BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2010, 02:04 PM   #21
siliconvalley785
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Newtown, Pennsylvania, US
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1.0.205
PIN: 294AB6DD
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 80
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Any AT&T users using this have the MEdia Net and Browser icons, but both of which are taking you to the MEdia Net browser (with the AT&T World Phone logo) regardless of which icon is selected?

Ideas on how to fix?

Pritesh
Offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 02:42 PM   #22
spenillo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
spenillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey, US
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.282
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 19
Default

This is how I just fixed it, after upgrading to this new OS!

AT&T Browser not working via OS 5.0? Follow these steps to fix.. | PocketBerry
Offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 02:55 PM   #23
spenillo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
spenillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey, US
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.282
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 19
Default

I just upgraded my OS. It feels a lot quicker! Viewing pictures seems to load a 1,000 times faster. The upgrade told me I needed to update AIM and Blackberry Appworld. It was all automatic with a few clicks within the blackberry after the OS was loaded.

The camera does have that problem everyone else is mentioning, but it still takes pictures and you can turn on and off the flash (which is all I use). I had to restinall the new Blackberry Messenger 5.0 from the appworld. Make sure you save your contacts! So far so good!
Offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 03:20 PM   #24
devnull
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: I747
OS: 4.1.1
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 2,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spenillo View Post
This is how I just fixed it, after upgrading to this new OS!

AT&T Browser not working via OS 5.0? Follow these steps to fix.. | PocketBerry

Wow - An official OS release that requires the browser/VVM fixes and still has the non-functioning camera buttons. Something just doesn't seem right.
__________________
The Search tool and BlackBerryFAQ answer many questions.
Offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 04:42 PM   #25
ibodybuild
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 143
Default

Does the battery life improve?
Offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 05:22 PM   #26
tamazoid
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.680
Carrier: Rogers Wireless
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibodybuild View Post
Does the battery life improve?
I can't tell yet... But my application memory starts off at just under 17mb after a battery pull... I'm not running too many apps... It is because some apps don't work too well with OS 5?
Offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 06:20 PM   #27
miamirulz29
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
miamirulz29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The 305!
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0.0.592
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1,219
Default

Can you still use regular voicemail if this version does not include visual voicemail?
__________________
This isn't the real Caesar's Palace, is it?
What do you mean?
Did um, did Caesar live here?
Um... no.
I didn't think so.
Offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 06:22 PM   #28
darkamikaze
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0
PIN: 20d94251
Carrier: AT&T or Cingular
Posts: 198
Default

maybe RIM put up the wrong 9000 OS update D: !
__________________
----
Blackberry. It tastes good.
----
Offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 07:31 PM   #29
jimfraser
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Q10
OS: 10.2.1.21
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 439
Default

For an official version, it seems pretty rough. I surprised this was officially released with all its flaws. I think I will wait.
How much memory does this OS take compared to previous 4.6 OS's, particularly .303? I have lots of 3rd party programs and regualary get down to 17 mg in a few days. I note that Bold 9700 which comes with OS 5.0 as the native OS has twice the program memory.
Also, I am a little nervious with how all my third party programs will work with OS 5.0.
The bottom line is, except for 5.0 being the newest OS for the Bold, what advantages does OS 5.0 currently have over 4.6?
Offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 07:52 PM   #30
darkamikaze
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0
PIN: 20d94251
Carrier: AT&T or Cingular
Posts: 198
Default

mm the icons missing after you take a picture isn't too bad considering the same options is available when you click the menu button..
got VVM back using army knife..
and the ol browser through old CODs..
although my problem now is that the browser seems sloooow
__________________
----
Blackberry. It tastes good.
----
Offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 08:03 PM   #31
tankee531
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tankee531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.x
PIN: xxxx
Carrier: Singtel
Posts: 375
Default

upgraded mine about 15hrs ago .... just encountered the first self-reboot.

battery seems to drain faster than 4.6 but perhaps due to heavy usage (checking out 5.0 features) thus need further monitoring.
Offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 08:16 PM   #32
tamazoid
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.680
Carrier: Rogers Wireless
Posts: 85
Default

Ok... I re-installed most of my apps, and it was good for a while... And after being on for a couple hours, I'm getting major memory leak! I'm sitting around 12mb for some reason, and it fluctuate between 12-14 while I'm using it... I'm not sure if it's my apps or what... But they all seem to work... And no, I don't have them all opened.

Hopefully a better version comes out soon! I'm not going to bother downgrading. I can bare using it like this... It's not like I'm getting the hour glass or anything. Everything works really fast anyways!
Offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 05:22 AM   #33
the-economist
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Airport lounges and starbuxxx
Model: 9900
OS: 7.0.0.296
Carrier: Vodafone Business
Posts: 573
Default

Wirelessly posted

I've been using 411 on beta for a while now and it has been alright. Boot times slashed in half and those nasty reboots of the previous beta builds when changing from edge to 3G seem to have gone away.

I really didn't expect 411 to go official with such an obvious bug in the camera that greys two buttons out and only allows for a photo to either be taken or mailed. Its so THERE even for the common man which makes it even more unbelievable that a release team of trained engineers missed it. (Or chose to ignore it.) Not sure which one of the two is worse.
Offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 06:02 AM   #34
mic6
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: bold
PIN: N/A
Carrier: wind gr
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the-economist View Post
Wirelessly posted

I've been using 411 on beta for a while now and it has been alright. Boot times slashed in half and those nasty reboots of the previous beta builds when changing from edge to 3G seem to have gone away.

