BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2010, 02:41 AM   #1
ariesm
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: smart
Posts: 8
Default wifi problem

Please Login to Remove!

it seems my BB Curve 8900 has weak pick up for wifi servers.... my colleagues' phone picks up 2 wifi server in our office.. but mine can't detect those server.. unless i come close to the servers... what sould be the problem... any help pls..
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 06:57 AM   #2
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

Does your colleague have the exact same device as yours?
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 09:15 AM   #3
SteveO86
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator
 
SteveO86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.280
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS
Posts: 6,534
Default

What OS are you running might be worth to update the software. You can find the latest OS in the 89xx forum.

Have you tried a battery pull?

Wireless is a fun animal.
__________________
8830 -> 8330 -> 9550 -> 9650
Just think about how far BlackBerries have come from then till now... And what else is coming.

Follow me on Twitter
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 10:12 AM   #4
Milan8820
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 15
Default

Blackberry will not connect to a server but it will connect to a ROUTER that's attached to the server. Chances are that you are simply too far away form the router and cant pick up a signal.
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 09:11 PM   #5
ariesm
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: smart
Posts: 8
Default

one has an Iphon and the other's a nokia 5800 i guess.. the touch screen one... tried the battery pull to no effect... planning to update OS.. problem is i dont have the data cable... still using V4.6.1.310 (platform 4.2.0.127)
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 09:48 PM   #6
ariesm
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: smart
Posts: 8
Default

ok i stand corrected... i my BB 8900 has weak wifi reception... cant pick up networks as easily as iPhone and Nokia 5800... hadware issue.. or OS?
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 10:08 PM   #7
SteveO86
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator
 
SteveO86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.280
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS
Posts: 6,534
Default

Could be either or did you try updating your OS?
__________________
8830 -> 8330 -> 9550 -> 9650
Just think about how far BlackBerries have come from then till now... And what else is coming.

Follow me on Twitter
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 10:42 PM   #8
ariesm
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: smart
Posts: 8
Default

Wiped my BB already.. no improvement... upgrading to a new OS is not an option right now coz i dont have a data cable yet... my oh my.. lost my data for nothing at all... tsk tsk tsk... is it normal for BB8900 to have weak reception.... starting to be dismayed with my BB...
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


APPLE 630-0895-B  VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE picture

APPLE 630-0895-B VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE

$74.77



APPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD  picture

APPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD

$149.99



128K RAM - APPLE - ORIGINAL APPLE prototype BOARD picture

128K RAM - APPLE - ORIGINAL APPLE prototype BOARD

$408.75







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.