%-100% to 0-5V/0-10V for Digital Analog Sig JF
$6.84
PWM To Voltage Converter Module 0%-100% to 0-5V/0-10V for Digital Analog Sig JF picture10pcs Heat Shrink End Caps Adhesive Glue Lined 13*35mm 2:1 Ratio High Voltage
$2.48
10pcs Heat Shrink End Caps Adhesive Glue Lined 13*35mm 2:1 Ratio High Voltage picture2500W Low Voltage Induction Heater Power Board DIY Module Flyback Driver Heater
$70.09
2500W Low Voltage Induction Heater Power Board DIY Module Flyback Driver Heater pictureAVR SE350 Automatic Voltage Regulator Generator voltage regulator For Marathon
$32.55
AVR SE350 Automatic Voltage Regulator Generator voltage regulator For Marathon picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.