BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2007, 04:31 AM   #1
balaji6969
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 31
Thumbs down Configuring to netbeans

Please Login to Remove!

hi
i configured blackberry jde 4.1 to netbeans 5.5.
Everything is fine and working.But System statements are not comming in output space.What should i do to display them.
Regards,
Balaji.K
Offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 05:39 AM   #2
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

when debugging from netbeans a simulator control panel should open which in turn spawns the simulator - this screen has a sys output tab
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 06:52 AM   #3
balaji6969
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 31
Thumbs down

Thanks for the response.
Can u say where the simulator panel be to start.
Regards,
Balaji.K
Offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:15 AM   #4
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

have you got netbeans spawning your simulator at all? by editing the build.xml file in netbeans?
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 11:49 PM   #5
balaji6969
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 31
Thumbs down

hi
sorry,I havnt understood.
In build.xml i am adding the following code.What should i do more.

<target name="pre-jar">
<available file="${platform.home}/bin/rapc.exe" property="do.rapc"/>
<condition property="jpda.port" value="8000">
<isset property="do.rapc"/>
</condition>
</target>
<target name="post-jar" if="do.rapc">
<exec dir="${platform.home}/simulator" executable="${platform.home}/bin/rapc.exe" failonerror="true">
<arg value="import=${platform.bootclasspath}"/>
<arg value="codename=${name}"/>

<arg value="jad=${basedir}/${dist.dir}/${dist.jad}"/>
<arg value="${basedir}/${dist.dir}/${dist.jar}"/>
</exec>
</target>
<target name="post-clean">
<delete failonerror="false">
<fileset dir="${platform.home}/simulator">
<include name="**/${name}.*"/>
</fileset>
</delete>
</target>
Offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 02:43 AM   #6
dollars5
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 335
Default

balaji6969 - to be frank - in the beginning when our company entered into Blackberry dev, we did play around with using netbeans for BB dev (we used it for other JavaME devs so no special training needed and many features of netbeans made us think that way) - but now we really find RIM's JDE a lot better for BB dev.

So this is how we continue our development, BB=JDE, non-BB=Netbeans. I would also advice you to follow this path as we spend really lot of time into getting netbeans develop BB apps, though we were able to do it, it was not as useful as JDE - Just our suggestion.
__________________
Dollars 5 Complete - Making Mobile Complete
Offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 04:12 AM   #7
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

i must disagree - i've been much much more productive since setting up netbeans for bb - the intellisense is poor in the rim jde and netbeans has so many more useful features that the rim jde lacks (not least being very good refactoring). netbeans ui is also much snappier, the rim jde feels sluggish.

the way i have development set up (and i've heard other do the same) is to use netbeans for main dev but use the rim jde for debugging and compiling as it is quicker to build, that way you get the best of both worlds.

i've been doing this for over a year now and the benefits are huge.

an example build xml:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<project name="" default="jar" basedir=".">
<description>Builds, tests, and runs the project .</description>
<import file="nbproject/build-impl.xml"/>
<property name="rim.blackberry.home" location="C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.2.0"/>
<property name="rim.blackberry.emulator" value="8100"/>

<target name="post-jar">
<exec os="Windows NT Windows 95 Windows 98 Windows 2000 Windows XP" dir="${dist.dir}" executable="${rim.blackberry.home}/bin/rapc.exe" failonerror="true" resolveExecutable="true">
<arg value="import=${rim.blackberry.home}/lib/net_rim_api.jar"/>
<arg value="codename=${name}"/>
<arg value="${dist.jad}"/>
<arg value="${dist.jar}"/>
</exec>
<copy file="meshPing.alx" todir="${dist.dir}"/>
</target>

<target name="run" depends="init,jar">
<copy todir="C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.2.0\simulator" verbose="true">
<fileset dir="${dist.dir}">
<include name="**/${name}.*"/>
</fileset>
</copy>
<exec os="Windows NT Windows 95 Windows 98 Windows 2000 Windows XP" dir="C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.2.0\simulator" executable="C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry Device Simulators 4.1.0\Device Simulators 4.1.0.316/${rim.blackberry.emulator}.bat" failonerror="true" resolveExecutable="true"/>
</target>

