BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2009, 08:18 PM   #61
tankee531
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tankee531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.x
PIN: xxxx
Carrier: Singtel
Posts: 375
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kras View Post
For people who'd like the East Asian variant of this release, SingTel has made this available for its customers here:

blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=3DD48AB31D016FFCBF3314DF2B3CB9CE

Because of my status on the forum, I am still unable to post a proper link in replies. Therefore, for the above link, please add https:// www (less the space before the "www") at the front...

Mods may want to add that to the first post and respectively change the title of the thread to reflect the availability of both EastAsian and Multilanguage packs? Cheers!
Thanks ! Downloading now :D
Offline  
Old 09-22-2009, 11:35 PM   #62
phayes72
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.680
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarplexxus View Post
I am using Windows 7.

I may need to try it under XP.
I upgraded to .301 with no problems running Windows 7 Ultimate x64. I ran loader.exe instead of Update Applications in DM.
Offline  
Old 09-22-2009, 11:48 PM   #63
Coburn64
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus Australia
Posts: 14
Default

OK, so this is a 'unlocked' build, right? So if I was to install this, it wouldn't lock me to some overseas crowd?

Sorry for the silly question, just that I remember flashing firmware that was the latest version for one of my old phones that was locked to T-Mobile instead of unlocked.
Offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 06:05 AM   #64
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

upgrading the OS does NOT re-lock an unlocked Blackberry.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 06:42 AM   #65
knoppe01
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 41
Default

Has anyone verified that ATT VVM would still work with this version ?
Offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 07:09 AM   #66
dsk699
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: bold
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone UK
Posts: 7
Default

Lost the ability to change call volume on this OS... anyone else?
Offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 07:19 AM   #67
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

Nope.
Offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 12:00 PM   #68
culture
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Waterloo
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.442
Carrier: Robbers
Posts: 134
Default

ive been running this for a week or two now, and im downgrading back to .297. The icons load ridiculously slow.
Offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 08:05 PM   #69
capkapak
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.301
Carrier: Maxis
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandel View Post
Agree with Rudysan. There was an option in the menu to "View History" which is very convenient... this option is now gone. Wonder why.
I still have it as well.
Offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 09:12 PM   #70
tankee531
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tankee531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.x
PIN: xxxx
Carrier: Singtel
Posts: 375
Default

I still have the call history, could it be a case of setting of full or partial menu?

And for me the image thumbnails loading speed is the same as before.
Offline  
Old 09-24-2009, 05:29 AM   #71
Mandel
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Paris & Beirut
Model: 9981
OS: 7.1.0.523
Carrier: Orange FR & Etisalat AE
Posts: 334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandel View Post
Agree with Rudysan. There was an option in the menu to "View History" which is very convenient... this option is now gone. Wonder why.
Here is the answer to this "intriguing" situation.

To have the option of "View history", you must have the option "Call Log" selected under Options/General Options, and then in "Phone List View".

Pick "Call Log".

If you pick, "Most Recent", then the view history option does not appear.
Offline  
Old 09-24-2009, 03:24 PM   #72
jimfraser
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Q10
OS: 10.2.1.21
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 439
Default

I had .297 on for about 2 weeks and it seemed to work OK. However, since I am not on ATT and do not use VVM I upgraded to .301 while .297 was suspended and before ATT brought back a revised .297.
Initial memory was over 36 megs which was high for me. As with all fresh installs it was a high and has now settled down, even after battery pull. I would guess it is the same as .297, which was significantly better than recent pre ,297 OS's.
Can't say that so far that there is any noticable differences to the suspended .297 version.
Will not be chaging to the upgraded version of .297, because as noted, I do not use VVM.
Offline  
Old 09-24-2009, 03:38 PM   #73
jimfraser
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Q10
OS: 10.2.1.21
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 439
Default What desktop Manager to use?

