BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2010, 10:59 AM   #1
niceonedave
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 30
Default Blackberry Code Signing and JDE Version??

Please Login to Remove!

I have been developing an app for a while using JDE version 4.3.0. I have a code signing key that I have been using to sign the CODs and everything has worked fine on all devices. I now want to upgrade the JDE (I have tried both 4.7.0 and 5.0.0 beta). I have an ANT script that does all the building and signing of the app and I have upgraded the following files that it references:

net_rim_api.jar
preverify.exe
rapc.exe
rapc.jar
SignatureTool.jar

I am able to build the application fine (during the signing part I do get the following prompt though: Please enter your private key password to update and re-encrypt your private key information file.) but when I try to run it on a device I get the following error at startup:

Error starting abc: Module 'xyz' must be signed with the RIM Runtime Code Signing Key (RRT).

Do I need to get a new key for each version of the JDE that I compile against or should the key that I have been using with JDE 4.3.0 also work with newer versions of the JDE? And if so does anyone have any ideas why I am now getting this error?

N.B. I am currently testing with a 9700 device.
Offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 11:03 AM   #2
Dougsg38p
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Default

you need to copy the sigtool.* files from the /bin directory of the original JDE, to the new installations.
Offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 11:12 AM   #3
niceonedave
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 30
Default

I have a directory that contains the SignatureTool.jar file (not in the JDE bin directory). This directory also contains the sigtool.csk and sigtool.db file. So these files are already in place.
Offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 11:28 AM   #4
niceonedave
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 30
Default

OK, so an update. When I compile using the old rapc.exe I notice that the SignatureTool does include the RRT signer. But with the new one it doesn't, any ideas why this would be?
Offline  
Old 03-30-2010, 07:02 AM   #5
niceonedave
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 30
Default

Does anyone have any advice whatsoever on updating from one JDE to another? I still can't get my app to run after compiling with 4.7.0 or 5.0.0 beta. I ordered a new set of code signing keys from RIM in case that was the problem, but it appears they have just sent me a copy of the same keys I had before. I get an error when running the csi files that there are no more registration attempts available.
Offline  
Old 03-30-2010, 07:38 AM   #6
Dougsg38p
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Default

I have been copying my sigtool.* from one JDE to another, since 4.0.1. So far, no issues.
Offline  
Old 03-30-2010, 07:56 AM   #7
niceonedave
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 30
Default

What are all the sigtool.* files you have. I only have .csk and .db But I seem to remember someone before saying there were 3 of them. This was one of the reasons I ordered a new set of keys, so that I could recreate these files.
Offline  
Old 03-30-2010, 08:47 AM   #8
Dougsg38p
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Default

sigtool.db
sigtool.csk
sigtool.set

These are located in:

C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.2.1\bin

(on my dev system).
Offline  
Old 03-30-2010, 09:14 AM   #9
niceonedave
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 30
Default

Right, so I am missing the .set file. Any idea what is in that file?
Offline  
Old 03-30-2010, 10:26 AM   #10
Dougsg38p
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Default

Not much. Looks like component size and position data.

Contents of mine:

#This file contains the settings for the Signature Tool.
#Sun Jan 24 10:38:28 CST 2010
tableHeight=576
frameHeight=400
tableWidth=602
4=154
frameWidth=650
3=41
2=58
1=115
0=234

However, I don't think this is your problem. How are you invoking the signature tool?
Offline  
Old 03-30-2010, 10:38 AM   #11
niceonedave
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 30
Default

It is all done in an ANT script, this is the ANT target

Code:
<!-- Sign COD modules to allow access to secure APIs -->
<target name="requestSignature" description="Request signature to access secure APIs on the device">
	<java jar="${blackberry.lib.dir}/SignatureTool.jar" fork="true" failonerror="true">
		<arg line="-a -C"/>
		<arg line="'${output.cod.dir}/${module.name}.cod'"/>
		<arg line="'${output.cod.dir}/${options.module.name}.cod'"/>
	</java>
</target>
The SignatureTool.jar and sigtool.* files are in ${blackberry.lib.dir} along with all of the other tools like rapc.exe, rapc.jar, net_rim_api.jar
Offline  
Old 03-30-2010, 01:11 PM   #12
Dougsg38p
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Default

One thing that I recall - the signature format changed between 4.2.1 and JDE 4.5

Whan I first moved a project to JDE 4.5 and copied the sig tools, the system told me it was updating the format and cranked for a few seconds.

Maybe this is failing "silently' in batch mode?
Offline  
Old 03-31-2010, 04:00 AM   #13
niceonedave
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 30
Default

To be honest, I don't think the signing is failing. The CODs get signed, but they don't get signed with the RRT key, so I get an exception when I try to start the app. As soon as I compile with a newer version of rapc.exe the signature tool doesn't use the RRT key (I can see that in the list on the signature tool).
Offline  
Old 03-31-2010, 07:51 AM   #14
Dougsg38p
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Default

Now that you mention it, I do recall an issue where RRT shows "optional" when building on 4.5 for a certain package (don't remember which), so the sig tool doesn't sign it. However, when you run on the device, it throws the security exception.

Take a look at this:

Re: Move signing keys to a new computer... - BlackBerry Support Community Forums

I recall that we hit this issue on one project, and wound up adding a reference to some additional secured API that we didn't need, just to force the RRT signature.
Offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 11:18 AM   #15
niceonedave
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 30
Default

Any idea what the reference was? It definitely seems like that is my problem too. I looked at the .cso file that is produced by rapc and it doesn't include the line '52525400=RIM Runtime API'. I interrupted the build process and manually added that line to the file and then called the signing target manually and this time it did sign using RRT. I just need to find a way of getting it to work without having to manually update the file now.
Offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 05:45 PM   #16
Dougsg38p
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Default

I don't, but you might experiment with referencing a few "secured" API's and see what works.
Offline  
Old 04-07-2010, 05:46 AM   #17
niceonedave
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 30
Default

Ok, so I made sure there are some references to secured APIs but it still didn't work.
Offline  
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Unifi Talk UVP Touch VOIP IP Phone Unlocked picture

Unifi Talk UVP Touch VOIP IP Phone Unlocked

$139.99



Unifi Talk UVP Touch VOIP IP Phone Unlocked picture

Unifi Talk UVP Touch VOIP IP Phone Unlocked

$150.00



Vtech ErisTerminal VSP861 Touchscreen Color Desktop - Voice-Over-IP VOIP Phone picture

Vtech ErisTerminal VSP861 Touchscreen Color Desktop - Voice-Over-IP VOIP Phone

$14.99



"NEW" RingCentral Polycom VVX 311 6-Line VoIP IP SIP Business Media Phone

$12.95



Allworx Verge 9312 Voip IP Color Display Phone 8113120 Gigabit & Backlit picture

Allworx Verge 9312 Voip IP Color Display Phone 8113120 Gigabit & Backlit

$199.00



Cisco CP-8811-K9 Unified Office IP VoIP PoE Business Phone w/ Stand & Handset picture

Cisco CP-8811-K9 Unified Office IP VoIP PoE Business Phone w/ Stand & Handset

$14.99







Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.