BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2008, 04:55 PM   #1
neilaus
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 9
Default 8100, T-Mobile & Optus AUstralia - Urgent help please!!

Please Login to Remove!

Hi Guys,Just got my 8100 delivered.

Basically bought it on ebay (never again). It's unlocked (only phone) and no issues using it with Optus (Australia). Got a voice plan and a BB data plan.

This is where the problem is - when Optus tries to register a bbclient in my name, it says there is an existing client already registered by my PIN. Optus asked me to contact the ebay person who needs to contact T-Mobile (this is the logo that appears when I start my BB so assumptions is the phone is registered with T-Mobile - but no idea if that's US or UK or EU) to de register the PIN so Optus can register my BB client.

ANyone face same issues ? Anyway getting around this ?

Please assist. Greatly appreciated. Makes no difference when I tried to wipe the data.

Thanks.
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 05:00 PM   #2
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

You can call them yourself, just be polite, they don't have to do it for you.

Check the vendor ID code at ALT + SHIFT + H

(or by typing ALT + EACE)

The vendor code will tell you which carrier:

RIM Vendor Codes - BlackBerryFAQ
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 05:15 PM   #3
neilaus
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for your prompt response!
I am sorry new to all this - where is the ALT and SHIFT keys?
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 05:32 PM   #4
neilaus
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 9
Default

Ok, Got it. It says Vendor ID 123 - but that is not on the list/link you gave ?
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 09:21 PM   #5
neilaus
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 9
Default

Guys,
Anyone know who VendorID 123 relates to ?
Cheers
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:14 PM   #6
Aenpecca
New Member
 
Aenpecca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jakarta
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: indosat
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilaus View Post
Hi Guys,Just got my 8100 delivered.

Basically bought it on ebay (never again). It's unlocked (only phone) and no issues using it with Optus (Australia). Got a voice plan and a BB data plan.

This is where the problem is - when Optus tries to register a bbclient in my name, it says there is an existing client already registered by my PIN. Optus asked me to contact the ebay person who needs to contact T-Mobile (this is the logo that appears when I start my BB so assumptions is the phone is registered with T-Mobile - but no idea if that's US or UK or EU) to de register the PIN so Optus can register my BB client.

ANyone face same issues ? Anyway getting around this ?

Please assist. Greatly appreciated. Makes no difference when I tried to wipe the data.

Thanks.
Call T-Mobile call centre and ask them for releasing the pin.
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:28 PM   #7
neilaus
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 9
Default

Hi,

So T-Mobile based in US? I do cant find VendorID 123 in the link provided by the other poster either.

Turning out to be a night mare!
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:32 PM   #8
TroyDBrown
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.XXX
PIN: G Pong Champ
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.
Posts: 5,515
Default

The List:

100 T-Mobile US
101 AWS
102 Cingular Wireless
103 Nextel
104 Sprint PCS
105 Verizon
106 Alltel
107 Rogers
109 BWA (Aliant/Sasktel)
111 MM02 DE
113 Telfort
114 T-Mobile DE/AU
115 TIM
116 Hutchison
117 Bouygues
118 SFR
119 Orange_France
120 VODAFONE (UK)
121 Telcel
122 Telstra
123 T-Mobile (UK)
124 Vodafone Germany
125 MM02 UK/IRL/NL
126 Telus
127 SMART
128 Starhub
129 Telefonica
130 Swisscom
131 Cable & Wireless
132 Vodafone (IT)
133 Vodafone (ES)
134 T-Mobile (NL)
135 Cincinnati Bell
136 Telefonica_LAM
137 Vodafone Austria
138 Vodafone Australia
139 Vodafone Ireland
140 Vodafone Sweden
141 CSL
142 Orange UK
143 Vodafone New Zealand
144 SingTel
145 Globe
146 Optus
147 Orange Mobistar
148 Vodafone_HU
149 Bharti
150 KPN
151 TIM_Greece
152 Proximus
153 Vodafone_Portugal
154 TIM_Brazil
155 BT_Mobile
156 Earthlink
158 E-Plus
159 BASE
160 Dobson
161 Vodafone_Egypt
162 Orange_Switzerland
164 Triton
165 Maxis
166 Vodafone_Denmark_(TDC)
167 MobileOne_(Voda_Singapore)
168 Vodacom
169 T-Mobile_PO
170 T-Mobile_CZ
171 T-Mobile_HU
173 MTN
174 Entel
175 Amena
176 SmarTone
177 TCS
178 Avea
179 F100
180 Turkcell
181 Partner
183 Orange_Global
186 Telkomsel
188 Vodafone_Greece
189 USCC
190 Mobilink
194 Voda_Luxembourg
195 Voda_Iceland
198 Vodafone_CZ
204 China_Mobile
205 Movilnet
209 Sympac
210 TIM_Argentina
212 Etisalat
214 AMX
215 Telefonica_Venezuela
217 Orange Romania
218 KTP
222 Mobitel Bulgaria
224 PCCW/Sunday
227 Mobily
229 Eurotel
230 Hutchison Essar
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:33 PM   #9
TroyDBrown
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.XXX
PIN: G Pong Champ
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.
Posts: 5,515
Default

