Old 04-28-2007, 10:46 AM   #1
PDJack

Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone UK
Default Connecting to other mobiles via bluetooth

Please Login to Remove!

OK, total newbie, so apologies if answer very basic...but:

Can't seem to connect to any other mobile to transfer files via bluetooth. Bluetooth is enabled, device can be paired using 0000 as the passkey, but nothing happens when they try and send me a file.

Any ideas, and is this unique to Blackberry? Never had this issue with any other phones, which don't seem to require pairing at all and just ask if you want to accept the incoming file

Thanks
Old 04-28-2007, 11:24 AM   #2
John Clark
BBF Moderator

Model: Z30
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T

You can't transfer addresses this way but you can do pics and ringtones. On your BB go to the media app. Then go to the ringtone or picture directory as desired. Click the menu button and select "Receive via Bluetooth." Then on the other phone send the file.
Old 04-28-2007, 01:07 PM   #3
laurentio
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 9700b
PIN: Feel free to ask.
Carrier: O2-UK

it doesn't really always work that way.
had myself major problems pairing with other devices and receiving files or sending them files from my bberry.
seems to be a problem or the default settings are not right.(too high)
linkedin.com/in/laurentio
Old 04-28-2007, 06:15 PM   #4
Worm
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: All
Carrier: Plead the fifth.

Afaik RIM do not currently support the transfer of files via BT to any other type of handset, should be good BB to BB but is not supported to any other.
Old 04-28-2007, 06:23 PM   #5
John Clark
BBF Moderator

Wirelessly posted (BB 8860: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0) BlackBerry8100/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

I have transferrd ringtones and pics to and from my Pearl and a Sony Ericcson w300i. It works fine if you follow the instructions above.
Old 04-28-2007, 06:45 PM   #6
Worm
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: All