BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2011, 02:47 AM   #1
gsgtsg
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 112
Default GPRS or EDGE

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

The track bar on my Torch 9800 sometimes show GPRS or EDGE.

Please advice if this is common and also please confirm if I should do anything to the phone's settings.

Cheers.

Last edited by gsgtsg; 04-22-2011 at 03:25 AM..
Offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 06:47 AM   #2
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: GPRS or EDGE

Of course that common.
GPRS = 2G EDGE = 2.5G

Its a slower data connection than 3G.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 07:24 AM   #3
gsgtsg
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 112
Default Re: GPRS or EDGE

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightDraven View Post
Of course that common.
GPRS = 2G EDGE = 2.5G

Its a slower data connection than 3G.
Hi,

Thanks. Does the Torch 9800 have a facility to connect using 3G?

If yes, do I need to do anything to activate it?

Cheers.
Offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 07:35 AM   #4
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: GPRS or EDGE

Yes it does. And no.
It should already be set to use 2G&3G [options - mobile network].
Perhaps you are not in a 3G area, or have bought a torch that has different 3G frequencies that your network uses.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 07:50 AM   #5
gsgtsg
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 112
Default Re: GPRS or EDGE

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightDraven View Post
Yes it does. And no.
It should already be set to use 2G&3G [options - mobile network].
Perhaps you are not in a 3G area, or have bought a torch that has different 3G frequencies that your network uses.
I have just checked as instructed, [options - mobile network], and note the option for 2G&3G has been selected.

How can I find which areas are covered by 3G and also if I can set the phone frequencies to use 3G.

Cheers.
Offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 07:54 AM   #6
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default Re: GPRS or EDGE

Your carrier would have to tell you what areas are 3G and you can't change the frequencies. The 9800 uses global 3G frequencies. This is a local problem with the area you are in. Contact Vodafone.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: GPRS or EDGE
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force GPRS instead of EDGE NeptuneIT General 8300 Series Discussion - Curve 1 07-20-2009 12:04 PM
edge versus EDGE; gprs versus GPRS niva RIM Software 0 07-02-2008 03:49 PM
Bouncing from EDGE to GPRS Land Cruiser General Legacy Device Discussion 4 04-23-2007 05:21 PM
Problem with EDGE and GPRS rmalm General Legacy Device Discussion 30 11-08-2006 04:46 PM
All of a sudden no EDGE but replaced with GPRS lgreenberg General Legacy Device Discussion 7 01-27-2006 03:54 PM


For iPhone Android iOS PC 5.5MM WiFi Borescope Endoscope Snake Inspection Camera picture

For iPhone Android iOS PC 5.5MM WiFi Borescope Endoscope Snake Inspection Camera

$25.42



Robertshaw 41-229 Range Oven Igniter DG94-01012A for Samsung picture

Robertshaw 41-229 Range Oven Igniter DG94-01012A for Samsung

$19.60



ERP DG62-00111A for Samsung Range Small Surface Burner Cap 1-5/8 inch Diameter picture

ERP DG62-00111A for Samsung Range Small Surface Burner Cap 1-5/8 inch Diameter

$16.25



Samsung OfficeServ UNI card KPOS71BUNI/XAR picture

Samsung OfficeServ UNI card KPOS71BUNI/XAR

$25.00



Exact Replacement Part DG62-00070A for Samsung Range Surface Burner Medium Cap picture

Exact Replacement Part DG62-00070A for Samsung Range Surface Burner Medium Cap

$17.45



Exact Replacement DG62-00067A for Samsung Range Surface Gas Burner Large Cap picture

Exact Replacement DG62-00067A for Samsung Range Surface Gas Burner Large Cap

$28.15







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.