BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2009, 02:06 PM   #1
godtoall
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5
Default 8310 powers on and off when connected to pc

Please Login to Remove!

I have been trying to do both

What_to_do_next_if_Jl_Cmder_will_not_connect_and_w ipe]What to do next if Jl Cmder will not connect and wipe - BlackBerryFAQ

and

How do I wipe the BlackBerry using Jl Cmder? - BlackBerryFAQ


with no success.

When I try jl_cmder will not connect and wipe steps, the devices comes on for couple seconds and then back off or I get a message saying that my Desktop manger doesn't have the device software that was connected.

I just update to 4.7, So not sure what to do next. Take it to the store I got it from and hope its still under warrenty.

Thanks for anyone help.
Offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 03:57 PM   #2
aingaran
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Model: 9000
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 50
Default

Have you tried to connect to a different PC or USB port? There's might a power issue with your USB port / USB cord.
Offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:55 PM   #3
godtoall
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5
Default Yes

I did try other USB ports and with your suggestion I tried it on our other PC and same thing happened.

Thanks for the idea.

Anything else I could try?
Offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 07:01 PM   #4
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Sounds like you have DM 4.7 installed but you don't have the OS for your device installed. It's two different downloads/installations.
Offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 08:11 PM   #5
godtoall
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5
Default Thanks

When you say OS is that this below?

BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.5.0.152 (Multilanguage)
Offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 08:12 PM   #6
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Wirelessly posted (BB 11020)

Yes
Offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 08:36 PM   #7
godtoall
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks
Install and it got farther in the wipe and reinstall.

Gets to

Waiting for the Device initialization (Blackberry screen only gets to showing a battery with a lighting bolt through it)

Then Application Loader Wizard fails with the below error

Unable to complete the loading operation.
Unable to reconnect to the device during a multi-satage load operation.

blackberry reloads and has a 507 error, which is farther then it use to get. :o)

I will research on the web for 507, let me know what I should try if you could please.

I'm also trying to run the loader with out /nojvm, see what happens


Thanks

Last edited by godtoall; 02-22-2009 at 08:39 PM..
Offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 08:39 PM   #8
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Wirelessly posted (BB 11020)

Are you using any kind of usb hub? Make sure you're plugged into a usb port on the back of the pc. Also, if you have any other usb peripherals, unplug them from the pc. It sounds like a usb issue. 507 just means there is no OS on the device and it needs to be reloaded.
Offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 09:13 PM   #9
godtoall
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5
Default

Running the Loader normal no /nojvm was successfull.

So steps that solved my issue.

1. this website and the ppl that responded. :o)
2. downloading and installing desktop manager and the correct OS
3. have Blackberry disconnected and run loader /nojvm
4. plug in b-berry and select unknown and then next button
5. it failed when b-berry restarted, with 507 error
6. ran loader with no /nojvm and it ran through all steps with no issues.
7. b-berry restarted back to factory settings

Thanks again

Should added,
I did a restore from last week, so pretty much back to normal.

Last edited by godtoall; 02-22-2009 at 09:15 PM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Mini Spy Audio Recorder Voice Activated Office Listening Device 96 Hours 8GB picture

Mini Spy Audio Recorder Voice Activated Office Listening Device 96 Hours 8GB

$15.76



Aloudy Ergonomic Memory Foam Office Chair Armrest Pads, Comfy Gaming 2 per Pack picture

Aloudy Ergonomic Memory Foam Office Chair Armrest Pads, Comfy Gaming 2 per Pack

$13.99



Sony Digital Voice Recorder ICD-BX 140 4GB Memory picture

Sony Digital Voice Recorder ICD-BX 140 4GB Memory

$28.95



Big Ant Memory Foam Office Chair Armrest Pads Cushion Cover, Chair Arm Rest Pad picture

Big Ant Memory Foam Office Chair Armrest Pads Cushion Cover, Chair Arm Rest Pad

$12.23



Serta Big & Tall Bonded Leather Commercial Office Chair with Memory Foam, Brown picture

Serta Big & Tall Bonded Leather Commercial Office Chair with Memory Foam, Brown

$149.00



2pcs Micro SD TF Memory Card Reader Module with SPI interface For Arduino picture

2pcs Micro SD TF Memory Card Reader Module with SPI interface For Arduino

$4.95







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.