<target name="debug" depends="init,jar">
<copy todir="C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.2.0\simulator" verbose="true">
<fileset dir="${dist.dir}">
<include name="**/${name}.*"/>
</fileset>
</copy>
<delete file="${preprocessed.dir}/.timestamp"/>
<parallel>
<property name="jpda.port" value="8000"/>
<java jar="${rim.blackberry.home}/bin/JDWP.jar" fork="true" dir="${rim.blackberry.home}/bin">
<jvmarg value="-Xmx128M"/>
</java>
<sequential>
<sleep seconds="5"/>
<antcall target="nbdebug"/>
</sequential>
</parallel>
</target>

<target name="post-clean">
<echo>Post clean</echo>
<delete>
<fileset dir="C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.2.0\simulator">
<include name="**/${name}.*"/>
</fileset>
</delete>
</target>
</project>
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 09:08 AM   #8
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

update - i've just cobbled together this guide: Blackberry Netbeans Development

it might help, if anyone has anything to add to it please please let me know - it'd be nice to have a very thorough definitive document.
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 01:19 AM   #9
balaji6969
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 31
Thumbs down

hi jfisher
i think the xml code you gave is for jde4.2.Can you give it for jde 4.1 ,as i want to integrate jde 4.1
Regards,
Balaji.K
Offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 06:21 AM   #10
tchyppp
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 7100t
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfisher
update - i've just cobbled together this guide: (URL was here)

it might help, if anyone has anything to add to it please please let me know - it'd be nice to have a very thorough definitive document.

Hello,

I followed your guide in integrating BB development with NetBeans. I did this before, following the NB site guide, but I still can't debug properly. That is, it does not stop at breakpoints. Everything else works ok. Can you help me with this?

Thank you!
Offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 02:48 PM   #11
rivviepop
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
rivviepop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: san francisco
Model: 8320
PIN: n/a
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 2,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfisher
update - i've just cobbled together this guide: Blackberry Netbeans Development
Awesome! Immediate del.icio.us save.

Quote:
it might help, if anyone has anything to add to it please please let me know - it'd be nice to have a very thorough definitive document.
OK since I know you're a linux user....any easy way to integrate the raw jar files into Netbeans? I've got the standard 5.5 + Mobility Pack installed and can create a nice little Hello World, looking for some way to not use Windows to get net_rim_api all set up.

Maybe.... install the BB JDK on Windows, zip it up and use it that way? I realize rapc, simulator (et. al) are a no-go but at least I could program to the API if I got it integrated.
__________________
[ Linux & BlackBerry ] http://www.blackberryforums.com/linux-users-corner/
Offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 03:40 AM   #12
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by balaji6969
hi jfisher
i think the xml code you gave is for jde4.2.Can you give it for jde 4.1 ,as i want to integrate jde 4.1
Regards,
Balaji.K
just replace all the 4.2 bits to 4.1....

Quote:
Originally Posted by tchyppp
Hello,

I followed your guide in integrating BB development with NetBeans. I did this before, following the NB site guide, but I still can't debug properly. That is, it does not stop at breakpoints. Everything else works ok. Can you help me with this?

Thank you!
Not managed that myself - but i use the rim jde to build and debug as it seems nearly twice as quick to compile (it's just let down by lack of features and a sluggish ui)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rivviepop
Maybe.... install the BB JDK on Windows, zip it up and use it that way? I realize rapc, simulator (et. al) are a no-go but at least I could program to the API if I got it integrated.
Not tried bb dev in linux either - i've used ubuntu for over a year now but not being able to run the simulators means it's not worth attempting (for me at least! - i actually like windows!)
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 12:09 PM   #13
rivviepop
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
rivviepop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: san francisco
Model: 8320
PIN: n/a
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 2,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfisher
Not tried bb dev in linux either - i've used ubuntu for over a year now but not being able to run the simulators means it's not worth attempting (for me at least! - i actually like windows!)
Gotcha. While my current setup is a dual-boot (for maximum USB stuff, like upgrading firmwares) I was thinking about using that new VMware "scraper" to lift the physical image and make it a VM instance as well, so that I could mess with the offical BB JDK setup. Probably the most sane course of action...

