BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2010, 07:54 AM   #61
g1n
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Berlin
Model: 9700
OS: 7
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone de
Posts: 12
Default

Please Login to Remove!

i think this version is multilanguage...just installed it in german on my bold. the interface is much faster then the latest 4.6 version....but i found some bugs (backgroundwallpaper, some issues while loading apps, problems with older skins)

greetz g1n
Offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 08:53 AM   #62
writer
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Model: 9860
OS: 7.0
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 10
Default

Good Morning
I have the BB 9000 Bold, with 4.6. OS. How different is the 5.0, and will ATT (my carrier) be out with this OS soon? Sorry, I am new to this.
__________________
Thanks,

Writer~
Offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 09:28 AM   #63
lagreat
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
lagreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nu Joise'
Model: Bold
OS: 5.0.0.681
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 142
Default

Battery life has shortened by 25%-40% even after stopping 2 applications that used to run on 4.6

Memory usage is really bad - starts off with 30MB and after just 8-10 hours its at 14MB. I rarely keep any mail in my mailbox over 7 days. Reboot this morning and memory started at 30MB and has dropped to 22MB in less than an hour.

Any one less seeing this aggressive memory loss?
__________________
Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.
Mahatma Gandhi


Blackberry Bold on AT&T : 5.0.0.411
Offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 09:36 AM   #64
ezrunner
EPIC MOD
 
ezrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Model: ZED10
OS: DOS 3.1
PIN: INK STICK
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 12,214
Default

Have just forayed into the 5.0.x.x OS realm

after several battery pulls things seem to be working okay haven't had a chance to really put it to the test, still searching around for changes
__________________
ZED 10
Offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 10:26 AM   #65
jimfraser
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Q10
OS: 10.2.1.21
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lagreat View Post
Battery life has shortened by 25%-40% even after stopping 2 applications that used to run on 4.6

Memory usage is really bad - starts off with 30MB and after just 8-10 hours its at 14MB. I rarely keep any mail in my mailbox over 7 days. Reboot this morning and memory started at 30MB and has dropped to 22MB in less than an hour.

Any one less seeing this aggressive memory loss?
I loaded this up on Friday and as noted above in my first impressions, right after installing this OS my memory was down at least 10 megs from any other previous 4.6. You always get the most memory after a new OS in installed so this was dissappointing that I was starting so low - 17.5 MG. After the weekend of use and a number of battery pulls memory is off a couple more megs after the battery pulls. After less than 24 hours use, I am down to 8 megs. I guess I will need to do another battery pull. Although I have a number of 3rd party programs, I don't have BlackBerry App Word, a notorius memory hog.
Memory use a big issue with 5.0.0.411 !!!
Offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 11:02 AM   #66
jimfraser
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Q10
OS: 10.2.1.21
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 439
Default

After a weekend of use it appears that most programs are working properly. However, one of my favourite programs, PocketDay, starts out with the trackball not working. Pressing any key lets me use the trackball however and I can scroll again. Not a big deal but I did not have any issues in 4.6.
Lost my WAP browser however. Regular Blackberry browser seems to work the same as always. I see above that there is a fix for the browser. I wonder if it will restore the WAP browser? This forum's program which uses a wap browser reports "the protocol specified is not supported by the handheld".
A Rogers specific program that would bring me to their WAP site for checking flights, banking etc is not even on my BB with this OS. This program always came up with the many OS upgrades I did previously in 4.6, all of which, other than the first upgrade, were not an official Roger's update.
The program icons for Word to Go, Sheet to Go and Sideshow to Go are all generic rectangles. However PDF to Go has the proper icon with a little person in a square with the letters "PDF" in the corner. All are version 2. I deleted and reinstalled the offending programs and still have the generic rectangles as program icons. The programs themselves still appear to work, however.
Despite some reports that it boots up is faster, not noticeably so in my experience.
I like OS 5's colours and shading. Seems a little more polished. However, the hugh memory hit as noted above is definitely an issue. It really does not seem ready for general use. Definitely should have stayed in beta in my opinion.
I am torn between waiting for a new "official" OS 5, trying a beta or going back to the latest official 4.6 OS.
Offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 11:06 AM   #67
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

I have gotten a couple reboots on the beta..

Have not upgraded to the official yet.
Offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 07:51 PM   #68
tankee531
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tankee531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.x
PIN: xxxx
Carrier: Singtel
Posts: 375
Default

apart from the twice self-reboot within 48 hrs of upgraded, it has been working fine in the last 5 days since then. And battery indicator seems normal now.

facebook alerts are not being deleted from my corporate mailbox like they used to before the upgrade.
Offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 11:23 AM   #69
Xion901
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA / UK
Model: XXXXi
OS: v6.XXX
Carrier: A Good One
Posts: 327
Default

5.0 works fine for me, seems quicker and more efficient on my phone. Ye everyone can always find something wrong,, but every first realease of a new version comes with errors. Im sure other versions will slowly but surely fix problems.
Offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 11:59 AM   #70
g1n
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Berlin
Model: 9700
OS: 7
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone de
Posts: 12
Default

okay...2 dayz with this version....i'm really disappointed about it. the batterylife is horrible, 2 days (2G with no app running) and the battery is down to 50% (the battery is a new one). in addition to the other bugs (background, slow apploading, themeprobs), this version is not good at all....i hope a new one will be released soon.
Offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 01:42 PM   #71
deocamdata
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9780
PIN: N/A
Carrier: orange
Posts: 25
Default

App world doesn't work under 5.0 :(
And ... I have a draft SMS remained from 4.6 and is impossible to delete it.
Any idea ?
Offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 03:53 PM   #72
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

If you're on 4.6 BES, can you safely upgrade your phone to 5.0?

