BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2007, 03:39 AM   #1
RogersJoel
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
RogersJoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: BC, Canada
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.301
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 80
Default Getting PIN released from network???

Please Login to Remove!

Ok I have a cingular 8800 that i bought from the states. The guy i bought it off used it a bit and therfore registered the PIN once with cingular. Now to use it on Rogers or whoever Cingular has to release the PIN from the cingular system so i can register it with Rogers.
Hey any Cingular csr's does this make sense to you if so how do i talk to you on the phone cuz i have called 3 times and the people i have talked to just don't get it :(
Help please someone.
the PIN that needs releasing is 23F24FA2
If you are reading this while at work feel free to release it and msg or PIN me204FC1E2.
This is killing me i have my berry and can't use it.

Thanks in advance for anyone with suggestions or help.
Offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 04:54 AM   #2
colonel
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: w950i
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 109
Default

you need to directly contact Cingular support to release it.

another way of doing it is to contact the guy who sold it to you. did he replace it with a new blackberry ? If he changes his device in the cingular/RIM web based email setup, it will automatically release it.
Offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 05:49 AM   #3
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

Sounds to me like the seller did not close out his BIS account and release the IMEI and PIN. I don't think Cingular can do much unless the BIS account is closed.

Have you unlocked the phone to use on Rogers? Where did you get the unlock code - Cingular or one of the unlock companies? I didn't know there were codes available yet, since it is so new. It might not really be unlocked.
Offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 07:04 AM   #4
RogersJoel
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
RogersJoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: BC, Canada
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.301
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 80
Default

Everytime i post on here or HowardForums with something that could be complex its always the stupid easy things that solves it.
So i bought it and unlocked it from a company. I got ti here and applied the code. Then, i went online and tried to switch handhelds and got that msg. Called Rogers they couldn't - got the same msg.
Called cingular trying t get them to release it......... didn't know what i was talking about or one lady couldn't find the pin attached anywhere.
Then i lost it and went nuts.
Then in bed i decide what the hell i will put in my sim and use it as aphone and browser.
I do it....... and it registers the browswer and stuff with network.
The email settings logo pops up and i figure lets try one more time.
I do........ and VOILA it switched the pins automaticaly for me and i am good to go.

Thanks everyone!
RJ
Offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 12:39 PM   #5
azmmza
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: BH, CA
Model: 8800
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubdub
Sounds to me like the seller did not close out his BIS account and release the IMEI and PIN. I don't think Cingular can do much unless the BIS account is closed.

Have you unlocked the phone to use on Rogers? Where did you get the unlock code - Cingular or one of the unlock companies? I didn't know there were codes available yet, since it is so new. It might not really be unlocked.
I can confirm that the unlock codes for the 8800 are available.
I have sold close to 500 of them already.
Offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 06:55 PM   #6
takeshi
BlackBerry Mensa
 
takeshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 7,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubdub
It might not really be unlocked.
What makes you say that? he only mentioned not being able to register the PIN which has nothing to do with the subsidy lock. People have been unlocking the 8800 (except the launch units) as soon as they've been able to buy it.

Last edited by takeshi; 03-06-2007 at 06:59 PM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Dell Precision T5810 Intel Xeon E5-1650 v3 3.50GHz 16GB DDR4 Workstation, No HDD
$299.99
Dell Precision T5810 Intel Xeon E5-1650 v3 3.50GHz 16GB DDR4 Workstation, No HDD pictureTwin HP Proliant SL160z G6 Nodes unit 4x Xeon E5520 2.26GHz 32GB Ram -QTY&
$225.84
Twin HP Proliant SL160z G6 Nodes unit 4x Xeon E5520 2.26GHz 32GB Ram  -QTY& pictureCustom PC SuperMicro Xeon E5-1620 3.6GHz 2GB Ram&
$150.56
Custom PC SuperMicro Xeon E5-1620 3.6GHz 2GB Ram& pictureDell Precision T3600 Intel Xeon E5-1620 3.60GHz 40GB RAM 500GB DRive Nvidia Vide
$374.99
Dell Precision T3600 Intel Xeon E5-1620 3.60GHz 40GB RAM 500GB DRive Nvidia Vide pictureHoneywell Xeon 1900HHD Handhled Bar Code Reader
$59.99
Honeywell Xeon 1900HHD Handhled Bar Code Reader picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.