BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2007, 12:03 AM   #1
trancemaasta
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
trancemaasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Model: 8700
Carrier: Optus Australia
Posts: 65
Default Bes 4.1.3 (sp3)

Please Login to Remove!

Install was nice and easy... nearly the same as SP2

Current Setup Win2K3Sp2, Exch2k3sp2, LocalSQL2000sp4

Only Testing ATM, seems to be running OK, will let you all know how it runs soon

FYI - Only a handful of users on the system though and the installer was the Upgrade(sp) not a 4.1.3 install.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 4.1.3.jpg (16.1 KB, 162 views)
Offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 08:47 AM   #2
edonin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 8800c
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 112
Default

Cool! Where did you get it from? Did you have to go through T-Support? I just checked the RIM Download section and didn't see it listed.
Offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 01:52 PM   #3
stac
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Jupiter
Model: 8110
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edonin
Cool! Where did you get it from? Did you have to go through T-Support? I just checked the RIM Download section and didn't see it listed.
BUMP... do you have a URL for downloading this? Does it include the DST patches?

Thx,
Stac
__________________
QWERTied.

'This one goes to eleven...'
Offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 02:37 PM   #4
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

Yes, you'll have to go through TSupport to get this. It should be available on the public site next week, at the latest, to my knowledge.
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 04:34 PM   #5
rjd75
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 9900
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 20
Default

Don't mean to hijack the thread but can you jump from 4.0 directly to 4.1 SP3? I am still running 4.0.3.11 and my Exchange is at Sp1. I am looking to do some major work on this machine, starting with virtualizing for easy backup and DRP and then upgrading to the latest service pack. I would like to handle the DST issue at the same time but from what I have read it is simply the cdo.dll and a patch for the handhelds. Any advice for an upgrade path would be greatly appreciated! Would like to avoid doing anything to the Exchange Server if possible, I still have not triggered the Send As issue, do any updates to 4.1 and beyong require exchange sp2?
Offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 04:36 PM   #6
trancemaasta
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
trancemaasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Model: 8700
Carrier: Optus Australia
Posts: 65
Default

Yeah, Tsupport and Partner Access Should have it now.

From the Release Notes - As I'm not in North America I can't confirm that it does work. Maybe someone can post ?????

>
Daylight Saving Time support enhancements - In BlackBerry Enterprise Server Version 4.1 SP3, the BlackBerry Enterprise Server uses a SQL script to add updated Daylight Saving Time (DST) information to a new database table called SyncDeviceConfig. The BlackBerry Synchronization Service then synchronizes the time zone information from the database table with BlackBerry devices. See Impact of North American Daylight Saving Time changes in 2007 on BlackBerry customers for more information about preparing your environment for DST changes.
>
Offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 04:38 PM   #7
trancemaasta
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
trancemaasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Model: 8700
Carrier: Optus Australia
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjd75
Don't mean to hijack the thread but can you jump from 4.0 directly to 4.1 SP3? I am still running 4.0.3.11 and my Exchange is at Sp1. I am looking to do some major work on this machine, starting with virtualizing for easy backup and DRP and then upgrading to the latest service pack. I would like to handle the DST issue at the same time but from what I have read it is simply the cdo.dll and a patch for the handhelds. Any advice for an upgrade path would be greatly appreciated! Would like to avoid doing anything to the Exchange Server if possible, I still have not triggered the Send As issue, do any updates to 4.1 and beyong require exchange sp2?
Goto Sp6 then do the 4.1.3 Upgrade
ExchSp2 = No, not required, refer to installation documentation
Offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 03:05 PM   #8
centrekin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
centrekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mississippi
Model: 9630
OS: 5.0.0.591
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 102
Default

Are there any real big changes with 4.1.3?
Offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 03:30 PM   #9
RipThorn
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Model: 7290
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 57
Default

I noticed that you are running Win2K3Sp2. SP2 is still in beta at the moment and will be released later on this year. Is your setup a production setup or just test lab?

thank you
Offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 04:42 PM   #10
trancemaasta
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
trancemaasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Model: 8700
Carrier: Optus Australia
Posts: 65
Default

Testing. The server name in the picture is pretty self explanatory.
10 users ATM and only 10 Exchange accounts. Still going strong, seems to be going fine ATM.
Offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 08:25 PM   #11
abakcuh
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 85
Default

I have seen this asked a few times here but one more won't hurt
I am upgrading from 4.0.5 to 4.1. I only have the full installer in 4.1.1 so I will have to do this first. After which I can install SP3 without SP1 or SP2 and any hotfixes?
Offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 01:15 AM   #12
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

