BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2008, 06:16 AM   #1
asianmaze
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: 9520
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 155
Default replacing Pearl tomorrow - can't use 'SWITCH DEVICE'

Please Login to Remove!

Hi All

After a week of my Pearl losing charge in minutes, Tmo are sending me a replacement tomorrow. The problem is that I'm away from home, working, so the new phone is coming to my hotel. I won't be able to hand over the old one / receive the new one personally, so Reception will be doing this while I'm at work.

It means that I won't be able to use the Switch Device in Desktop Manager as this needs both devices (new and old) to be present.

The question is, can I simply use the Desktop Manager Restore function to do the same thing?

I will be retaining the memory card and the sim for the new device. I have backed everything up and I will change the IMEI and PIN in the TMo instantemail settings.Is there anything else I need to think about to make the switch as seamless as poss?

Thanks for any help received.
__________________
Asianmaze

"There is something about jumping a horse over a fence, something that makes you feel good." William Faulkner
Offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 06:53 AM   #2
ezrunner
EPIC MOD
 
ezrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Model: ZED10
OS: DOS 3.1
PIN: INK STICK
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 12,214
Default

Wirelessly posted (off to see the wizard)

Yes you can use the restore feature if I recall properly
__________________
ZED 10
Offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 07:02 AM   #3
dstaff
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: Z10
OS: 10.0.10.8
PIN: G
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 138
Default

Yes you should be able to restore your backup to your new device. I did the same thing when I switched carriers. I had to clean up a few things that were carrier specific, like the Service books, but my contacts and calendar were restored with no problem
__________________
BlackBerry Z10 - 10.0.10.85
Offline  
Old 10-31-2008, 09:55 AM   #4
asianmaze
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: 9520
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 155
Default phew

Thanks all - Tmo delivered, and all is working fine. I can stop chewing my fingers now...
__________________
Asianmaze

"There is something about jumping a horse over a fence, something that makes you feel good." William Faulkner
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Capacitor new as labeled
$16.5
Capacitor new  as labeled pictureFieldpiece SC660 Wireless Swivel Clamp Meter HVACR
$219.95
Fieldpiece SC660 Wireless Swivel Clamp Meter HVACR pictureUEi DL379B Digital HVAC Clamp Meter - Yellow (DL379B)
$99.99
UEi DL379B Digital HVAC Clamp Meter - Yellow (DL379B) pictureUEi DL379B Digital HVAC Clamp Meter - Yellow (DL379B)
$49.0
UEi DL379B Digital HVAC Clamp Meter - Yellow (DL379B) pictureTITAN PRO RUN CAPACITOR, 5 MFD, 440/370 VAC
$10.0
TITAN PRO RUN CAPACITOR, 5 MFD, 440/370 VAC picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.