Closed Thread

Old 08-28-2008, 04:24 PM   #1
machiavell1
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 9700
Carrier: O2-UK
Default Employer monitoring BIS/BES and general berry traffic

Please Login to Remove!

I have searched for this and found some partial responses. Additionally, I didn't want to resurrect age old threads, so please excuse this.

Leaving aside the legality one way or another (I am a lawyer and I am well aware of the various arguments relating to privacy expectations and practice at work), I wanted to know how much the employer can monitor in the following scenario (which is the scenario I have been offered at work!).

Using my personal blackberry, provisioned for work emails and berry messenger on BES and voice calls on the corporate account, but with my own personal emails coming through BIS.

I gather from the prior search I have made that my employer can basically (if it so chooses) read all BES emails, the contents of all SMS and get call logs. Additionally, it seems that it can also monitor my berry messenger chats (together with all websites etc) - is that correct?

Secondly - and this is the bit I couldn't get an answer to - can my employer read the emails delivered by BIS or is that somehow segregated away from the monitoring that can be done on BES?

Thanks in advance.
Old 08-28-2008, 04:29 PM   #2
kjjb0204
BlackBerry Extraordinaire

Model: 9630
Carrier: VZW

If you are on BES, the BES admin can see anything and everything you do on your BB. Whether it's ethical or legal, I don't know. If it's a company issued device, they have every right to see what they want. If it's a personal device and they allowed you to activate on their BES, not sure if they have the right to view your personal activity, but they certainly have the ability.
Old 08-28-2008, 04:37 PM   #3
machiavell1

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjjb0204 View Post