BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 05-19-2010, 01:12 PM   #1
sac17

Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Default how to move sms messages & contacts from e51 to Blackberry curve 8520 ?

Please Login to Remove!

I was using a Nokia e51 and I have some important SMS messages that I'd like to transfer to my new Blackberry Curve 8520, I'm new to this so please help me out.

Spent a few hours online searching, downloaded all the ABC Amber Blackberry converter, text converter, vcard converter, nokia converter and could not get any help from any of them. Contacts is not such a problem, but i managed to export nokia messages from Nokia PC Suite to .csv file but I'm unable to import/merge into Blackberry Desktop Manager

I found this on the Blackberry site:
To import contacts from an CSV file to the BlackBerry device, complete the following steps:
1. Connect the BlackBerry device to the computer.
2. Open BlackBerry Desktop Manager and double-click Intellisync.
3. In the Intellisync® window, click Configure PIM.
4. Select the Address Book check box, and then click Choose.
5. Select ASCII Import/Export and click Export.
6. Click Browse and type BlackBerry.csv for the file name. This will create the file BlackBerry.csv.
7. Click Open. When prompted with the message This File does not exist, click Yes.
8. In the Choose Application section, click OK, and then click OK on Configuration.
9. Click Synchronize Now. This will create the CSV file with the field mapping required to add
contacts.
10. Add the contact to the CSV file, and then repeat step 4.
11. Select ASCII Import/Export and click Import.
12. Click Synchronize Now. This imports the contact from the CSV file to the BlackBerry device.

but the new version of BLackberry Desktop Manager does not have "Intellisync" and if you go to Synchronize & configure; there is no option there for messages.