BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2015, 06:16 PM   #1
jasonnet
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 2
Default New temporary carrier, Blackberry plan needed?

Please Login to Remove!

I have an unlocked Q10 from AT&T. It still works on the AT&T network. I'm planning to drop by Argentina in a few days for a week. I hope to pop in an Argentine SIM down there so that I can have local data service.

I'm a bit challenged communicating in Spanish though so I'm asking questions before I arrive in Argentina.

Will an ordinary plan work, or do the security features of BB10 mean that I'll need a special BB plan? (My AT&T plan is appears to be a special BB plan, but it's not an enterprise plan.)
Offline  
Old 02-18-2015, 07:35 PM   #2
tsac
BlackBerry God
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: Cheerios
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: New temporary carrier, Blackberry plan needed?

Generally on most carriers you will need a blackberry plan to use the features. The best thing to do is make a call or visit the carriers web site to see if they even offer the BB10 products and if a specific plan is needed. another idea is to call ATT and see what a temporary use in that country will cost. They may not support the country but it's worth a call.
__________________
Z10 on BES
Z10 on BIS
Offline  
Old 02-19-2015, 06:17 PM   #3
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default Re: New temporary carrier, Blackberry plan needed?

@jasonnet Your profile says 8100 and your post says Q10. I'm assuming Q10 and you didn't update your profile. So, here's the deal for Q10....

BlackBerry 10 models do not use BIS. You should be, and probably are, operating on a regular AT&T mobile data plan instead of the BIS account you had on your line with your old device. Consequently you shouldn't have any issues using another SIM on another network, provided you have mobile data on the SIM.

I say shouldn't. I haven't done it. One thing I might anticipate is having to re-validate email accounts. If you have two-factor authentication enabled that could be a hassle, but not insurmountable. All the other data services, BBM, browser, Maps, etc. should not skip a beat.

Please post an update and tell us how it goes.
__________________
- Ira

Last edited by aiharkness; 02-19-2015 at 06:19 PM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: New temporary carrier, Blackberry plan needed?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perform a cutover to another BlackBerry Enterprise Server in IBM Lotus Domino hdawg BES Admin Corner 3 04-25-2008 09:47 AM
Blackberry Activation(s)... Barry_Black General BlackBerry Discussion 5 06-07-2007 12:07 PM
The Hosted BES FAQ - Cheap BES/MDS - Wireless Outlook sync! Mark Rejhon BlackBerry Network 81 03-29-2007 05:29 AM
Vodafone and Dimension Today Installation Information (7130e) zarza Media Center 42 06-12-2006 09:14 PM


Tektronix TM506 Mainframe W/ FG 504 Fn Generator, PS503A, DM 502A, and 10210 picture

Tektronix TM506 Mainframe W/ FG 504 Fn Generator, PS503A, DM 502A, and 10210

$199.99



VINTAGE Tektronix TM 515 Mainframe Case Only (includes both locking covers) picture

VINTAGE Tektronix TM 515 Mainframe Case Only (includes both locking covers)

$60.00



Quadtech 44040 Mainframe with 3 44001 Programmable Load Modules - Lab Tested picture

Quadtech 44040 Mainframe with 3 44001 Programmable Load Modules - Lab Tested

$1295.00



Viavi JDSU MTS 6000A V2 Mainframe Fiber Testing Platform picture

Viavi JDSU MTS 6000A V2 Mainframe Fiber Testing Platform

$974.70



Sorensen MML-4 DC Electronic Load Mainframe w/ 2*MML-80V-120A-601 Module PARTS picture

Sorensen MML-4 DC Electronic Load Mainframe w/ 2*MML-80V-120A-601 Module PARTS

$399.99



Tektronix Motorola CRT Monitor DAS9109 Mainframe picture

Tektronix Motorola CRT Monitor DAS9109 Mainframe

$28.76







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.