BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2009, 02:58 PM   #21
junior1790
CrackBerry Addict
 
junior1790's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Connecticut
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 856
Default

Please Login to Remove!

This is really buggin me, i've seen on some other forums that people have this working but the caveat seems to be that you have to have an iphone plan which cs will not do without an iphone.. wtf
__________________
If you can't spot the sucker in the first five minutes, you are the sucker!!
Offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 05:41 PM   #22
estabulla
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
estabulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 396
Default

Yeah i tried calling them. There is no visual voicemail add-on so they cannot provision it. I am sure if you know how to work the system at ATT there is a way to do it.
__________________
--EB/ASN
9700 on 6.0.0.something, BES 4.1 on Exchange, BIS (AT&T)
Ex 8700, 8800, 8100, 8310, 9000
Offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 09:10 PM   #23
davistld01
CrackBerry Addict
 
davistld01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Springfield, MO.
Model: None
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 842
Default

I updated to the beta 4.6.0.228 OS today, and I have the VVM icon showing. But, when I attempt to access it...it gives me the "Provisioning is unsuccessful" error. Bummer...guess I'll have to wait until AT&T wakes up and gives their BlackBerry data plan users what they have been providing for their iPhone users all this time...
Offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 09:30 PM   #24
jungleland
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
jungleland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Model: BOLD
OS: 5.0.0.348
Carrier: At&t
Posts: 1,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by estabulla View Post
Yeah i tried calling them. There is no visual voicemail add-on so they cannot provision it. I am sure if you know how to work the system at ATT there is a way to do it.


ha...a true waste of time...calling a CS rep...
Offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 08:00 AM   #25
junior1790
CrackBerry Addict
 
junior1790's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Connecticut
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 856
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jungleland View Post
ha...a true waste of time...calling a CS rep...
I called bb support and still no dice, he actually tried to tell me no phone other then the iphone could support it, on any carrier, i explained to him that several phones on verizon have it and he told me i was wrong... what a dbag!!
__________________
If you can't spot the sucker in the first five minutes, you are the sucker!!
Offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 11:53 AM   #26
TTune
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
TTune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: On an Airplane
Model: Torch
OS: 6.0.0.337
PIN: 231be712
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 110
Default Installing VMM on non-AT&T devices

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaun View Post
No icon for me on a Rogers branded Bold on AT&T (.219 installed).
For those of us on non-AT&T (in my case, Rogers) you need to edit a file before you install the OS Update. Or, move the files into a little directory and browse over there from the AppLoader screen in DM.

In the directory on your local machine called something like "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\Shared\Loader Files\9000-v4.6.0.228_P4.0.0.192" there is a file "net_rim_bb_vvm.alx" .

The files that it refers to (there are only 3 fpr your language/device) are in the JAVA subdirectory and they all have VMM in the middle of their names as well.

Use your favourite text editor to global replace "102" vendor (AT&T) with "107" (Rogers) in the file net_rim_bb_vvm.alx and you're set to install it.
Again - probably works best if you do it before the OS upgrade.

Not that it'll do much good for you.
Offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 02:37 PM   #27
greggov
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York, NY
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.237
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 75
Default

I have .234 installed and have the VVM icon. I still get the unsuccessful provisioning message. Any chance you could post the service books for it? (I think you can do a selective backup of just the service books)

I want to keep the VVM on the phone so I can see when it becomes active, but it also appears that I won't be notified of a voicemail the traditional way? I could remove the .cod files, but thats kind of a PITA, especially when everything is finally working so smooth.
Offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 02:08 AM   #28
codes
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 8820
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 9
Default

I don't have any service book particular to VVM.

Also, I can report that when I updated to .228, initially I received the provisioning error. I thought the upgrade hosed visual voicemail. However, I called my regular voicemail and a few minutes later received an OS notice that I needed to reboot now or it would do it on its own. I vaguely remember the same message before VVM began working on .219.

I'll try the update to .234 and see if I can document exactly what steps I have to take from a fresh install to get VVM working.
Offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 08:00 PM   #29
atuarre
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lake Charles, LA and College Station, TX
Model: 9550
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 347
Default

I am going to try this, although I am late. Took my iPhone sim out and put it into my Bold. Will see if this can be duplicated.
__________________
Glenn
Offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 08:07 PM   #30
atuarre
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lake Charles, LA and College Station, TX
Model: 9550
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 347
Default

I hate 3G signal, but I data seems to move more slowly on this SIM. I don't know what the deal is. I do not have the Blackberry icon which I assume means I have no connection to BES or BIS.

The symbol just dropped to baby edge (lower case edge).

