BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2010, 05:53 PM   #1
moneymark2005
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 9
Default can't install 5.0 on curve 8520

Please Login to Remove!

I have a 8520 and I recently tried to upgrade to 5.0 and the desktop managers keeps telling me that no software updates are required for my device. I currently have the 4.6.1.259. Anybody know why I cant upgrade or how to do it? i have no data plan and i have deleted the vendor file in app loader afer that is there another vendor file somewhere. what are the next steps. thanks for your help.
Offline  
Old 08-17-2010, 07:09 PM   #2
Superh3ro
CrackBerry Addict
 
Superh3ro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kuwait
Model: 9900
OS: 7.0.0.598
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Zain kw
Posts: 578
Default

this will be helpful

How do I upgrade the OS on my BlackBerry? - BlackBerryFAQ
__________________
-->>xxx1090;wixxx1090;xxx1090;exxx1103;
-->>facexxx1074;ooxxx954;

xxx9608;xxx9553;xxx9612;xxx9474;xxx9608;xxx9474;xxx9553;xxx9612;xxx9553;xxx9474;xxx9474;xxx9608;xxx9553;xxx9612;xxx9474;xxx9553;xxx9608;xxx9474;
supexxx1103;xxx1085;xxx1079;roxxx63743;xxx1084;ac.coxxx1084;
Offline  
Old 08-17-2010, 07:39 PM   #3
moneymark2005
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 9
Default

no luck
Offline  
Old 08-17-2010, 09:49 PM   #4
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

Actually it wasn't helpful.

The problem is you don't have a data plan. OS 5 will not install EASILY without a data plan. Search or hunt around for threads on how to install OS 5 without a data plan. It can be done, it is just more work.
Offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 11:28 AM   #5
calvinhart
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Model: torch
PIN: N/A
Carrier: orange
Posts: 1
Default Re: can't install 5.0 on curve 8520

i have exactly the same problem! we have two blackberry curve 8520 and one has updated to 5 but the other says no update required!!!!
Offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 02:07 PM   #6
Calebrity
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Calebrity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Model: 9900
OS: 7.x.x.x
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin mobile
Posts: 374
Default Re: can't install 5.0 on curve 8520

I have had to downgrade to DTM 5.0 and it installed from there for 1 of my 8520, it will accept the update if your are going from 5.0 to a higher 5.0, but if your going from 4.6 to 5.0 then it will give issues with DTM 6.0 saying about the data plan.
__________________
Current Device Bold 9900
Other Devices: to many to list before Signature restrictions
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


MSA 10116926 Altair 5X Gas Detector Industrial Kit - LEL, O2, CO, H2S picture

MSA 10116926 Altair 5X Gas Detector Industrial Kit - LEL, O2, CO, H2S

$1500.00



MSA 10074137 Oxygen Altair Pro Single Gas Detector (O2) picture

MSA 10074137 Oxygen Altair Pro Single Gas Detector (O2)

$200.00



Altair WBS-202 Dual channel wireless intercom base station picture

Altair WBS-202 Dual channel wireless intercom base station

$1350.00



MSA 10042621 Altair 5X Sampling Probe Straight Air-Line 1' Color Black (E2) picture

MSA 10042621 Altair 5X Sampling Probe Straight Air-Line 1' Color Black (E2)

$295.00



MSA ALTAIR 4XR 10178557 Detector Multi Gas Meter (LEL, O2, CO, H2S) picture

MSA ALTAIR 4XR 10178557 Detector Multi Gas Meter (LEL, O2, CO, H2S)

$790.00



Altair2X Co Instrument CO Gas Detector picture

Altair2X Co Instrument CO Gas Detector

$399.99







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.