I use desktop manager and not loader.exe, as I find that when I use DM I get reactivated on the BES, while I did not get reactivated the one time I used loader.exe and had to get the IT prople to issue a new activation code.
I have docs to go premium and on the upgrade to .301 I deleted the alx file as noted in an earlier thread on the .297, and indead was able to upgrade without loosing documents to go premium. However, I noticed on the RIM site that the problem with upgrading to an OS when you have documents to go premium, is an issue with DM 4.6 which has been solved with DM 4.7 so that with DM 4.7 you need not go in a delete the doc to go alx file.
I also seem to recall some time ago that there may be issues with using DM 4.7 with the Bold or other devices which use (so far) 4.6 OS software.
Is there any current reason why I should not use DM 4.7 when upgrading the OS on my bold in the future?
Offline  
Old 09-25-2009, 11:28 AM   #74
andrew_saja
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 4
Default

there's already new version 5.0 do you already now?
Offline  
Old 09-25-2009, 03:08 PM   #75
fonejunkie
Just me
 
fonejunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: iFone
OS: iOS4
PIN: Not on my iPhone5
Carrier: iPhone5 on AT&T Mobility
Posts: 2,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew_saja View Post
there's already new version 5.0 do you already now?
Many people, including myself, are having issues with DM 5.x... the backup is constantly reporting database corruption, etc.

I am running 4.7 and will not move to 5.0 until I see proof that the database corruption is solved...

But this is not a thread about the DM software... so we now return you to our previously scheduled discussion.
Offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 12:55 AM   #76
Shadoe
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Shadoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany
Model: 9700
OS: 4.6.0.282
PIN: 21550631
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 51
Default

Good Morning,
So I had had this release installed since it came out.
I am a Mobile User in germany with T-Mobile as service provider.

I must say, this the the best release yet.
I have had no problems, the battery life is super, my bluethooth and wlan geht super.

No freezes oder battery pulls as of yet.
the At&t version did mot work as good for me as this release.

Cheers
Tim
__________________
Life is too Short!
Play Naked and Hard!

Blackberry 9700 / T-Mobile Germany / Pin: 21550631
Living in Sinsheim, Germany (Near Heidelberg)
Offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 07:20 AM   #77
L3stat
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.423
Carrier: SingTel
Posts: 94
Default

I'm probably the only one with this problem, but do any of you get a pop-up message when launching BB messenger with this version? The pop up says "Upgrade Available" and gives me a choice to get the download link, copy the link or to cancel. When the link is loaded, it points to a really old version (2005 release) of BBM meant for OS 4.0/4.1. Weird, and it happens sporadically. .282 that I upgraded from worked perfectly fine.
Offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 05:15 PM   #78
BoostedSupra
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
BoostedSupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: stl,mo
Model: 9000
PIN: 242035eb
Carrier: att
Posts: 89
Default

my VVM works, but the new message icon never goes away . did bat pulls , left myself another message, cleared the messages... it won't go away!!
Offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 09:33 AM   #79
JEEPers
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.225
PIN: 22C60153
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedSupra View Post
my VVM works, but the new message icon never goes away . did bat pulls , left myself another message, cleared the messages... it won't go away!!

Reinstall it again. One of the files prob got messed up. Or you cleared a vmail by calling in before the system updated it correctly on vvm. I had this issue with At&T. reinstall or let desktop manager fix the files that got screwed up.

Could be just at&t vvm though ...
Offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 09:56 PM   #80
Xaneth
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Xaneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 228
Default

Is it just me, or does this O/S take waaay too long to boot?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


NEW TASER X26 X26E X26C BATTERY DIGITAL POWER MAGAZINE WITH MEMORY CHIP 10-YR SL picture

NEW TASER X26 X26E X26C BATTERY DIGITAL POWER MAGAZINE WITH MEMORY CHIP 10-YR SL

$44.99



Nightingale CXO 6200D Memory Foam, Mesh, headrest , Lumbar Support Office Chair  picture

Nightingale CXO 6200D Memory Foam, Mesh, headrest , Lumbar Support Office Chair

$390.00



32G Voice Activated Mini Spy Digital Sound Audio Recorder Dictaphone MP3 Player picture

32G Voice Activated Mini Spy Digital Sound Audio Recorder Dictaphone MP3 Player

$30.49



Memory Foam Office Chair Armrest Pads With Cooling Gel Gaming Chair Arm Rest picture

Memory Foam Office Chair Armrest Pads With Cooling Gel Gaming Chair Arm Rest

$13.58



Mini Hidden Spy Digital Audio Voice Activated Recorder MP3 Playback Small Smart  picture

Mini Hidden Spy Digital Audio Voice Activated Recorder MP3 Playback Small Smart

$23.99



Aloudy Ergonomic Memory Foam Office Chair Armrest Pads, Comfy Gaming 2 per Pack picture

Aloudy Ergonomic Memory Foam Office Chair Armrest Pads, Comfy Gaming 2 per Pack

$13.99







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.