I am calling my voicemail, which is what I usually have to do on my iPhone to get visual voicemail to prompt for password.

After hanging up with voicemail, i get Please provide your password. I enter my voice mail password and hit "OK"

Message states, "Blackberry Visual Voice Mail configuration is complete. You can set up your options or go to the Blackberry Visual Voice Mail message list and use the default options.

Two buttons are available. Options and Message list.

Under options, there is Autodownload Messages, which is set to YES by default. Allow data connection while roaming, set to NO by default. Confirm delete set to YES by default.

Two buttons, Set Greeting and Set Password

Really and truely, as I see it, all they have to do is build a plan for the Bold for visual voicemail.
__________________
Glenn
Offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 08:12 PM   #31
atuarre
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lake Charles, LA and College Station, TX
Model: 9550
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 347
Default

One thing RIM does need to do is make it easier to retrieve SIM's. It's a p.i.t.a to get the sim out. I had to use tweezers. It's like this on almost all blackberries.
__________________
Glenn
Offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 01:35 PM   #32
thecrave
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 8100
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atuarre View Post
...Really and truely, as I see it, all they have to do is build a plan for the Bold for visual voicemail.
My guess is that they are waiting for AT&T to complete the OS certification on the VVM changes to the latest/greatest 4.5 release before rolling out the feature code for BB VVM.

And we know how quick AT&T is when certifying an OS.
Offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 03:26 PM   #33
Crupp
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Crupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Model: 9000
PIN: 249e66f1
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 218
Default

Does anyone if you swap out the SIMS to get VVM will this screw up a BES connection?
__________________
PIN: 249E56EF
BB Bold 4.6.0.282
Offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 02:43 AM   #34
sprite2005
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Model: 900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3
Default

Anyone know when AT&T VVM support is coming?
Offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 02:40 PM   #35
doabbs
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.247
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 15
Default

I just tried getting it added and CS rep had no idea what I was talking about. I know it is 100% possible, it just depends on who you get on the phone. I call them every couple days with other users problems, I figure eventually I will get one who knows how to do it.
Offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:31 PM   #36
atuarre
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lake Charles, LA and College Station, TX
Model: 9550
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doabbs View Post
I just tried getting it added and CS rep had no idea what I was talking about. I know it is 100% possible, it just depends on who you get on the phone. I call them every couple days with other users problems, I figure eventually I will get one who knows how to do it.
They don't have a plan for it yet, so it's not possible.
__________________
Glenn
Offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 10:09 PM   #37
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sprite2005 View Post
Anyone know when AT&T VVM support is coming?
I would guess 2-3 months.
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 07:36 AM   #38
whsbuss
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SE PA.
Model: 9800
OS: 4.6.0.304
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2,791
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jibi View Post
I would guess 2-3 months.
So the rumor of 3/25/09 was just a rumor?
Offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 10:21 AM   #39
StuartV
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0.0.607
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 480
Default

Ask again next Thursday.
__________________
- Stuart
Verizon 8130 (on the bench, now
Verizon 9530 (replaced by VZW 4 times, then with a 9550)
Verizon 9550
Offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 04:23 PM   #40
blured2000
New Member
 
blured2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0.0.100
PIN: ch me, I think I'm dreamin
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 6
Default

so in theory; borrow an iPhone, call AT&T and tell them you got an iPhone, they switch you over to the "iPhone data plan," then switch back to your blackberry and open visual voicemail...
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


New OEM IBM Selectric Typewriter Spacing Pointer Base Black OR White w/warranty picture

New OEM IBM Selectric Typewriter Spacing Pointer Base Black OR White w/warranty

$7.97



nEW 2-PAK OEM IBM Selectrics Spring only for Cycle Clutch w/warranty picture

nEW 2-PAK OEM IBM Selectrics Spring only for Cycle Clutch w/warranty

$17.76



OEM IBM Selectric III Typewriter Motor Assembly, POWER CORD, On/Off Switch picture

OEM IBM Selectric III Typewriter Motor Assembly, POWER CORD, On/Off Switch

$71.16



NEW OEM IBM Selectric III Bicycle NON-Correctable Fabric ribbon 1299509 Blue Box picture

NEW OEM IBM Selectric III Bicycle NON-Correctable Fabric ribbon 1299509 Blue Box

$17.76



New OEM IBM Selectrics NO P/N -- w/warranty picture

New OEM IBM Selectrics NO P/N -- w/warranty

$7.97



Used OEM IBM Wheelwriter model 10 main Board P/N 1430233, EC 532759 w/warranty picture

Used OEM IBM Wheelwriter model 10 main Board P/N 1430233, EC 532759 w/warranty

$44.46







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.