Jeff

Please Login to Remove!

Old 11-30-2004, 07:55 PM   #2
jefferyds
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Old 01-22-2005, 12:22 AM   #3
frank69m

Default What are the general requirements for setting up my own BES?

Just curious before I look at it further?

For example, when I set one up, do I need to notify my Wireless Provider that I have one setup and I can enter in the EIDs such that the Blackberry devices can communicate with my BES via the Provider?

I'm a small business owner looking at doing this for some of my sales folks.

Wondering if I can also use the BES such that my sales people can get into the internal network resources. Eg. Intranet WEb servers with my BES on the internet.
Old 01-22-2005, 01:07 AM   #4
bfrye
BBF Veteran User

Model: OU812
Carrier: Nintendo

As far as the first question, no you will not have to notify your provider. As long as you have a data plan on your BES-enabled blackberries your provider should not care.

Second question, yes, MDS will allow you to access your internal network via a VPN-like connection through your blackberries. You can even specify via IT Policies whether or not you want internal or external access allowed.

For what your asking I would venture to say it would suit your needs very well.
Old 01-22-2005, 01:15 AM   #5
frank69m

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfrye
As far as the first question, no you will not have to notify your provider. As long as you have a data plan on your BES-enabled blackberries your provider should not care.

Second question, yes, MDS will allow you to access your internal network via a VPN-like connection through your blackberries. You can even specify via IT Policies whether or not you want internal or external access allowed.

For what your asking I would venture to say it would suit your needs very well.
Thanks Bfrye.

Then, from a technical point of view, when I start up say a BB SSH client that uses BES, how does it get from my wireless provider to my BES when I make the request.