BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2010, 12:26 AM   #41
tankee531
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tankee531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.x
PIN: xxxx
Carrier: Singtel
Posts: 375
Default

Please Login to Remove!

second self-reboot in less than 48hrs since upgrade.

battery indicator seems erratic. I had about 50% (based on displayed picture) but after 30min or so, battery became flat or about 5%. But when I plugged in the charger, the battery status immediately jumped back up to 35%.
Offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 01:39 AM   #42
darkamikaze
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0
PIN: 20d94251
Carrier: AT&T or Cingular
Posts: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jweinraub View Post
how? i have army knife, used cods from older version, i get icon installed, but i get an error when i try to provision it, 122 Error Invalid Number. Please resend using a valid 10 digit mobile number or valid short code. Activate:Dt=6
RAWR. So this is how I did it.
First you'll need the 9700 OS installed in your comp
(I used 5.0.0.680/5.0.0.423)
Connect BB to computer.
Then OPEN BBSAK
and click Read System
if you find any
net_rim_bb_vvm.....cod of any kind highlight it, and click delete COD(s).

Let your BB reboot and what not. but while it's rebooting..
navigate to
[Win7/Vista]
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\Shared\Loader Files\9700EastAsia_v5.0.0.423_P5.1.0.116\Java
[WinXP]
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\Shared\Loader Files\9700EastAsia_v5.0.0.423_P5.1.0.116\Java

and find

net_rim_bb_vvm.cod
net_rim_bb_vvm_alu_http_lib.cod
net_rim_bb_vvm_help__en.cod
net_rim_bb_vvm_resource.cod
net_rim_bb_vvm_resource__en.cod
net_rim_bb_vvm_resource_114.cod
net_rim_bb_vvm_resource_114__en.cod
net_rim_bb_vvm_resource114.cod
net_rim_bb_vvm_settings_lib.cod

I know some people don't like keeping help files but I do. so it's your choice.

Once you find those vvm files copy it and paste it in a folder easy to navigate to.
I copied mine in C:/Program Files (x86)/BBSAK/CODs/VVM/
because it's just easier for me.

Hopefully your done rebooting cause I know it takes forever.
Once again open your BBSAK and click INSTALL COD's
go ahead and navigate to where you copied those vvm files and install!
wala let your thing reinstall and reboot.. and hopefully all goes well
I had to do a bunch of reboots cause of all the mass apps i reinstalled
but maybe after you install it and run it try to do a battery pull and then

Options> Advanced Options > Host Routing Table> Register Now!

that's what I did.. hope it works for you
__________________
----
Blackberry. It tastes good.
----
Offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 02:21 AM   #43
Bacchus15
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Bacchus15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal
Model: Note3
OS: 4.4.2
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 117
Default

maybe it was a mistake, this release cuz Bell carries Both Bolds the 9000 AND 9700 and the official name of the later is "Bold 9700" (should have been Bold2 IMHO)

mix up somewhere maybe?
__________________
Bacchus|My PC|Playbook 64Gb OS2.1 and BB9900 OS7.1
Offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 06:11 AM   #44
MaxPayne79
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
MaxPayne79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Model: 9700
OS: .938 beta
PIN: 2165f8ed
Carrier: Fido
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by celly View Post
I agree. I'm actually installing it as I post this. I hope I don't regret it.
haha...don't worry, u wont regret it. It'll be the same thing if not slightly better. My only thing is that, i don't know if it will let me update since i'm essentially updating the phones OS with the same OS. If i have to do that wipe sh*t like i've read about, then forget it. Ill wait for the next beta which should be coming along next month or so. hopefully.
Offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 08:43 PM   #45
jimfraser
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Q10
OS: 10.2.1.21
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 439
Default

As someone who has installed almost all the official 4.6 OS updates from the original Rogers .226 it probably can be said that I will update the OS just because it is there. (Although the first update was recommended by Rogers as the original .226 caused reboots on the ATT 3g network when I was in the US in Oct 08.) I have never had any issues updating and it cannot be said that any of the 4.6 OSs worked so badly (other than 226) that I had to upgrade.
However, I hesitate to go to a whole new OS ie 4.6 to 5.0 .
I have not been following the beta thread very closely. What is the advantage of OS 5.0 in general over 4.6 on the bold 9000?
Offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 08:57 PM   #46
lagreat
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
lagreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nu Joise'
Model: Bold
OS: 5.0.0.681
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 142
Default

Finally bit the bullet after this was official - am on BES and didn't want to take chances with beta. So far in 12+ hours no reboots and battery is still at 50%. Memory seems to be on the low side. It starts off with 36mb and now its down to 25

And no browser issues as others have reported.

One thing I noticed is when I edit the profiles there is no longer an option to select 'Do not disturb'. This used to be there in 4.6 version. Sometimes it was easy to keep it that way so users will go to VM but there will still be indication who called on the unit. Anyone know where to find that option now?

Might go back to 4.6.x if I start getting memory issues or reboot issues. Time will tell.
__________________
Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.
Mahatma Gandhi


Blackberry Bold on AT&T : 5.0.0.411

Last edited by lagreat; 01-07-2010 at 08:59 PM..
Offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 05:31 AM   #47
ang_pilosopo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
ang_pilosopo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.411
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Globe Telecom
Posts: 40
Default

I find the SMS difficult coz there's just a tiny space below to type my message. What's the point of having a big screen if you can only 3 lines to compose your message. Beyond 3 lines, I'd have to scroll up to review my entire message.

Is there any way I can make this "compose" space bigger/wider?
__________________
Always remember you are unique, just like everybody else.

