BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2006, 02:46 PM   #1
TexasDudeUSA
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8700c
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 28
Default Shortcut to Keyboard Lock

Please Login to Remove!

Honestly, scrolling all the way to the lock button and pressing the scroll wheel to lock your 8700 while your driving could cause a death. Is there a shortcut to locking the phone like pressing two buttons at once?
Offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 02:47 PM   #2
paulbblc
Retired BBF Moderator
 
paulbblc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Model: ip 3g
PIN: 8675309
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,555
Default

I have mine set to the sidekey. Also in the latest Telstra OS (the version I use, not sure if it works on other versions) with 'dial from homescreen' set to off, you can push the 'k' key and it will lock the keyboard.

Last edited by paulbblc; 12-20-2006 at 02:52 PM..
Offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 02:53 PM   #3
plchan
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Model: 8700g
Carrier: NO One
Posts: 811
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0) BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

I use Zen theme and I have the keypad lock icon visible on the bb 'desktop'
__________________
-- TMO Blackberry 8700g since 09/24/2006
Offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 02:54 PM   #4
jgb@etree
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fairfield, CT
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1.0.755
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 618
Default

Alt + Enter
__________________
BB devices I've owned: 957 : 7750 : 7250 : 8703e : 8830 : 9530 : 9630 : 9650 : 9930 : 64GB PB

BES 5.0.4 ~ BES 10.1
Offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 02:55 PM   #5
Mahal
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Mahal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NYC
Model: 8700G
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 51
Default

Turn off dialing from main screen and then the letter "k" locks your BB from the home screen.
Offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 02:56 PM   #6
concentrate
New Member
 
concentrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8700C
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 8
Default

I enabled my BB 8700c to lock the keyboard once I holster it, this way I don't have to press any keys at all
__________________
"A true friend always stabs you in the front..." Oscar Wilde
Unlocked Cingular 8700c

Last edited by concentrate; 12-20-2006 at 03:11 PM..
Offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 04:07 PM   #7
rssarma
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 9630
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 21
Red face

The other option is to move the icon to the first position, which is what I have done. Move the selector to the lock icon, then click the wheel while holding down 'Alt'; this will give you a move icon option, so move the icon to the first position. Also its easier to navigate when holding the 'Alt' key as this allows you to move vertically.
Offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 04:08 PM   #8
Airmark1
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Airmark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: 94564
Model: 8300
Carrier: ATT uhhhh Cingular uhhh I mean ATT
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mahal
Turn off dialing from main screen and then the letter "k" locks your BB from the home screen.

Yeah...you can't get shorter than that. Press "k".
__________________
Intelligent design my ass


?was it a cat i saw?
Offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 04:53 PM   #9
potthoff
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
potthoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Model: 9700
OS: 5.1.0.112
PIN: I typically don't wear pins.
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 52
Default

On my 7130c I just press/hold the * key. I guess it's not the same for every BB, eh?
Offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 05:13 PM   #10
TaSM1
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8830
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 34
Default

I have a 8703e and disabling dialing from the home screen enabled using the 'k' key to lock the screen. Thanks for the very useful tip!
Offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 05:21 PM   #11
jgb@etree
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fairfield, CT
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1.0.755
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 618
Default

Does Alt + Enter work on all models? I know it's worked on the 8703, 7250 and7750 - I can't recall if it worked on the 957
__________________
BB devices I've owned: 957 : 7750 : 7250 : 8703e : 8830 : 9530 : 9630 : 9650 : 9930 : 64GB PB

BES 5.0.4 ~ BES 10.1
Offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 12:06 PM   #12
donricouga
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgb@etree
Alt + Enter
On mine it brings up the option to change the language. But I disabled that shortcut under language settings and now it locks automatically. Thanks !
__________________
Cingular BB 7290 and Sprint BB 8703e.
Offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 10:35 PM   #13
hondaguy900
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.77
Carrier: Sprint (really miss Verizon)
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donricouga
On mine it brings up the option to change the language. But I disabled that shortcut under language settings and now it locks automatically. Thanks !
Thanks. I couldn't quite figure out why the ALT+ENTER shortcut would work sometimes and not work at other times. I did notice the language screen come up, but could not read it because it went away too quick. Disabling the shortcut from the Language settings worked!

On a side note, I had the Orange theme installed on my 8703e and the "K" shortcut was working with dial from home screen turned ON. Then it just stopped working one day, so I switched the theme to another one and then back to Orange and it started working again. Then again, it stopped working and I haven't been able to get it back. Does anyone know why this would have happened? From what i've been reading, it should have never worked at all with dial from home screen turned on. Not that I really care, cause ALT+ENTER is almost as easy as "K".
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Digital Multimeter AC DC Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt Tester Meter XL830L USA picture

Digital Multimeter AC DC Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt Tester Meter XL830L USA

$8.75



LCD Digital Multimeter Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt AC DC Tester Leads Meter picture

LCD Digital Multimeter Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt AC DC Tester Leads Meter

$8.89



100A AC LCD Digital Volt Watt Power Voltage Meter Monitor KWh Voltmeter Ammeter picture

100A AC LCD Digital Volt Watt Power Voltage Meter Monitor KWh Voltmeter Ammeter

$16.95



Electric AC/DC Voltage Detector Pen Tester 6-380V Voltmeter Ammeter Circuit 8in1 picture

Electric AC/DC Voltage Detector Pen Tester 6-380V Voltmeter Ammeter Circuit 8in1

$7.49



LCD Digital Multimeter Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt AC DC Tester Leads Meter picture

LCD Digital Multimeter Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt AC DC Tester Leads Meter

$11.99



DC 100V 10A Voltmeter Ammeter LED Dual Volt Amp Meter Voltage Current Tester picture

DC 100V 10A Voltmeter Ammeter LED Dual Volt Amp Meter Voltage Current Tester

$6.95







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.