(btw I really like the asthetic of your website. kudos. )
__________________
[ Linux & BlackBerry ] http://www.blackberryforums.com/linux-users-corner/
Offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 02:50 PM   #14
rnickel
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Model: 9700
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 92
Default

Good article. I linked to it from my blog
__________________
http://www.ryannickel.com for my awesomeness!
Offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 07:10 AM   #15
tchyppp
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 7100t
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfisher

Not managed that myself - but i use the rim jde to build and debug as it seems nearly twice as quick to compile (it's just let down by lack of features and a sluggish ui)

I also use the BB JDE to debug and sign the app, but I want to use one IDE (other than BB JDE) to code, run and debug. It would save some time and nerves.

I tried to integrate it in Eclipse, but I cannot write code there as I get no insight of available classes and methods when pressing Ctrl+SPACE.
Offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 01:17 PM   #16
dane
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 7290
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 4
Default

I can debug with breakpoints etc. in NetBeans for BB development just fine... I use NetBeans for all development and testing and I use JDE only to make a release build (probably does a better job, and also NetBeans doesn't create the application icon...)

jfishers article should give you the neccessary setup...

Also, you have to run the project in NetBeans with "Debug main project", so BB's remote debug server is started...
Offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 05:58 AM   #17
tchyppp
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 7100t
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dane
I can debug with breakpoints etc. in NetBeans for BB development just fine... I use NetBeans for all development and testing and I use JDE only to make a release build (probably does a better job, and also NetBeans doesn't create the application icon...)

jfishers article should give you the neccessary setup...

Also, you have to run the project in NetBeans with "Debug main project", so BB's remote debug server is started...
I tryed jfishers build.xml. I had the one from the NB site, but both of them don't work for me when debugging. The Remote Debug Server starts, I have access to the console output, but it won't stop at breakpoints.

Am I doing something wrong?
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 05:49 AM   #18
TheBigEasy
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8700v
Carrier: VodaFone
Posts: 16
Default

Jonathan,
I have followed your guide up to the point of entering the build.xml data.
I have replaced ALL the code in the build.xml file with your code but I have errors. The TAB at the top of the build.xml file has a red cross against it and the project will not compile. I get the following
xxx8220;The processing instruction target matching "[xX][mM][lL]" is not allowed.xxx8221;

I guess I am being stupid as it seems others have followed the guide and had no problems.
Any ideas?
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 07:46 AM   #19
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

just double checked and there might be a node or two missing... will look into it this afternoon, sorry for the trouble!!!
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 08:50 AM   #20
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

nope, copied the file and ran a project with it no problems, if you can post a screen shot of the error.
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


1pcs used TSXMFPP128K Memory Card picture

1pcs used TSXMFPP128K Memory Card

$175.00



Lot of 2 ALLEN BRADLEY 1747-M11 SER B MEMORY MODULE **NEW** picture

Lot of 2 ALLEN BRADLEY 1747-M11 SER B MEMORY MODULE **NEW**

$194.88



Lot Of 2 Samsung ESD DIMM DDR Memory Tray 25 Pcs DDR2 DDR3 DDR4 w/ Original Box picture

Lot Of 2 Samsung ESD DIMM DDR Memory Tray 25 Pcs DDR2 DDR3 DDR4 w/ Original Box

$10.50



Desktop Memory Case Tray Case for PC DDR DRAM RAM DIMM Modules - 2 fits 100 New picture

Desktop Memory Case Tray Case for PC DDR DRAM RAM DIMM Modules - 2 fits 100 New

$20.50



Argolladora We R Memory Keepers Heidi Swapp Cinch Binding Machine 71050-9 by AC picture

Argolladora We R Memory Keepers Heidi Swapp Cinch Binding Machine 71050-9 by AC

$79.99



WIFI Audio Voice Recorder Live Real-Time Audio Thru App | Charger & 32GB SD Card picture

WIFI Audio Voice Recorder Live Real-Time Audio Thru App | Charger & 32GB SD Card

$129.00







Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.