BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 12-03-2006, 04:56 AM   #1
next_thomas

Model: 7290
Carrier: proximus
Default BES reinstallation - what about SRP and CAL keys?

Please Login to Remove!

Hi all,

I'm very new with BES, and installed it on a SBS 2003 box... Even if this is only for 3-5 users, I think it's better to reinstall it on a separate box. My idea is to install a virtual PC on the same box (Virtual PC ? Virtual Server ? VMWare ? Any suggestion is welcome!), running Windows XP Pro (I've seen BES can be installed on XP, right ?).
What I'm afraid of is that I will not be able to re-authenticate the SRP and CAL keys after reinstallation...
So are RIM servers supposed to check if the keys have been already authenticated ? Do I have to "unassign" them from the SBS prior to reinstall ?
Or can I just go for it and start from scratch ?

Thanks,

Thomas
Old 12-03-2006, 08:36 AM   #2
noname
BlackBerry Extraordinaire

Location: Congested Islet of "Foreign Talents" (> 45% of workforce) - Singapore.
Model: Z10
PIN: NUKE(PAP)
Carrier: Singtel

Hey Thomas,

The SRP key and auth key are stored in the BESMgmt database in the "ServerConfig" table. After you have reinstalled your new BES, just point to the correct SQL server and the BESMgmt database.

For virtual machine support, VMWare ESX Server version 2.5.2 or later is supported with BlackBerry Enterprise Server software version 4.1 Service Pack 2.

Source: KB04405 What Is - Virtual Machine software is not supported for BlackBerry Enterprise Server installation
Old 12-03-2006, 04:24 PM   #3
bertiebassett
CrackBerry Addict

Model: 9700
Carrier: O2

Hi Thomas