BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2007, 03:11 PM   #1
zero7404
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
zero7404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: tri-state
Model: 9530
OS: 5.0.0.328
PIN: n/a
Carrier: tmob
Posts: 1,097
Default Desktop manager removing apps from pearl

Please Login to Remove!

i used app loader a few days ago to add some software that i bought on my pearl, and just before I started the loader-synch, i got a list of what's going on/coming off the device (normal). before doing this, I checked all the apps i wanted to keep and noted that it said 'None' in the Action column, but regardless, some of my apps were removed because they were 'unrecognized' and i wound up having to install them again via OTA after app loader had finished. App loader warned me of this but i proceeded anyway because i thought the apps were backed up with my regular backups (it turns out they were not, don't know why).

has anyone else had this problem ? some of these apps that were removed were purchases, and i had a hard time getting new OTA links because the old ones in the emails i got (from the purchase) were not installing the software right on my device....

is this a problem with desktop manager ? I'm using service pack 1.
should it be backing up ALL apps loaded on the device during a backup ? the apps also appear on the app loader screen after the device is read....
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 03:20 PM   #2
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Many third-party apps are not backed up, that is common.
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 03:42 PM   #3
zero7404
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
zero7404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: tri-state
Model: 9530
OS: 5.0.0.328
PIN: n/a
Carrier: tmob
Posts: 1,097
Default

ok thanks....

and now for the 1 million $$ question: is there a way to back up the entire device or take a snapshot of it so that it can be restored if necessary ?
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 03:49 PM   #4
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Not that completely. I back mine up , but I also have a file of the third-party apps and key codes on the purchased apps -- just in case. I went through what you are doing just two months ago and had to reinstall a few apps.
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 06:39 PM   #5
zero7404
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
zero7404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: tri-state
Model: 9530
OS: 5.0.0.328
PIN: n/a
Carrier: tmob
Posts: 1,097
Default

cool, thanks for the insight....

problem is i should have bought this app from a store that offers a desktop download so i can save it somewhere, because with OTA i was not able to successfully reinstall it using the links and Send SMS options that Handmark provided, and it was a pain getting tech support to provide me with a new OTA link that worked.
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 06:48 PM   #6
esko032
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Model: 8100
Carrier: Cingular aka At&t aka Cingular?
Posts: 6
Default

do you have a new pearl sakman?
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 06:57 PM   #7
zero7404
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
zero7404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: tri-state
Model: 9530
OS: 5.0.0.328
PIN: n/a
Carrier: tmob
Posts: 1,097
Default

about 1 month old now....
Offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 09:34 AM   #8
zero7404
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
zero7404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: tri-state
Model: 9530
OS: 5.0.0.328
PIN: n/a
Carrier: tmob
Posts: 1,097
Default

it's happening again, wtf....

yesterday I bought a dictionary, added the alx file, and when i updated thru DM, it removed my DST Patch. it listed it as an app that will be removed during the app load....

why is DM doing this ?

first time it yanked my tetris and a bunch of other OS stuff, now the Daylight Savings Time Patch.....

does anyone else exhibit losing apps/features when you add software to your pearl thru DM ? Also, which DM version are you running ? I'm using SP 1.
Offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 09:40 AM   #9
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Yea, it yanked my DST update a few times, I added it back. It finally quit doing that.

You can update your DM to SP2, now, at the RIM site.
Offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 10:22 AM   #10
nsquark
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 121
Default

sometimes the cod files are exposed when doing OTA download. if the download points to a jad file and you have the cods then you can make an alx file to load it via desktop manager. what is the download URL? i can tell you if the cods are exposed.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Server Aprons with 5 Pockets - Waiter Waitress Waist Apron (Pack of 2) - Black picture

Server Aprons with 5 Pockets - Waiter Waitress Waist Apron (Pack of 2) - Black

$14.99



Server Book for Waitress Waiter Organizer Wallet with Zipper Pocket Card Holder picture

Server Book for Waitress Waiter Organizer Wallet with Zipper Pocket Card Holder

$12.69



Sonic Server 5x9 Double Magnetic Pocket Server Book Organizer Black Taller Size picture

Sonic Server 5x9 Double Magnetic Pocket Server Book Organizer Black Taller Size

$15.99



Server Book Organizer Zipper Pocket for Waitress Waiter Bartender Card Holder picture

Server Book Organizer Zipper Pocket for Waitress Waiter Bartender Card Holder

$12.89



Bunn 39400.0001 Titan TF 3 Gallon Insulated Server for 39200.0000 Titan Dual picture

Bunn 39400.0001 Titan TF 3 Gallon Insulated Server for 39200.0000 Titan Dual

$259.91



Axis 240Q 4-Channel Video Server CCTV IP Network Encoder -  picture

Axis 240Q 4-Channel Video Server CCTV IP Network Encoder -

$25.00







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.