BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2012, 02:57 AM   #1
bimmerdriver
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
bimmerdriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Model: NONE
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 153
Default How to paste passphrase for wifi

Please Login to Remove!

I'm trying to paste the key into the passphrase to set up a wifi network. I copied it from a file, but when I press the menu in the dialog, there is no option to paste it. Is there another way to do this?
__________________
Samsung Galaxy S5
Offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 07:39 AM   #2
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default Re: How to paste passphrase for wifi

I'm guessing not. I've encountered instances such as this where that function is blocked for whatever action I was trying to do. Pasting passwords is a common theme where this is the case. I can't remember trying to paste into a wifi setup screen, so can't comment on that particular case.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 12:13 AM   #3
bimmerdriver
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
bimmerdriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Model: NONE
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 153
Default Re: How to paste passphrase for wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiharkness View Post
I'm guessing not. I've encountered instances such as this where that function is blocked for whatever action I was trying to do. Pasting passwords is a common theme where this is the case. I can't remember trying to paste into a wifi setup screen, so can't comment on that particular case.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
I had to enter it with the keyboard. What a PITA!
__________________
Samsung Galaxy S5
Offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 04:33 AM   #4
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default Re: How to paste passphrase for wifi

Given what it is, I appreciate the security.

Just curious, you can save the profile and not have to enter the password again until it changes, right?
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 10:19 PM   #5
stevew
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
stevew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal
Model: Z10
OS: Latest...
Carrier: Koodo Mobile
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: How to paste passphrase for wifi

I copied and pasted from my password keeper right into the connection. I did it by creating a connection though...not by searching and entering the password when asked.
__________________
Steve (Besadmin)

Previously owned:
At least 17+ different BB's since 1999 -- too many to list...
Offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 01:52 PM   #6
rambo47
Latino Hasta La Muerte
 
rambo47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denville, NJ.
Model: 9370
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9,063
Default Re: How to paste passphrase for wifi

The password prompt screens are specifically designed to disallow copy/paste. They want joining a network to be a deliberate act.
Offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 07:18 PM   #7
stevew
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
stevew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal
Model: Z10
OS: Latest...
Carrier: Koodo Mobile
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: How to paste passphrase for wifi

Only if you join when browsing the available networks. If you do what I did, you can copy and paste with no issue! I use a 63 character pass phrase...so I don't want to have to re-enter it manually each time I blow the network away...
__________________
Steve (Besadmin)

Previously owned:
At least 17+ different BB's since 1999 -- too many to list...
Offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 07:26 PM   #8
tsac
BlackBerry God
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: Cheerios
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: How to paste passphrase for wifi

Maybe you did do a paste but no where on my BB will it allow a paste on the passphrase function. I agree with rambo47
__________________
Z10 on BES
Z10 on BIS
Offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 08:48 PM   #9
stevew
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
stevew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal
Model: Z10
OS: Latest...
Carrier: Koodo Mobile
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: How to paste passphrase for wifi

Agree all you like, but if you read what I wrote, it works...I posted twice in this thread about how I did it...and continue to do it!
__________________
Steve (Besadmin)

Previously owned:
At least 17+ different BB's since 1999 -- too many to list...
Offline  
Old 01-16-2012, 02:10 PM   #10
Klotar
CrackBerry Addict
 
Klotar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Winnipeg MB Canada
Model: 9700R
OS: 7.1.0.190
PIN: On Request
Carrier: Rogers Wireless
Posts: 902
Default Re: How to paste passphrase for wifi

So shift-click (press shift key and click trackpad) doesn't work to paste?

(I don't have a 9900, just strolling by).

Edit: tried a few pastes in various PW fields, including WiFi passphrase screens, browsers, locking apps, etc. I have found that for most things, either Menu-Paste works, OR shift-click (even on 9860 touchscreens). However, I did notice that my Ascendo Datavault took neither method. But Menu-Paste did work for Wifi (9860, OS 7.1).
__________________
-Klotar
Supervising Manager of the Department of Redundancy Department.
BlackBerry Certified Support Specialist

Last edited by Klotar; 01-16-2012 at 03:15 PM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: How to paste passphrase for wifi
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can not paste in Google Map-->Seach box joginder General Legacy Device Discussion 0 06-29-2008 12:42 AM
Cut and paste messages....!! maiden71 BES Admin Corner 2 04-30-2008 12:19 PM
Does 8830 have a Paste Shortcut key? OperaMini Paste? FF2 General Legacy Device Discussion 7 04-17-2008 02:31 PM
shortcut key for 'paste'? shaun944 General Legacy Device Discussion 6 10-25-2006 11:46 AM
Copy / Paste URL's geek_riot General BlackBerry Discussion 3 05-21-2006 10:12 PM


OMTech 40W CO2 Laser Engraver K40+ Motherboard for Lightburn & Rotary Axis Comp. picture

OMTech 40W CO2 Laser Engraver K40+ Motherboard for Lightburn & Rotary Axis Comp.

$151.99



Lightburn Compatible Motherboard Upgrade for Desktop CNC CO2 40W Laser Engraver picture

Lightburn Compatible Motherboard Upgrade for Desktop CNC CO2 40W Laser Engraver

$151.99



OMTech 40W CO2 Engraver Cutter K40+ Motherboard for Rotary Axis LightBurn Comp. picture

OMTech 40W CO2 Engraver Cutter K40+ Motherboard for Rotary Axis LightBurn Comp.

$159.99



OMTech K40+ Mainboard for 40W Laser Engraver Rotary Axis Control LightBurn Comp. picture

OMTech K40+ Mainboard for 40W Laser Engraver Rotary Axis Control LightBurn Comp.

$159.99



(NOS) SEMCO - PC CONTROL BOARD - T144 - ELECTRONIC INTEGRATOR - NEW in BOX picture

(NOS) SEMCO - PC CONTROL BOARD - T144 - ELECTRONIC INTEGRATOR - NEW in BOX

$116.55



Motherboard Main Logic Board for Acer Monitor R241Y Bbix HDMI+VGA + power button picture

Motherboard Main Logic Board for Acer Monitor R241Y Bbix HDMI+VGA + power button

$29.99







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.