BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2011, 07:36 AM   #1
lcstevens
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 12
Default Wi-fi issues

Please Login to Remove!

First time user of BB so apologies for my lack of knowledge. New user of an 8520, went through the wi-fi wizard with no problems. however ive started to get very intermitent coverage, Facebook and twitter do not refresh quickly, i cant access app world regurlarly and i've also tried downloading two podcast recievers and neither download the podcasts quickly, if at all (nor are they very big, under a minute in length). The wi-fi sign is in the corner, full mobile signal with GPRS but when you take a closer look at the connection via wi-fi options it says 'active wi-fi connection: none'. All very confusing but i'm sure it's my insufficient experience with the BB.

All help greatfully received and appreciated.
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:52 AM   #2
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

Do you have a Blackberry dataplan active on your account? Many carriers require that before sending the WiFi service book. You will need that before being able to connect to RIM, which you need for Facebook, App World, etc.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 09:54 AM   #3
lcstevens
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 12
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

many thanks dubdub. excuse my ignorance, how do i find out if i have a BDP via the BB?
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 10:13 AM   #4
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

a BDP? What is that? If you are asking about a Blackberry dataplan, call your cell carrier.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 10:28 AM   #5
lcstevens
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 12
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

will do, many thanks.
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 02:28 PM   #6
lcstevens
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 12
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

update from cell carrier, dataplan all fine.
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 02:49 PM   #7
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

Is it a Blackberry dataplan?
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 03:18 PM   #8
markinhfx
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 9780
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 7
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

I was using my WiFi successfully to surf and what not however when I wanted to access appworld it would not do it unless I turned the data coverage back on How can I be sure it is using the WiFi for downloading?
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 03:29 PM   #9
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by markinhfx View Post
I was using my WiFi successfully to surf and what not however when I wanted to access appworld it would not do it unless I turned the data coverage back on How can I be sure it is using the WiFi for downloading?

Mark, it is considered bad manners to hijack another users thread.

Data will go via WiFi whenever you have a WiFi connection, assuming that you have a BB data plan, which it appears that you have. If you turn data off, you turn ALL data off, including WiFi. You could try turning off "Mobile Networks" and see if that will leave your connection to RIM up.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 03:36 PM   #10
lcstevens
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 12
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

Dubdub, it is a Blackberry dataplan.
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 03:52 PM   #11
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

In "Manage Connections" do you have WiFi checked and Mobile Network also checked?

Have you tried a battery pull and resent service books?
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 04:01 PM   #12
markinhfx
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 9780
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 7
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubdub View Post
Mark, it is considered bad manners to hijack another users thread.

Data will go via WiFi whenever you have a WiFi connection, assuming that you have a BB data plan, which it appears that you have. If you turn data off, you turn ALL data off, including WiFi. You could try turning off "Mobile Networks" and see if that will leave your connection to RIM up.
Sorry I thought they were sort of related....
That being said I should have specified I did turn off mobile networks... and I kept getting the message you are not connected to the internet yet I could surf just fine...
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 04:07 PM   #13
lcstevens
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 12
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

mobile netwrok has a green tick and wi-fi has a green on, although the connection via wi-fi options says 'active wi-fi connection: none'.
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 04:17 PM   #14
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

Battery pull and resend service books?

Can you connect to another WiFi hotspot, not this one that you are trying to connect?
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 04:41 PM   #15
lcstevens
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 12
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

if you mean removed battery then yes i have. would service books automatically resend when battery is reinserted?
i can access other wi-fi hotspots. my service provider has done a disgnositc test on my wi-fi router and it's output is 90%.
Offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 06:01 PM   #16
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

If you can use other hotspots, then there must be a problem with your specific router. I would call the manufacturer of the router for tech support. Do you have a security setting on the router?

Did you remove the battery with the BB on for 30-60 seconds and then put back and let the device reboot?

Service books are not automatically resent. See our FAQ for how to resend them.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 12-01-2011, 03:27 AM   #17
lcstevens
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 12
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

All sorted, turned out to be an issue with the router. many thanks for your help!
Offline  
Old 12-05-2011, 04:00 AM   #18
mausky
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Model: 9520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: blackberry storm2
Posts: 1
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

Need help I'm having a problem w/ my BB storm, i could not surf the internet via wi-fi connection. I'm connected but unable to connect to the internet. thanks
Offline  
Old 12-05-2011, 06:21 AM   #19
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default Re: Wi-fi issues

Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan on your account?
Who is your carrier (blackberry storm2 is not a Carrier).
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: Wi-fi issues
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wi Fi question nabisco General 8300 Series Discussion - Curve 1 03-11-2010 01:15 PM
BB 9700 Wi Fi Michael DeMatteis General BlackBerry Discussion 2 02-07-2010 12:48 PM
Wi Fi Settings r_dr1960 General BlackBerry Discussion 1 01-24-2010 05:52 PM
WI fi help asap please. jfonseca General 9000 Series Discussion - Bold 13 05-26-2009 04:03 AM
Going abroad - Wi Fi - no data service? iblbuilder General 9000 Series Discussion - Bold 9 05-03-2009 08:35 PM


New Greaseweazle V4 USB Floppy Adapter Flux Reader Writer Amiga PC Amstrad #1059 picture

New Greaseweazle V4 USB Floppy Adapter Flux Reader Writer Amiga PC Amstrad #1059

$25.36



RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC picture

RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC

$185.00



New Amiga Gotek OLED IIC I2C 0.91

New Amiga Gotek OLED IIC I2C 0.91" 128x32 LCD Display Module 3.3V 5V White #679

$6.89



6500/1 A 6502 VARIENT CPU COMMODORE USE IN AMIGA KB & 1520 PLOTTER NMOS NCR NOS picture

6500/1 A 6502 VARIENT CPU COMMODORE USE IN AMIGA KB & 1520 PLOTTER NMOS NCR NOS

$3.99



NEW OPTICAL LASER PICKUP HEAD for AMIGA CD 32 SYSTEM CONSOLE picture

NEW OPTICAL LASER PICKUP HEAD for AMIGA CD 32 SYSTEM CONSOLE

$25.51



1pc TS68000CP8 DIP64 68000 8MHz | Atari Commodore AMIGA 500 A2000 CDTV picture

1pc TS68000CP8 DIP64 68000 8MHz | Atari Commodore AMIGA 500 A2000 CDTV

$13.41







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.