Will this cause any problems?
Offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 03:57 PM   #73
Deraj090
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Deraj090's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York, NY
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 368
Default

kinda annoying that they'd release an official OS with so many issues. I also agree with ang_pilosopo -- why such little space on the compose portion of SMS?
Offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 06:48 PM   #74
jimfraser
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Q10
OS: 10.2.1.21
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TTsoldier View Post
If you're on 4.6 BES, can you safely upgrade your phone to 5.0?

Will this cause any problems?
I upgraded from 4.6 to 5.0.0.411 on BES without any issues. As in the past (15) OS upgrades I followed the instructions as above but used Desktop Manager instead of loader.exe and did it on a network computer to ensure getting reactivated on the BES.
One good feature of OS 5 is that the corp BES e-mail mow has a separate folder unlike 4.6 in which the corp e-mail is only found in the general messages folder with all the other e-mails. It is still in the general messages folder as in 4.6, but is also in its separate folder so you can check the company e-mails first and leave the rest to later if you want.
Offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 09:22 PM   #75
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

I don't think the computer you update it on will make a difference. Once the update is done, everything should sync back as normal. This is just my theory.

Wanted confirmation.

I never use DM for an upgrade. I always wipe and then use the loader. Can this be a problem?
Offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 10:21 PM   #76
icontech
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TTsoldier View Post
I don't think the computer you update it on will make a difference. Once the update is done, everything should sync back as normal. This is just my theory.

Wanted confirmation.

I never use DM for an upgrade. I always wipe and then use the loader. Can this be a problem?
You will need to do an Enterprise Activation after the upgrade using your method. You should contact your IT or whoever takes care of your BES to get a new activation password.
Offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 11:32 PM   #77
jimfraser
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Q10
OS: 10.2.1.21
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icontech View Post
You will need to do an Enterprise Activation after the upgrade using your method. You should contact your IT or whoever takes care of your BES to get a new activation password.
The only time in my 16 OS upgrades I needed a new activation password is when I used loader.exe. By using DM on a network computer I avoided asking (alerting) IT that I upgraded the OS. We have virtually no policy restrictions on our BES so upgrading by the way I do it without needing a new activation code may not work on all BES systems.
Offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 12:24 AM   #78
jimfraser
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Q10
OS: 10.2.1.21
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 439
Default

Note. The BBwap shortcut to this forum does not work with this OS and a number of 5.0 OSs, at least with BES. Not sure if it is also an issue with BIS. Worked fine for me for almost a year and a half until Friday when I upgraded from 4.6.
No word if a fix is in the works.
Offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:33 AM   #79
ang_pilosopo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
ang_pilosopo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.411
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Globe Telecom
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deraj090 View Post
kinda annoying that they'd release an official OS with so many issues. I also agree with ang_pilosopo -- why such little space on the compose portion of SMS?
not only that. when you press enter, the SMS is sent.
i use enter to make another paragraph when texting... this is important to my line of job where i have to make bullet points.
__________________
Always remember you are unique, just like everybody else.

8900 and 9700
www.twitter.com/rvmitra
Offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 09:01 AM   #80
Raptor464
Kid Tested. Mom Approved.
 
Raptor464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana
Model: 9700
OS: 6.0.0.4xx
PIN: eapple under the sea
Carrier: T-mobile USA
Posts: 3,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ang_pilosopo View Post
not only that. when you press enter, the SMS is sent.
i use enter to make another paragraph when texting... this is important to my line of job where i have to make bullet points.
Why would you compose such things in an SMS? Really? You have separate paragraphs while staying under the 160 character limit for SMS?
__________________
BlackBerry 9700: OS 6.0.0.424 FLASH WHITE
The BlackBerry Zone VIP
Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/Raptor464
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


K-type Thermocouple Sensor High Temperature Stainless Steel Insertion Probe HT02 picture

K-type Thermocouple Sensor High Temperature Stainless Steel Insertion Probe HT02

$12.99



1M K Type Thermocouple Sensor Digital Thermometer Temperature Meter TK80 4JPL8 picture

1M K Type Thermocouple Sensor Digital Thermometer Temperature Meter TK80 4JPL8

$7.29



1M K Type Thermocouple - Sensor Digital Thermometer Temperature Meter TK80 4JPL8 picture

1M K Type Thermocouple - Sensor Digital Thermometer Temperature Meter TK80 4JPL8

$10.99



2PCS K-Type Thermocouple Probe High Temperature Sensor Thermistor Probe K T 1M picture

2PCS K-Type Thermocouple Probe High Temperature Sensor Thermistor Probe K T 1M

$14.99



Temp Thermocouple K type, stainless Steel Probe, 12 ft (3.66M), Teflon sealed picture

Temp Thermocouple K type, stainless Steel Probe, 12 ft (3.66M), Teflon sealed

$14.00



Heat-resistant K Type Stainless Steel Thermocouple Sensor 5mm Probe Meter picture

Heat-resistant K Type Stainless Steel Thermocouple Sensor 5mm Probe Meter

$8.39







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.