Correct. Service Packs are cumulative to the last major release (4.1.3 includes 4.1.0-4.1.2); Hot Fixes are cumulative to the last service pack (3.6.4 HF3 includes 3.6.4 HF1-HF2).
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 04:48 PM   #13
abakcuh
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 85
Default

Thanks...Just completed a nightmare of an upgrade to my environment. Upgraded from 4.0.5 to 4.1.1 with zero problems...Upgraded to SP3 and the wheels fell off. Imediately after installing the upgrade it wanted to upgrade the db. I received the great useless message of "db upgrade failed: error executing an sql statement" Spoke with RIM last night at midnight and am told that I can create a new database to complete the install of the SP and switch afterwards to my database. If they tell you this run..I was on the phone for 4 hours with RIM before getting this resolved. I had to uninstall everything. Then had to install 4.1.2 on the servers only to have the same error occur. I next received a sql script from RIM that will remove extra tables and repair the database. This had to be run about three times as well as reducing the log file and setting the db to the grow to max size. (Current db is 500mb) This followed by manually upgrading the database using Createdb.exe before setup would continue. I am up and running now on SP2 HF3. I might eventually go to SP3 but am a little gun shy at the momment
Offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 11:09 PM   #14
BrooklynzFinest
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Brooklyn NY
Model: 8320
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 130
Default

SP3 available to the public on Blackberry site now
Offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 11:36 PM   #15
trancemaasta
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
trancemaasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Model: 8700
Carrier: Optus Australia
Posts: 65
Default

Software For BlackBerry Enterprise Server v4.1 for Microsoft(R) Exchange Service Pack 3
  • Filename: besx_upgrader_4.1.3.exe
  • Filesize: 234 MB
  • Date posted: 16-Feb-07
Offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 07:58 AM   #16
BB1877
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
BB1877's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: oHIo
Model: 9930
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 163
Default Smooth

I upgraded my 4.1.2 HF3 for Domino to 4.1.3 this morning in about 15 minutes. Very smooth, except the installation did hang on the first attempt. I just brought this BES up a week ago and only have 10 users (out of almost 400) on it so far. Will monitor for issues...
Offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 10:49 PM   #17
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

No longer refreshes anytime you make a change for a single user. This way, you don't have to click on the user 4 times for 4 different changes (IT Policy config, Default folders config, etc). Love it, if not for that only...
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 03:31 AM   #18
Dookie
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Dookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Prague
Model: 9000
Carrier: T-Mo
Posts: 175
Default

I've installed it about 4 minutes ago and i absolutely love it. Right click is back and what a fantastic PDF support - users will love the option Enhance.
Works without problem. Will see how about resources and leaks.
Offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:56 AM   #19
pej
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: MN
Model: 8900
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dookie
... fantastic PDF support - users will love the option Enhance.
Works without problem.
Can you give some more details on this? I don't see anything specific in the Release Notes or docs about new PDF capabilities. Are they specific to OS 4.2?
Offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 10:47 AM   #20
Dookie
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Dookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Prague
Model: 9000
Carrier: T-Mo
Posts: 175
Default

Well, the rendering is much better then before. Now you can zoom into the pdf file down to even smallest text and let it enhance - render again.
Also you can see full page, instead of some short notices. It's very significant change for us - especially when flight tickets are sent as pdf attachment.
I wasn't able also to find it in release document, but it's fact.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Digital Ohmmeter LCD Audio Impedance Test Meter Speaker Voice Resistor System picture

Digital Ohmmeter LCD Audio Impedance Test Meter Speaker Voice Resistor System

$66.49



Klein Tools CL900 Digital Clamp Meter, AC Auto-Range TRMS, Low Impedance (LoZ) picture

Klein Tools CL900 Digital Clamp Meter, AC Auto-Range TRMS, Low Impedance (LoZ)

$117.63



AgraTronix .06 Joule - Low Impedance 6V Solar Fence Energizer  | PW50S picture

AgraTronix .06 Joule - Low Impedance 6V Solar Fence Energizer | PW50S

$149.97



8x Nichicon PM 1uF 50v radial Capacitors caps 105C 5mm 5x11 Low-ESR Impedance picture

8x Nichicon PM 1uF 50v radial Capacitors caps 105C 5mm 5x11 Low-ESR Impedance

$1.39



ResQGARD Military Kit Impedance Threshold Device 12-0706-000 NSN 6515015758173 picture

ResQGARD Military Kit Impedance Threshold Device 12-0706-000 NSN 6515015758173

$8.99



FISHER FCC-LISN-10-4-01-750V Line Impedance Stabilization Network - Used picture

FISHER FCC-LISN-10-4-01-750V Line Impedance Stabilization Network - Used

$999.99







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.