I really didn't expect 411 to go official with such an obvious bug in the camera that greys two buttons out and only allows for a photo to either be taken or mailed. Its so THERE even for the common man which makes it even more unbelievable that a release team of trained engineers missed it. (Or chose to ignore it.) Not sure which one of the two is worse.
the camera bug is not a problem
just click on the menu button after you take a pic and you have all options there

Last edited by mic6; 01-06-2010 at 06:03 AM..
Offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 07:12 AM   #35
mic6
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: bold
PIN: N/A
Carrier: wind gr
Posts: 73
Default

after trying both the beta and official .411 i have to admit that the beta version is much better

battery life and memory is better, love the extra input languages and the phone is overall faster with no reboots at all

wifi works better too (I think there is a bug on the official version)
Offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:13 AM   #36
jweinraub
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkamikaze View Post
mm the icons missing after you take a picture isn't too bad considering the same options is available when you click the menu button..
got VVM back using army knife..
and the ol browser through old CODs..
although my problem now is that the browser seems sloooow
how? i have army knife, used cods from older version, i get icon installed, but i get an error when i try to provision it, 122 Error Invalid Number. Please resend using a valid 10 digit mobile number or valid short code. Activate:Dt=6
Offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 12:13 PM   #37
Klotar
CrackBerry Addict
 
Klotar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Winnipeg MB Canada
Model: 9700R
OS: 7.1.0.190
PIN: On Request
Carrier: Rogers Wireless
Posts: 902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by devnull View Post
Wow - An official OS release that requires the browser/VVM fixes and still has the non-functioning camera buttons. Something just doesn't seem right.
Since Bell Mobility does not have VMM, it's release won't have VMM. And so when a VMM-enabled carrier releases an OS, the first thing I do is get rid of the VMM files. As for the browser, that seems to be somewhat carrier specific too. I have never had to do a browser fix, whether I wiped and reinstalled or did an upgrade from a 4.6 or a 5.0. Seems to be more AT&T specific, but that might just be because of more AT&T posters.

The camera bug, is a different matter. There is also an SMS bug in .411 but I have only seen it once (after the upgrade but before getting any new SMS's), but I deleted all my SMS's and haven't seen it since on new SMS's.

As carrier's approve and release these new OS's, they are tested against their network, not yours and mine (well, unless we happen to be on that network, of course). It could very well be "the best OS evah!", but not so hot for you and I. As users of leaks and OS's from other carriers, we are using OS's that may not be optimized for use on our networks.

Remember the unreleased 5.0.0.348 and how it wouldn't work on any AT&T Bold (reboot loop)? It worked perfectly for me, no reboots -- everything functioned perfectly -- for me, it was the best of all the 5.0 OS's (I'll probably go back to that one when I have time).
__________________
-Klotar
Supervising Manager of the Department of Redundancy Department.
BlackBerry Certified Support Specialist
Offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 04:02 PM   #38
celly
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
celly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Calgary
Model: 9000
OS: WB 8.2
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 126
Default

I'm glad you guys all confirmed that the Bell version of the "official" is no different than the Beta. No need to do the update yet as the Beta is working just fine for me. It's a good sign that their is an official 5.0 for the 9000 now. More will follow I'm sure.
Offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 07:58 PM   #39
MaxPayne79
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
MaxPayne79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Model: 9700
OS: .938 beta
PIN: 2165f8ed
Carrier: Fido
Posts: 176
Default

i think its worth an update. There was a pretty long gap between the .411 beta and .411 official so maybe they fixed small things that aren't so obvious upon initial use. like hopefully they optimized memory use and a few other small things. After all, it is an official release and u can finally get out of the "beta" section and into where every one else is and help out the newbies with OS 5.0. I don't know, thats the best i could come up with, lol.
Offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 11:11 PM   #40
celly
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
celly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Calgary
Model: 9000
OS: WB 8.2
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxPayne79 View Post
i think its worth an update. There was a pretty long gap between the .411 beta and .411 official so maybe they fixed small things that aren't so obvious upon initial use. like hopefully they optimized memory use and a few other small things. After all, it is an official release and u can finally get out of the "beta" section and into where every one else is and help out the newbies with OS 5.0. I don't know, thats the best i could come up with, lol.
I agree. I'm actually installing it as I post this. I hope I don't regret it.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


WAGO 221-2401 Inline Splicing LEVER-NUTS Connector 2-Conductor Slim Compact 60PK picture

WAGO 221-2401 Inline Splicing LEVER-NUTS Connector 2-Conductor Slim Compact 60PK

$42.51



Wago 221-412 LEVER-NUTS 2 Conductor Compact Wire Connectors UL Listed picture

Wago 221-412 LEVER-NUTS 2 Conductor Compact Wire Connectors UL Listed

$22.99



Marine Grade Wire Duplex Boat Cable Tinned Copper USA Made - AWG Gauge All Sizes picture

Marine Grade Wire Duplex Boat Cable Tinned Copper USA Made - AWG Gauge All Sizes

$72.00



WAGO 221-2411 Inline LEVER-NUT Connector 2-Conductor Slim Compact UL Listed 60PK picture

WAGO 221-2411 Inline LEVER-NUT Connector 2-Conductor Slim Compact UL Listed 60PK

$43.51



10/2 AWG Gauge Marine Grade Wire Boat Cable Tinned Copper, Flat Black/Red picture

10/2 AWG Gauge Marine Grade Wire Boat Cable Tinned Copper, Flat Black/Red

$22.95



Wago 221-413 LEVER-NUTS 3 Conductor Compact Connectors 50 PK picture

Wago 221-413 LEVER-NUTS 3 Conductor Compact Connectors 50 PK

$23.95







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.