Closed Thread

Old 08-02-2010, 07:44 PM   #1
CLFNole

Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Default Google Maps or Blackberry Maps

Please Login to Remove!

I am rather new to Blackberry and have the Bold 9700. When it comes to navigation software I was wondering which you prefer - Google Maps or Blackberry Maps?

Thanks in advance.
Old 08-02-2010, 08:09 PM   #2
akosnitzky
BBF Moderator

Model: 9650
Carrier: Verizon BIS

I use Google Maps but that is more of a habit since it seems to have more features. Some users find BB Maps more stable on their devices. Also, I use the free GPS app, Poynt and i notice it seems to function better with BB Maps.

LET'S GO CANES!
Old 08-02-2010, 08:47 PM   #3
crusecontrl
Thumbs Must Hurt

PIN: Capped in my pocket
Carrier: AT&T

I have both but prefer Google Maps. It seems to be faster and easier to use.
Old 08-02-2010, 09:28 PM   #4
akosnitzky
BBF Moderator

Also many of us started with Google Maps when we didnt have GPS phones because Google maps had the cell phone triangulation

LET'S GO CANES!
Old 08-02-2010, 09:41 PM   #5
lmcjipo
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: Q10
Carrier: Bell Wireless

I prefer Google Maps because it looks nicer than the Blackberry Maps.

My Tech Blog
Old 08-02-2010, 09:53 PM   #6
CLFNole

Carrier: T-Mobile

Thanks. I only had BB Maps on my phone and just added Google Maps. Wasn't sure which one worked better but I think I am gonna go with Google.
Old 08-02-2010, 11:02 PM   #7
Matrix Leader
No longer Registered.

Model: 9780
Carrier: DU
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by akosnitzky View Post
Also many of us started with Google Maps when we didnt have GPS phones because Google maps had the cell phone triangulation
What's that? please elaborate more on the cell phone triangulation?
Old 08-02-2010, 11:03 PM   #8
Matrix Leader
No longer Registered.

Lightbulb

I use Google Maps because it gives me much much more detail on the map than BB maps where I live (Dubai, UAE)
Old 08-02-2010, 11:40 PM   #9