BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 06-14-2006, 10:14 AM   #1
dnelson82

Model: 7130e
Default Development

Please Login to Remove!

I would like to start programming different little apps for my blackberry. I have downloaded the API and I am going to use Eclipse as my editor.

What does everyone use as their editor? Which is better for the blackberry development?

Once I have the editor, could someone please give me a high level overview of where I begin in trying to add a new feature to my blackberry? I'm new to this but not new to programming.

Any help would be great. Thanks.
Old 06-15-2006, 03:43 AM   #2
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict

Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile

you'd probably be better off starting with rims own development environment until you're better aquanted with the api.

you can develop in:
- rims own jde
- rims mds studio (for web service based apps)
- eclipse (if you're happy messing with ant tasks)
- netbeans (my choice)
Old 06-15-2006, 03:47 AM   #3
simon.hain
CrackBerry Addict

Model: 8900
Carrier: o2

personally i use the RIM JDE most of the time, it has its limits but the integration with simulator and signing tool is helpful.
i think you can include the simulator into eclipse (read this thread), i tried it for some time, didn't manage to have it run properly so decided to stay with the JDE.

to begin with programming i would suggest to build a screen, a menu and maybe a second screen. put in some functionality and create a socketconnection to some server-component and transfer the data.
if you are familiar with java a sql-connector (running on a PC) is a nice thing to have, if you discover the possibilities you get ideas quickly
Old 06-15-2006, 03:55 AM   #4
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict

you can integrate the simulator into netbeans too:

http://www.meshtech.net/weblog/archi...erry_appl.html

i've written a module to import the 'string to long' function also:

http://www.meshtech.net/weblog/archi...or_blackb.html