BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2009, 02:17 AM   #21
djjino
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 13
Default

Please Login to Remove!

3G will get a lot of dropped calls. Switch to 2G. You have to debrand first though. It's worth it.
Offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 03:02 PM   #22
701
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 9000
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 16
Default

Wirelessly posted

I get that and I'm across the world.It has nothing to do with the network.Well,it does,but having a weaker antenae than others result in failed calls.I get them when I drive,never when I'm in my office or on the street.The above reply with switching to 2G and having to debrand is nonsense.The switching can be done in options/network and choose only 2g.
Offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 03:15 PM   #23
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 701 View Post
Wirelessly postedThe above reply with switching to 2G and having to debrand is nonsense.The switching can be done in options/network and choose only 2g.
It is not nonsense for those with an AT&T branded phone, as AT&T has blocked the option to switch between 2G and 3G.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 03:24 PM   #24
701
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 9000
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 16
Default

Wirelessly posted

@midnightdraven: Why would they do that?!3G sucks on AT&T!
Offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 04:33 PM   #25
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

I dont know why, but that is what they have done.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 11:37 AM   #26
dockramer
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8800
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 5
Default Not Nonsense

Quote:
Originally Posted by 701 View Post
Wirelessly posted

I get that and I'm across the world.It has nothing to do with the network.Well,it does,but having a weaker antenae than others result in failed calls.I get them when I drive,never when I'm in my office or on the street.The above reply with switching to 2G and having to debrand is nonsense.The switching can be done in options/network and choose only 2g.
This is a huge problem, particularly in the NY area where everyone I know with a Bold is bothered by frequent dropped/"failed" calls in the car and on the street. ATT is misleading their customers about the quality of the 3G network and Bold users are trapped unless they unbrand their phones.

Unbranding works but it is not a perfect solution. It would be much better if ATT provided a network selection option as it does on the iPhone.
Offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 07:49 PM   #27
sean76
CrackBerry Addict
 
sean76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NYC
Model: 9700
OS: 6.0.0.358
Carrier: AT&T, VZW
Posts: 704
Default

Dropped Calls with this Phone are just about the worst I have ever experienced, especially with a BlackBerry! My 8700, 8800, 8300, & 8310 all never dropped calls. In my opinion at&t's 3G is terrible! Today alone I dropped at least 6 calls, very annoying! Anyway, I know it sounds like a step back, but I'm going back to an EDGE only device as soon as the new Curve 8900 drops on at&t!
Offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 07:55 PM   #28
arcurlyq
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
arcurlyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 93
Default

My Bold seems to be holding up well for calls thus far (had it for about 2 weeks). I talk a lot during peak hours for work and no dropped calls yet. I'm in the DC area, though, and we have a consistently strong 3G network throughout NoVa, DC, and MD.
Offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 06:09 PM   #29
Noah
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 4
Default

I've been having an increasing number of dropped calls in the past month on my Bold.

I work from home and use my Bold as my primary phone -- sitting on many conference calls. I don't think I've been on a single call this week longer than 30 minutes where my phone didn't loose the connection and I had to dial back it. It is inconvenient and at times embarrassing if it happens when I'm presenting.

Would love to see some resolution since clearly this is a big problem.
Offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 09:29 AM   #30
Serkle K
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Serkle K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pennsauken NJ
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0
PIN: ... --- ...
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 402
Default

what OS is everyone using? and how is the 3G coverage in your area? not the map AT&T says you have coverage. How is everyone else you know that has AT&T 3G doing on the network?

IMO, actual coverage area, and OS/radio are the 2 biggest factors.
__________________
Do they still make encyclopedias?
Offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 11:40 AM   #31
mic_crispy
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: DFW
Model: 9800
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 109
Default

Maybe try a new phone? Att warranty covers excessive dropped calls so you can get a new phone that way. I drop maybe one or 2 calls a week, but thats it. i have also had 45+ min phone calls with no drops.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Siemens BQD330BP Circuit Breaker 30A Molded Case Circuit Breaker - New  picture

Siemens BQD330BP Circuit Breaker 30A Molded Case Circuit Breaker - New

$88.00



1PC SIEMENS Q120DF Q120DFP 20A DUAL FUNCTION AFCI/GFCI CIRCUIT BREAKER NEW picture

1PC SIEMENS Q120DF Q120DFP 20A DUAL FUNCTION AFCI/GFCI CIRCUIT BREAKER NEW

$46.99



Lot of 10 SIEMENS QA115AFCN PLUG ON NEUTRAL (NO WIRE) 15A AFCI ARC FAULT NEW picture

Lot of 10 SIEMENS QA115AFCN PLUG ON NEUTRAL (NO WIRE) 15A AFCI ARC FAULT NEW

$379.00



1 Siemens QF115A 15 Amp Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter Self Test Type QPF2 picture

1 Siemens QF115A 15 Amp Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter Self Test Type QPF2

$34.99



100 Amp Double-Pole Type QP Circuit Breaker by Siemens picture

100 Amp Double-Pole Type QP Circuit Breaker by Siemens

$28.70



Siemens Q230 Circuit Breaker picture

Siemens Q230 Circuit Breaker

$9.25







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.