T-Mobile U.K. Customer Service: + 44 79539 66 150
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:43 PM   #10
neilaus
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 9
Default

Fantastic, I will try them tonight. It's what 6 am in the UK may be.

What's the best poker statement to say to get them to do it !!??. Nice and polite ...
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:46 PM   #11
TroyDBrown
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.XXX
PIN: G Pong Champ
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.
Posts: 5,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilaus View Post
Fantastic, I will try them tonight. It's what 6 am in the UK may be.

What's the best poker statement to say to get them to do it !!??. Nice and polite ...
Nice and polite. T-Mobile U.S. has a BlackBerry support team. You may want to see if U.K. does it will get you an answer faster. Have the PIN ready for them.

Options > About
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:53 PM   #12
neilaus
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 9
Default

OK, so I will contact the T-Mobile UK first and see how that goes ?!?

Will keep you posted. Just hope that the PIN was not used as a doggy one. I am thinking or saying something along the lines ...

"My brother bought me a second hand phone from the UK, I want to use it here in AU and the phone works ok - however the original owner of the phone (can not track him down) has not de registered his BB services with you. Can I please have it de registered so I can use it here in AU"....???

Last edited by neilaus; 11-25-2008 at 11:55 PM..
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:56 PM   #13
TroyDBrown
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.XXX
PIN: G Pong Champ
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.
Posts: 5,515
Default

I bought a phone, it shows the pin is already registered on your network when I try to register it. Can you release it please.

No story needed.
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:59 PM   #14
neilaus
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 9
Default

I love to talk (too much sometimes).

Alright. Wish me luck. Will post what happens...
Offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 12:03 AM   #15
TroyDBrown
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.XXX
PIN: G Pong Champ
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.
Posts: 5,515
Default

Okay, let us know.
Offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 04:53 AM   #16
neilaus
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 9
Default

OK - called them up. I was expecting this though.

They said, they can not release it without the consent of the person who originally registered with T - Mobile Services.

I got no idea who the person is. So I have to get the phone back to the seller and get full refund + postage back.

Lesson learnt Grrrrrr...Will buy locally then ??
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


100A AC LCD Digital Volt Watt Power Voltage Meter Monitor KWh Voltmeter Ammeter picture

100A AC LCD Digital Volt Watt Power Voltage Meter Monitor KWh Voltmeter Ammeter

$14.75



LCD Digital MULTIMETER Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt AC DC Tester Leads Meter picture

LCD Digital MULTIMETER Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt AC DC Tester Leads Meter

$8.59



Electric AC/DC Voltage Detector Pen Tester 6-380V Voltmeter Ammeter Circuit 8in1 picture

Electric AC/DC Voltage Detector Pen Tester 6-380V Voltmeter Ammeter Circuit 8in1

$7.49



LCD Digital Multimeter Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt AC DC Tester Leads Meter picture

LCD Digital Multimeter Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt AC DC Tester Leads Meter

$10.99



DC 100A 100V Voltmeter Ammeter Volt Amp Meter Voltage Current Tester with Shunt picture

DC 100A 100V Voltmeter Ammeter Volt Amp Meter Voltage Current Tester with Shunt

$12.88



Digital Multimeter AC DC Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt Tester Meter XL830L USA picture

Digital Multimeter AC DC Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt Tester Meter XL830L USA

$8.49







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.