8900 and 9700
www.twitter.com/rvmitra
Offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 08:21 AM   #48
jackfate
New Member
 
jackfate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.297
PIN: 20CF31B5
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spenillo View Post
This is how I just fixed it, after upgrading to this new OS!

AT&T Browser not working via OS 5.0? Follow these steps to fix.. | PocketBerry[/url]
The last 5.0 OS I tried on my ATT 9000 I had to do this fix but then it broke my media player(could not play audio or video files). There was a fix for that too but it stopped working after a reboot and I would have to do the fix again.
Offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 02:52 PM   #49
jimfraser
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Q10
OS: 10.2.1.21
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 439
Default

Well despite asking twice on this post as to the advantages of OS 5.0 over 4.6 and not having any response, I updated to 5.0.0.411 anyway.
Part of the reason in doing so was that Bell has this as an official OS for the Bold 9000. (Although Rogers does not. Bell has been live for less than 2 months on its gsm network. Could be that Rogers was aware of the issues on .411 and took a pass).
Actual up date took less than 30 minutes. BES activation took 45 minutes, consistant with other os updates. Is there anyway to speed up BES activation?
Just got started on .411 so only an initial first impressions:
Boot up time much faster. It used to take more than 4 minutes on my last version of 4.6.
However, a big difference in memory use. After a battery pull just before I upgraded, I had 26+ megs. Now after a fresh install of 5.0.0.411 - 16.5 megs. tried a battery pull and it made no difference. I have real concerns, because after a fresh install on a new OS typically you never see as much memory again and loose up to 10 megs over time, even after a battery pull. This has me worried!
Offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 03:53 PM   #50
lagreat
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
lagreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nu Joise'
Model: Bold
OS: 5.0.0.681
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 142
Default

Seems the 'f' key shortcut is missing from OS 5.0. On 4.6.x I was able to click 'f' to go to Profiles. Is it just me or any one else experiencing the same?

You must have dial from home disabled to take advantage of shortcut keys.
__________________
Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.
Mahatma Gandhi


Blackberry Bold on AT&T : 5.0.0.411
Offline  
Old 01-09-2010, 11:32 AM   #51
malnajran
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 9000
OS: 4.X
PIN: Numbers & Letters
Carrier: STC
Posts: 8
Default

Any one knows when or is the MultiLang released?

Thanks!
Offline  
Old 01-09-2010, 11:43 AM   #52
mic6
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: bold
PIN: N/A
Carrier: wind gr
Posts: 73
Default

it is released already
Offline  
Old 01-09-2010, 12:05 PM   #53
malnajran
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 9000
OS: 4.X
PIN: Numbers & Letters
Carrier: STC
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mic6 View Post
it is released already
It's missing Arabic language

Regards,
Offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 12:57 PM   #54
dhofar
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: nawras oman
Posts: 1
Default

It's missing Arabic language ""

you can have arabic language ! just make a visit to any arabic bb forum
Offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 05:11 PM   #55
jackfate
New Member
 
jackfate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.297
PIN: 20CF31B5
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackfate View Post
The last 5.0 OS I tried on my ATT 9000 I had to do this fix but then it broke my media player(could not play audio or video files). There was a fix for that too but it stopped working after a reboot and I would have to do the fix again.
Answered my own question by doing the update last night. Finally a 5.0 OS that will work with AT&T. Everything works great for me after the browser fix. Boot time is much quicker and viewing my photos is lightning fast compared to 4.6. I also like they way they now group a text conversation in the same way as the BB messenger. Another thing I found is that I can now stream videos from sites that previously I only had the option to download first.

I don't use VVM and my camera has been shot on this device for awhile now so I cannot speak for those issues.
Offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 06:51 PM   #56
sparks
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 17
Default No issues

Upgraded to .411 on Rogers last night. No issues upgrading, and no fixes required. All apps running smoothly. Memory is stable. There is the camera bug, as noted by all, but other than that the OS is working just fine. Settings need to be checked thoroughly, however, as some new options can otherwise cause confusion.

So far, so good.
Offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 08:17 PM   #57
pokey
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparks View Post
Upgraded to .411 on Rogers last night. No issues upgrading, and no fixes required. All apps running smoothly. Memory is stable. There is the camera bug, as noted by all, but other than that the OS is working just fine. Settings need to be checked thoroughly, however, as some new options can otherwise cause confusion.

So far, so good.
How is the battery life compared to 4.6 OS? Which OS were you coming from?
Offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 08:27 PM   #58
sparks
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 17
Default

Previous OS was 4.6.0.307. Battery life on 5.0.0.411 seems about the same as previous OS.
Offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 09:34 PM   #59
pokey
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 402
Default

I was hoping that with an official 5.0 OS that the battery life would be significantly better than that of the 4.6. I guess not. No point in really upgrading then as the only differance is the threaded sms....
Offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 07:27 AM   #60
Friedchicken
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0.0.93
PIN: N/A
Carrier: KPN NL
Posts: 30
Default

Multilanguage
9000M_PBr5.0.0_rel661_PL5.2.0.33_A5.0.0.411_3_Swed en_Denmark.exe

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...38397FABBA902E
__________________
BlackBerry Bold 9000
-----------------------------
OS 5.0.0.411
Platform 5.2.0.33
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A  With A Cable Connection. picture

VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A With A Cable Connection.

$99.99



APPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD > picture

APPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD >

$149.99



APPLE 630-0895-B  VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE picture

APPLE 630-0895-B VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE

$74.77



128K RAM - APPLE - ORIGINAL APPLE prototype BOARD picture

128K RAM - APPLE - ORIGINAL APPLE prototype BOARD

$401.25







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.