BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2009, 07:00 PM   #1
Keithmeister
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Keithmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Auckland NZ
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone NZ
Posts: 23
Default Activation email sitting in inbox

Please Login to Remove!

I have one user who I cannot activate his blackberry for.
When I run the activation, the email appears in his inbox, but is never picked up. I've tried removing him from BES and readding. Nothing works. All other users are fine.
We use outlook 2003 with Exchange 2003 and BES server 4.1.6.9
Have not had any problems activating anybody else
Offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 07:12 PM   #2
hdawg
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Default

Read: KB13852 - Identifying and troubleshooting enterprise activation issues
Offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 07:19 PM   #3
Keithmeister
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Keithmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Auckland NZ
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone NZ
Posts: 23
Default

I've tried everything in there. It's only one user. No matter what, the email just sits in his mailbox
Offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 07:24 PM   #4
hdawg
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Default

Is the user a member of any protected groups such as print operators or domain admins?
Offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 07:38 PM   #5
Keithmeister
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Keithmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Auckland NZ
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone NZ
Posts: 23
Default

Nope. He's just a regular domain user. His blackberry used to work but he had issues. I've checked everything I can think of. His AD rights, his mailbox rights, forwarding on the mailbox(none).
No matter what, BES never picks up the email from his inbox.
Offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 07:39 PM   #6
hdawg
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Default

Are you using Exchange 2003 Standard or Enterprise edition?
Offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 07:42 PM   #7
Keithmeister
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Keithmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Auckland NZ
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone NZ
Posts: 23
Default

Enterprise
Offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 07:52 PM   #8
Keithmeister
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Keithmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Auckland NZ
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone NZ
Posts: 23
Default

Must be something funny with his mailbox. It's very large (1.5Gb)
I've tried adding myself and activating on his phone. Worked straight away.
Offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:36 PM   #9
hdawg
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Default

Remove his account from the BES and trying moving his mailbox to a different store. If he needs to remain in the original store move it back after you successfully move it.
Offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 10:35 PM   #10
Keithmeister
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Keithmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Auckland NZ
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone NZ
Posts: 23
Default

That may work, but this is the CEO's mailbox and I'd rather not stuff it up
Offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 07:12 AM   #11
hdawg
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Default

Moving a mailbox between mail stores within Exchange is about the safest operation you can perform. ... If he wants his device to work ...
Offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 11:18 AM   #12
eramer
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 7
Default

You say you have tried everything in KB13852. Also that this device use to work. Has the user changed anything on his cell phone account. I have had users just talk with their provider and suddenly they don't get email anymore and the activation does not work. Checking with the provider showed the user was removed from the BES data plan. Good Luck.

Edd
Offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 01:54 PM   #13
KOR
CrackBerry Addict
 
KOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Model: None
Carrier: Typhoid Mary
Posts: 612
Default

I agree with earmer; call the provider and make sure the account is set up correctly. We've run into issues in the past where the data plan *mysteriously disappears* from the account. They add it back and we're golden.
Offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 01:56 PM   #14
jsconyers
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keithmeister View Post
I've tried adding myself and activating on his phone. Worked straight away.
Wouldn't this eliminate a provisioning issue?
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 10:28 AM   #15
eramer
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 7
Default

This only eliminates the provisioning issue if you used ONLY your email address on HIS phone. No SIM card from your phone or any other information that identifies your account through the provider. If you used anything that can identify your provider account through his phone then you have NOT eliminated the provisioning issue.

Edd
Offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 07:29 PM   #16
SKaestle
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 19
Default

I have on occasion been able to solve this without moving the mailbox by removing from BES then re-adding and defining a Static Mail Agent, Otherwise I am guessing a mailbox move is the answer. Given who it is I suspect you will be up late one night....
__________________
4 x BES 4.1.6
E2K & E2K7
3600 BB's
Offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 07:47 PM   #17
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

If you have another BES server in the configuration, an option would be to move him to it. If not, try to assign the user to a static agent, like SKaestle mentioned, and it may very well work, as well.
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 06:30 AM   #18
Black-Berry
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: other
Posts: 11
Default

1.tried to configured the user( mail )account on a different blackberry device
if it gets configured then the problem would be with the device
Take the back up of the faulty device and wipe it
restore the back up with out service book and swap the device (reconfigured the device )
Offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:03 AM   #19
hdawg
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Default

Is ^ English?
Offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 05:32 PM   #20
Brendan42
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Brendan42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London
Model: 8900
Carrier: If I had a choice, a man-bag like Jack on Day-6.
Posts: 165
Default

When you removed his account from the BES, did you choose to remove Blackberry information from the mailbox too?
__________________
___________________________________________
Better to light a candle than to curse the darkness.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-31 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC  Module  card picture

RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-31 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC Module card

$185.00



RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC picture

RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC

$185.00



23 WAY MALE

23 WAY MALE "D" PLUG DB23 CONNECTOR FOR COMMODORE AMIGA - RARE

$7.47



New Amiga Gotek OLED IIC I2C 0.91

New Amiga Gotek OLED IIC I2C 0.91" 128x32 LCD Display Module 3.3V 5V White #679

$7.01



 Mano Amiga Con Lupa Bono 60-40 Estano Soldadura De Nucleo De Colofonia De Pl... picture

Mano Amiga Con Lupa Bono 60-40 Estano Soldadura De Nucleo De Colofonia De Pl...

$22.95



NEW OPTICAL LASER PICKUP HEAD for AMIGA CD 32 SYSTEM CONSOLE picture

NEW OPTICAL LASER PICKUP HEAD for AMIGA CD 32 SYSTEM CONSOLE

$26.85







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.